July 6-28, Brussels, France , Road - WorldTour

Latest from Tour de France 2019

Julian Alaphilippe wins Tour de France individual time trial

Tour de France leader Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quickstep) smashed out an incredible performance in the stage 13 individual time trial in Pau, winning the stage ahead of defending Tour champion Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) by 14 seconds.

Early starter Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) ended his two hour long visit to the hot seat to take third.

As a result of his ride, Alaphilippe padded his lead in the general classification to 1:26 over Thomas, with Jumbo-Visma's Steven Kruijswijk in third at 2:12.

Alaphilippe's teammate Enric Mas unseated Egan Bernal (Ineos) in the young riders classification as the Colombian ceded one minute to Thomas and 38 seconds to Mas.

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) continues to lead the points classification and Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) continues in the polka dot jersey, while Trek-Segafredo took back over as best team.

The Tour de France lost one more rider, as Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) suffered a deep gash to his leg when he brushed against the sharp edge of a barrier in a turn. 

Stage 13 Brief Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep0:35:00 
2Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Ineos0:00:14 
3Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:36 
4Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First  
5Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-Segafredo0:00:45 
6Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma  
7Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ0:00:49 
8Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep0:00:52 
9Enric Mas (Spa) Deceuninck-QuickStep0:00:58 
10Joseph Rosskopf (USA) CCC Team0:01:01 
General classification after stage 13
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep53:01:09 
2Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Ineos0:01:26 
3Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma0:02:12 
4Enric Mas (Spa) Deceuninck-QuickStep0:02:44 
5Egan Bernal (Col) Team Ineos0:02:52 
6Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:03:04 
7Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ0:03:22 
8Rigoberto Uran (Col) EF Education First0:03:54 
9Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:03:55 
10Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott  

Tour de France Overview

Tour de France 2019 Start List

With four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome (Team Ineos) out through injury, this year's Tour de France is a wide open affair. Defending champion Geraint Thomas returns and the Welsh rider will be joined by his talented young Ineos teammate Egan Bernal, with the Colombian also a contender for the yellow jersey.

The home nation will depend on Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) and Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) - both former podium finishers - while the other contenders include Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Mikel Landa (Movistar), Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo), Rigoberto Urán, and Steven Kruijswijk (Jumbo-Visma).

In terms of the sprinters, Peter Sagan leads the way and, although he may not be the fastest rider in the flat bunch finishes, he will start the Tour de France as the favourite for the points classification, having won the green jersey in six of the past seven Tours. Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Vimsa) is arguably the strongest sprinter in the world at the moment, and he'll also face competition from debutant Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal), Elia Viviani (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates), and André Greipel (Arkéa-Samsic). There'll be no Mark Cavendish, who wasn't selected by Dimension Data, or Fernando Gaviria (UAE), who has a knee injury. 

The race route

The 2019 Tour de France will celebrate the legendary career of Belgian Eddy Merckx 50 years after his first Tour victory, with the Grand Départ to be held in Brussels on July 6. The race also celebrates the 100th year of the iconic maillot jaune (yellow jersey), which Merckx wore for a total of 96 days, more than any other rider in history.

The 2019 route, unveiled in Paris in October, covers 3,640 kilometres over 21 stages, with three stages apiece in the Pyrenees and Alps, five summit finishes, and seven peaks above the 2000-metre altitude mark. There are seven largely flat stages, a few medium mountain days, and only 54 kilometres of time trialling, split between one team time trial and one individual time trial.

The race will begin with a 192km stage taking in many of cycling's historic challenges across the Flemish and Walloon regions, including the Muur van Geraardsbergen. Stage 2 will be a 28km team time trial starting at the Palais Royal and finishing by the Brussels Atomium. Merckx claimed his first yellow jersey after his Faema team won a similar test in his home town of Sint-Pieters-Woluwe.

The race will then leave Belgium and head into France on stage 3's 214km race from Binche to Epernay, before heading south through the Vosges mountains and into the Massif Central. It's then down to the Pyrenees, with a 27.2km individual time trial in Pau preceding summit finishes on the mighty Col du Tourmalet and Prat d'Albis.

After the second rest day, the route heads to the Alps for three stages that include the Col d'Izoard, the Col du Galibier, and the Col d'Iseran – the highest paved road in Europe. The winner of the 2019 Tour de France will effectively be determined after one mammoth final climb to the finish line at Val Thorens on stage 20, before the race heads into Paris for the finale along the Champs-Elysées.

Tour de France biggest stories

Tour de France tech

Tour de France countdown features

More features

How to watch the Tour de France

Tour de France podcasts

Tour de France race map

Rest Day 1

Stage 14

117.5km Tarbes - Tourmalet

Stage 15

185km Limoux - Foix

Rest Day 2


Stage 16

177km Nimes - Nimes

Stage 17

200km Pont Du Gard - Gap

Stage 18

208km Embrun - Valloire

Stage 19

126.5km Saint-Jean-De-Maurienne - Tignes

Stage 20

130km Albertville - Val Thorens

Stage 21

128km Rambouillet - Paris Champs-Elysees
Back to top