Bjerg crowned under 23 men's time trial world champion

Dane Mikkel Bjerg turned the tables in the U23 time trial world championship race in Bergen, Norway, turning last year's silver in the junior ranks into gold ahead of rival Brandon McNulty (United States). Frenchman Corentin Ermenault edged out Tom Wirtgen (Luxembourg) at the death to take home the bronze medal.

Bjerg, 18, ended his long spell in the hot seat after setting the quickest time of 47:06 over the hilly 37.2km course from the second wave of riders, beating 19-year-old McNulty, who started three minutes earlier, by 1:05.

He had a long time to discuss the reversal of last year's junior Worlds event with McNulty, as the pair spent close to two hours and thirty minutes waiting for the final riders to finish.

"It's unbelievable," Bjerg said. "I can't really understand right now. I knew that the course was really tough, so I lost some weight before the big day today. I tried to pace it as good as possible on the climb. I could see on my power meter that I was in for a top 5 or a medal if I was lucky. I could see when the other split times came that I did a pretty good effort. It's crazy."

He showed respect for his American rival, acknowledging that McNulty's season was less than ideal after he suffered a broken pelvis in a crash in February.

"I think me and Brandon we did pretty similar last year, and he came back and I think his effort today is also really remarkable. For sure this is the biggest result of my career and I will try to do it again next year."

Neilson Powless (USA) was on track to make the medals when, after the final climb, he dropped his chain and when he reached down to try to re-seat it, he hit the barriers and crashed. Second fastest at the fifth check, Powless regained his composure and went on to finish ninth.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mikkel Bjerg (Denmark)0:47:06.48
2Brandon McNulty (United States Of America)0:48:12.40
3Corentin Ermenault (France)0:48:23.13
4Tom Wirtgen (Luxembourg)0:48:24.85
5Callum Scotson (Australia)0:48:27.73
6Senne Leysen (Belgium)0:48:28.19
7Kasper Asgreen (Denmark)0:48:37.19
8Edoardo Affini (Italy)0:48:41.71
9Neilson Powless (United States Of America)0:48:43.61
10Scott Davies (Great Britain)0:48:49.50
11Pavel Sivakov (Russian Federation)0:48:53.72
12Remi Cavagna (France)0:49:00.21
13Jaime Castrillo Zapater (Spain)0:49:18.11
14Yuriy Natarov (Kazakhstan)0:49:24.54
15Izidor Penko (Slovenia)0:49:28.09
16Mathias Norsgaard Jorgensen (Denmark)0:49:31.31
17Tobias S. Foss (Norway)0:49:31.79
18Marc Hirschi (Switzerland)0:49:34.94
19Julian Braun (Germany)0:49:36.11
20Patrick Haller (Germany)0:49:45.58
21Ivo Oliveira (Portugal)0:49:45.62
22Regan Gough (New Zealand)0:49:46.78
23Piotr Brozyna (Poland)0:49:53.05
24Szymon Sajnok (Poland)0:49:53.74
25Alexander Cowan (Canada)0:50:04.88
26Dmitrii Strakhov (Russian Federation)0:50:08.76
27Iver Johan Knotten (Norway)0:50:09.48
28Daniel Felipe Martinez Poveda (Colombia)0:50:19.33
29Martin Schappi (Switzerland)0:50:24.48
30Paolo Baccio (Italy)0:50:26.06
31Andreas Miltiadis (Cyprus)0:50:35.17
32Kevin Geniets (Luxembourg)0:50:35.77
33Barnabas Peak (Hungary)0:50:47.46
34Luis Ricardo Villalobos Hernandez (Mexico)0:50:54.00
35Patrick Gamper (Austria)0:50:54.18
36Markus Freiberger (Austria)0:50:57.64
37Ka Hoo Fung (Hong Kong, China)0:50:57.66
38Awet Habtom Tekle (Eritrea)0:50:58.27
39Sergio Samitier Samitier (Spain)0:51:04.29
40Vitaliy Novakovskyi (Ukraine)0:51:25.45
41Saymon Musie Mehari (Eritrea)0:51:38.45
42Matic Groselj (Slovenia)0:51:44.70
43Rei Onodera (Japan)0:51:46.49
44Atsushi Oka (Japan)0:52:20.40
45Jason Andrey Huertas Araya (Costa Rica)0:52:24.42
46El Mehdi Chokri (Morocco)0:52:26.41
47Mauricio Moreira (Uruguay)0:52:30.99
48Eriks Toms Gavars (Latvia)0:52:43.74
49Nathan Van Hooydonck (Belgium)0:53:06.79
50Omer Goldshtein (Israel)0:53:26.17
51Andrej Petrovski (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)0:53:33.42
52Tegshbayar Batsaikhan (Mongolia)0:53:37.58
53Daniel Jara Rodriguez (Costa Rica)0:53:58.24
54Michael O'Loughlin (Ireland)0:54:27.73
55Victor Langellotti (Monaco)0:54:31.96
56Jack Burke (Canada)0:56:32.12
DNSCharles Kagimu (Uganda)Row 56 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1