Giro d'Italia 2022

Latest News from the Race

Giro d'Italia 2022 Overview

Jai Hindley wins 2022 Giro d'Italia

Giro d'Italia stage 21 - As it happened

Jai Hindley (Bora-Hansgrohe) placed inside the top 20 on the final day of racing in Verona and secured the overall 2022 Giro d'Italia title on Sunday. He held off Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers), who was 10th on stage 21, while Mikel Landa (Bahrain Victorious) claimed the final GC spot on the podium. 

Meanwhile, the final day of racing in the Verona time trial was dominated by Matteo Sobrero (BikeExchange-Jayco), who claimed his first Grand Tour victory. The 25-year-old Italian time trial national champion completed the 17.4km course, which featured a 4.5km mid-way climb, in 22:24. 

Only two riders were able to get within a minute of Sobrero, with Thymen Arensman (DSM) placing second on the stage at 22 seconds and Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) taking the final podium spot at 39 seconds. 

When the 26-year-old Hindley completed his stage 21 ride into Verona’s famous amphitheatre, he had not only won the first Grand Tour of his career, but he also took the first for his team, Bora-Hansgrohe, and the first Giro for his country, Australia.

Results powered by FirstCycling

Stage 21: Jai Hindley wins 2022 Giro d'Italia / As it happened

Stage 20: Hindley cracks Carapaz to seize control of Giro d'Italia on stage 20 / As it happened

Stage 19: Bouwman wins Giro d'Italia stage 19 after final corner drama / As it happened

Stage 18: Breakaway holds off the sprinters as De Bondt wins Giro d'Italia stage 18/ As it happened

Stage 17: Buitrago drops Van der Poel to win Giro d'Italia stage 17 / As it happened

Stage 16: Jan Hirt wins stage 16 / As it happened

Stage 15: Ciccone solos to Alpine breakaway win on stage 15 / As it happened

Stage 14: Giro d'Italia: Simon Yates captures solo win on stage 14 in Turin / As it happened

Stage 13: Giro d'Italia: Démare makes it three on stage 13 / As it happened

Stage 12: Giro d'Italia: Oldani wins stage 12 from three-man breakaway

Stage 11: Dainese sprints to victory on stage 11

Stage 10: Girmay becomes first Black African rider to win a Grand Tour stage / As it happened

Stage 9: Jai Hindley triumphs on Blockhaus / As it happened

Stage 8: Thomas De Gendt wins stage 8 / As it happened

Stage 7: Bouwman wins stage 7 / As it happened

Stage 6: Démare pips Ewan in photo finish on Giro d'Italia stage 6 / As it happened

Stage 5: Démare wins stage 5 / As it happened

Stage 4: Kämna wins stage 4 atop Mount Etna / As it happened

Stage 3: Mark Cavendish wins stage 3 / As it happened

Stage 2: Simon Yates edges Van der Poel to win time trial / As it happened

Stage 1: Van der Poel wins crash-marred uphill sprint / As it happened

Giro d'Italia 2022 News and Features

Giro d'Italia Race Route

Week 3

Week 2

Week 1

Giro d'Italia - Tech

Giro d'Italia - Video Highlights

Giro d'Italia - The build up

Giro d'Italia History

Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) earned the maglia rosa after 21 days of racing the 2021 Grand Tour. He covered the 3,479.9 kilometres just one minute 29 seconds ahead of Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) who finished second overall. Third place was secured by Adam Yates (Team BikeExchange), 4:15 behind the Colombian rider.

The tradition of marking the GC leader with a pink jersey was recognised last year with the 90th anniversary of the iconic prize. The maglia rosa was introduced in 1931 by Armando Cougnet, a journalist at La Gazzetta dello Sport, who had created the Giro d'Italia 20 years earlier. The idea was to make the race leader easier to identify in the peloton by race officials and the roadside fans. 

Eddy Merckx holds the record of 78 days in the pink jersey, followed by Francesco Moser with 57 and Gino Bartali with 50. Legendary riders who have worn the maglia rosa over the years include Gino Bartali, Fausto Coppi, Charly Gaul, Felice Gimondi, Eddy Merckx, Francesco Moser, Bernard Hinault, Laurent Fignon, Marco Pantani and others.

Giro d'Italia 2022 teams

  • AG2R Citroën
  • Astana Qazaqstan
  • Bahrain Victorious
  • BikeExchange-Jayco
  • Bora-Hansgrohe
  • Cofidis
  • EF Education-EasyPost
  • Groupama-FDJ
  • Ineos Grenadiers
  • Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
  • Israel-Premier Tech
  • Jumbo-Visma
  • Lotto Soudal
  • Movistar
  • QuickStep-AlphaVinyl
  • Team DSM
  • Trek-Segafredo
  • UAE Team Emirates
  • Alpecin-Fenix
  • Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè
  • Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli
  • Eolo-Kometa


Top News on the Race

Related Features