Vuelta a Espana 2019

Latest News from the Race

Jakobsen wins final stage as Roglic takes overall Vuelta a España title

Jumbo-Visma's Primoz Roglic sewed up the overall title at the 2019 Vuelta a Espana, taking his – and Slovenia's – first Grand Tour title, with Movistar's Alejandro Valverde taking second place and another rising Slovenian star, Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) taking third.

The final sprint stage into Madrid was won by Deceuninck-QuickStep's Fabio Jakobsen, ahead of Ireland's Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe), giving the Belgian team five victories at this year's Vuelta, but the day belonged to Roglic, who took a well-earned, and hard-fought, overall victory.

The 29-year-old former ski jumper finished the race 2:16 ahead of Valverde and 2:38 ahead of compatriot Pogacar.

"Thank you for the support – to my family and everyone that was involved in this big result," said Roglic after his win. "See you at the next races."

For a full report of the final stage of the 2019 Vuelta a España, click here.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Stage 21 results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep 2:48:20
2Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3Szymon Sajnok (Pol) CCC Team
4Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
5Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data
6Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
7Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal
8Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
9Marc Sarreau (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
10Dion Smith (NZl) Mitchelton-Scott
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classifcation
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma 83:07:31
2Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:16
3Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 0:02:38
4Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:03:29
5Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:04:31
6Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:07:16
7Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:09:47
8Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor) Lotto Soudal 0:12:54
9Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team 0:22:10
10Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott 0:22:17


The 2019 Vuelta a España begins in Torrevieja on Saturday August 23 and finishes in Madrid on September 15.

The route, unveiled in a ceremony in Alicante in December, sees the number of summit finishes cut back a touch from nine to eight, but it's still a mountainous route that sticks with the Vuelta’s recent traditions.

Some brutally steep climbs have been sought out for the occasion, with the 4km Mas de la Costa and the painfully steep Los Machucos returning to the route. Andorra is also back on the menu and will host a short but punchy stage to bring week one to a close. The 100-kilometre route comprises five climbs and will ensure some gaps in the overall classification.

There will be just over 60 kilometres against the clock, with a 24km team time trial in Torrevieja opening the race and a 36.1km individual chrono in Pau at the start of the second week.

The final week of action gives the sprinters more opportunities to find glory, along with two important mountain stages in the Sierras around Madrid, before the last stage into the Spanish capital.

In the absence of 2018 champion Simon Yates, the 2019 Vuelta looks wide open, with a range of candidates and a sense anything can happen. Nairo Quintana and Alejandro Valverde are two of three former winners on the start line - alongside Fabio Aru (UAE Team Emirates) - and head up a Movistar team without Giro d'Italia champion Richard Carapaz, who was ruled out through injury just 48 hours before the start of the race.

Primoz Roglic, third at the Giro, is very much among the favourites, and his Jumbo-Visma team have a credible alternative in Steven Kruijswijk, who was third at the Tour de France.

Movistar and Jumbo-Visma seem the strongest teams in the race, but elsewhere are a number of interesting challengers, including Colombians Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana), Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott), and Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First). Team Ineos leadership is shared between Wout Poels and 24-year-old Tao Geoghegan Hart, while two-time top-10 finisher Wilco Kelderman leads Sunweb and Rafal Majka leads Bora-Hansgrohe.

Vuelta a España countdown features

Vuelta a España biggest stories 

How to watch the Vuelta a España – Live streams from anywhere

If you live outside a broadcast zone or are on holiday outside your country and find that the live streams to be geo-restricted, you can get around this by getting access to them by simulating being back in your home country via a 'virtual private network', or VPN, for your laptop, tablet or mobile.

TechRadar tested hundreds of VPNs and recommends the number one best VPN currently available as Express VPN. With ExpressVPN, you can watch on many devices at once including Smart TVs, Fire TV Stick, PC, Mac, iPhone, Android phone, iPads, tablets etc. Check out ExpressVPN and get 15 months for the price of 12.  

2018 Vuelta a España general classification

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Simon Yates82:05:58
2Enric Mas0:01:46
3Miguel Angel Lopez0:02:04
4Steven Kruijswijk0:02:54
5Alejandro Valverde0:04:28
6Thibaut Pinot0:05:57
7Rigoberto Uran0:06:07
8Nairo Quintana0:06:51
9Ion Izagirre0:11:09
10Wilco Kelderman0:11:11


Top News on the Race

Related Features