Vuelta a España 2013

Latest News from the Race

11 summit finishes for Spain's Grand Tour

The 2013 Vuelta a España, will again have a very mountainous route, with 11 summit finishes and rare visit to France for a finish in Peyragudes, the first visit since Michael Rasmussen won at Cauterets in 2003.


2012 winner Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff) has confirmed he will not ride but overall contenders include Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), Giro d'Italia winner Vincenzo Nibali (Astana), Ivan Basso (Cannondale) and Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp).


This year's race starts in the western Galicia region with a team time trial. The final mountain stages are in the Asturias with the terrible Alto de l'Angliru the last mountain finish.


The winner of this year's Vuelta a Espana will be crowned in Madrid on Sunday September 15.

Stages | Past winners | 2011 Vuelta a España | 2012 Vuelta a España | 2013 Route Map


Top News on the Race

Related Features