Vuelta a España: De Marchi wins stage 7 in Alcaudete

The last day of the first week of racing at the Vuelta a España produced the first success for a breakaway. Part of a four-man group that went clear 36km into another super-heated day, Alessandro De Marchi (Cannondale) rode alone into the stage 7 finish line in Alcaudete to claim the biggest victory of his professional career after fatigue and misfortune had ended the hopes of his three companions; Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp), Hubert Dupont (Ag2r-La Mondiale) and Johann Tschopp (IAM Cycling).

"It’s great to have been in a break with such strong riders," De Marchi said. "Today, I felt like I had good legs and I was allowed to go for it.”

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) continues his lead in the overall classification by 15 seconds ahead of his teammate Nairo Quintana and an additional three seconds to Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo).

How it unfolded

The seventh stage of the Vuelta was 169km from Alhendín to Alcaudete. The escape had been instigated by Hesjedal and Tschopp, who managed to get clear after several attempts had been snuffed out during the first hour of racing. Dupont and De Marchi quickly joined this pair.


Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Cannondale4:01:52
2Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin Sharp0:01:34
3Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:35
4Johann Tschopp (Swi) IAM CyclingRow 3 - Cell 2
5Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team0:02:17
6Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin SharpRow 5 - Cell 2
7Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky0:02:18
8Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team0:02:20
9Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Tinkoff-SaxoRow 9 - Cell 2
11Robert Gesink (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling TeamRow 10 - Cell 2
12Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar TeamRow 11 - Cell 2
13Damiano Caruso (Ita) CannondaleRow 12 - Cell 2
14Joaquím Rodríguez Oliver (Spa) Team KatushaRow 13 - Cell 2
15Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdgeRow 14 - Cell 2
16Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro TeamRow 15 - Cell 2
17Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN - QhubekaRow 16 - Cell 2
18Pieter Serry (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling TeamRow 17 - Cell 2
19David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGARow 18 - Cell 2
20Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 19 - Cell 2
21Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Tinkoff-SaxoRow 20 - Cell 2
22Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-MeridaRow 21 - Cell 2
23Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team KatushaRow 22 - Cell 2
24Rigoberto Urán (Col) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling TeamRow 23 - Cell 2
25Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Orica GreenEdgeRow 24 - Cell 2
26Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling TeamRow 25 - Cell 2
27Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 26 - Cell 2
28Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto BelisolRow 27 - Cell 2
29Haimar Zubeldia Aguirre (Spa) Trek Factory RacingRow 28 - Cell 2
30Andre Fernando S Martins Cardoso (Por) Garmin SharpRow 29 - Cell 2
31Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Astana Pro TeamRow 30 - Cell 2
32Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 31 - Cell 2
33Natnael Berhane (Eri) Team EuropcarRow 32 - Cell 2
34Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 33 - Cell 2
35Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre-MeridaRow 34 - Cell 2
36Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto BelisolRow 35 - Cell 2
37Laurens ten Dam (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Wout Poels (Ned) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling TeamRow 37 - Cell 2
39Dominik Nerz (Ger) BMC Racing TeamRow 38 - Cell 2