Rider Profile

Dylan Groenewegen

Team Jayco AlUla

Dylan Groenewegen

Personal Details:

Nationality Netherlands
Date of birth 21/06/1993


Sprint star Dylan Groenewegen, born in the Netherlands on June 21 1993, turned professional in 2012 with the Dutch Continental team de Rijke-Shanks. But a breakthrough win was not secured until 2015 when he triumphed in the Veenendaal-Veenendaal Classic whilst in the colours of the ProContinental outfit, Roompot - Oranje Peloton, for a single season.

Groenewegen’s first big win, the Brussels Cycling Classic, was also in 2015 and came shortly before he joined his first WorldTour team when signing with the LottoNL-Jumbo team in 2016. Groenewegen scored no less than 11 victories in 2016, with highlights including the National Road Race title and a stage of the Eneco Tour, his first WorldTour victory.

Having made his debut in the Tour de France in 2016, Groenewegen scored his first of five stage wins to date the following season, 2017, on the Champs-Elysées. He added another two Tour stages in 2018, as well as a prestigious Spring Classic, Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne and a stage, his first of three so far, in Paris-Nice. 

While 2019 saw Groenewegen notch up his biggest Classics win to date, the Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne, 2020 was marked by the consequences of his causing a major crash involving Fabio Jakobsen in the Tour de Pologne that year. Jakobsen was seriously injured and Groenewegen received a partially backdated nine-month ban that ended in May 2021.

After his return to racing, Groenewegen signed for the Australian team Bike Exchange-Jayco in 2022. He won his fifth Tour de France stage that summer and that season also won the Veenendaal-Veenendaal Classic, where he already held the record for victories, for the fourth time in his career.

Key results

Five stage wins in Tour de France (2022, 2019, 2018 x 2, 2017)

Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne 2019

Three stages Paris-Nice (2019x2, 2018)

One stage UAE Tour (2020)

Two stages Tour of Guangxi (2018, 2017)

One stage Eneco Tour (2016)

National Road Championships (2016)

Brussels Cycling Classic (2015)

Four stage wins Tour of Britain (2016, 2019)

Six stage wins Tour of Norway (2017, 2018, 2022)

Two stages Tour of Slovenia (2022, 2018)

One stage Tour of Denmark (2021)

Two stages Tour de Wallonie (2021)

Three stages 4 Jours de Dunkerque (2019)

Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne (2018)

Four stages Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana (2020x2, 2019, 2016)

Three stages Volta ao Algarve (2018x2, 2019)

Veenendaal-Veenendaal (2015, 2016, 2018, 2022)