World Championships: McNulty wins junior men time trial

Brandon McNulty (USA) claimed victory in the junior men's time trial at the UCI Road World Championships in Doha, beating Mikkel Bjerg (Denmark) into second place and fellow American Ian Garrison into third.

Bronze medallist in Richmond a year ago and winner of the prestigious Tour de l'Abitibi this summer, McNulty was the favourite for this event and the final rider down the start ramp. He quickly settled into a smooth rhythm and posted the quickest time at the first intermediate check.

McNulty extended his lead to eight seconds at the midpoint, and then took flight in the third quarter of the course, stretching his advantage to 30 seconds over Bjerg by the final check point. The American gave a visual demonstration of his dominance by catching his one and two-minute men in the closing kilometres, and he punched the air as he crossed the line in the day's fastest time, 35 seconds clear of Bjerg and 53 ahead of Garrison.

McNulty is in lofty company as only the third American to win a junior men's road world title after Greg LeMond's triumph in the 1979 road race and Taylor Phinney's time trial victory in Aguascalientes in 2007.

"It's incredible. Just looking back at the guys that have won in the past, it's a pretty elite group and it's impossible to describe what it feels like," said McNulty.

Bjerg had come close to victory but explained afterwards that he was not at all disappointed to come home with silver. "It feels like winning because Brandon was so strong. He was just better than me so I'm really happy with this," said the Dane.

McNulty's two companions on the podium had the benefit of an earlier start, with both rolling down the start ramp before 10am. Bjerg was first of the three to start and immediately signalled his intentions by going fastest at all three time checks. Garrison would slot in 18 seconds behind him with a strong second lap after making a comparatively slow start. Thus, the long wait would begin with Belgium's Ruben Apers joining them in the hot seat for much of the duration. Apers was pushed out before the end, and will be pondering what could have been after losing his bidon on the first lap.

As the heat ramped up, the times became slower and it wasn't until the final few riders that Bjerg's lead came under threat. The first of those contenders was his own teammate Julius Johansen, who immediately began posting fastest times. However, as with many in Monday's events, Johansen cracked in the latter stages and rolled in to post the provisional third fastest time. Hot on his heels was McNulty, who charged past his minute and two-minute men on the way to victory. Starting last of the 85 competitors, McNulty was subjected to the hottest and windiest conditions but that was not an issue for him, he explained afterwards.

"It was definitely toasty out but my home town is Phoenix, Arizona so I've grown up in this kind of heat so it wasn't too big of a shock," McNulty said. "Ian and I have been doing some crazy heat activation over these past few weeks. It wasn't fun but I felt like we were activated enough and we could handle it and push through it.

"When I caught the guy that went off in front of me, I knew that I was putting in a really good ride. When I caught the Swiss guy, that's when I knew it was pretty good. It was definitely motivating to see that I was catching the other guys and really good for the mentality to stay positive and keep pushing."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country)Result
1Brandon McNulty (United States Of America)0:34:42
2Mikkel Bjerg (Denmark)0:00:35
3Ian Garrison (United States Of America)0:00:53
4Julius Johansen (Denmark)0:01:02
5Ruben Apers (Belgium)0:01:24
6Iver Knotten (Norway)0:01:33
7Awet Habtom (Eritrea)0:01:40
8Marc Hirschi (Switzerland)0:01:43
9Jaka Primozic (Slovenia)0:01:54
10Jarno Mobach (Netherlands)0:02:00
11Robert Stannard (New Zealand)0:02:02
12Alastair Christie-Johnston (Australia)0:02:08
13Luis Villalobos (Mexico)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Maccie Carter (Australia)0:02:16
15Inigo Elosegui (Spain)0:02:19
16Nils Eekhoff (Netherlands)0:02:36
17Michel Ries (Luxembourg)0:02:40
18Jasper Philipsen (Belgium)0:02:41
19Nik Cemazar (Slovenia)0:02:42
20Harry Sweeny (Australia)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Jason Oosthuizen (South Africa)0:02:46
22Igor Chzhan (Kazakhstan)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Andreas Leknessund (Norway)0:02:49
24Nickolas Zukowsky (Canada)0:02:52
25Bastian Flicke (Germany)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Joao Almeida (Portugal)0:02:58
27Alexander Konychev (Italy)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Tegshbayar Batsaikhan (Mongolia)0:02:59
29Veljko Stojnic (Serbia)0:03:01
30Ilya Gorbushin (Kazakhstan)0:03:12
31Richard Banusch (Germany)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Alessandro Covi (Italy)0:03:14
33Barnabas Peak (Hungary)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Alexys Brunel (France)0:03:15
35Stefan Bissegger (Switzerland)0:03:17
36Richard Holec (Czech Republic)0:03:18
37Florentin Lecamus (France)0:03:20
38Markus Wildauer (Austria)0:03:28
39Filip Maciejuk (Poland)0:03:31
40Adrian Bustamante (Colombia)0:03:34
41Clement Davy (France)0:03:39
42Ronan Tuomey (Ireland)0:03:40
43Xeno Young (Ireland)0:03:41
44James Fouche (New Zealand)0:03:49
45Daniel Viegas (Portugal)0:03:54
46Nikita Shcherbun (Russian Federation)0:04:06
47Daniil Nikulin (Ukraine)0:04:08
48Ibrahim Halil Dilek (Turkey)0:04:09
49Vladyslav Shcherban (Ukraine)0:04:12
50Damean Oosthuizen (South Africa)0:04:15
51Stanislav Koniaev (Russian Federation)0:04:16
52Hamza Mansouri (Algeria)0:04:19
53Jakub Otruba (Czech Republic)0:04:20
54Marco Friedrich (Austria)0:04:21
55Onur Turgut (Turkey)0:04:32
56Raphael Kockelmann (Luxembourg)0:04:34
57Vadim Pronskiy (Kazakhstan)0:04:38
58Simon Musie (Eritrea)0:04:40
59Kristers Ansons (Latvia)0:04:43
60Abdelraouf Bengayou (Algeria)0:04:50
61Ognjen Ilic (Serbia)0:04:56
62Ayumu Watanabe (Japan)0:05:20
63Ebrahim Hajizadehasl (Islamic Republic of Iran)0:05:23
64Matthew Staples (Canada)0:05:28
65Tyler Cole (Trinidad and Tobago)0:05:35
66Saad Alsaadi (Bahrain)0:05:45
67Jean Paul Rene Ukiniwabo (Rwanda)0:05:48
68Mikayil Safarli (Azerbaijan)0:05:56
69Sheng Sha (People's Republic of China)0:05:58
70Thai Hoang Phan (Vietnam)0:06:04
71San Long Lao (Macao, China)0:06:28
72Keitaro Sawada (Japan)0:06:44
73Abdulaziz Alkhuwaytim (Saudi Arabia)0:06:59
74Thanakhan Chaiyasombat (Thailand)0:07:07
75Karim Shiraliyev (Azerbaijan)0:07:17
76Abderahim Amari (Algeria)0:07:32
77Son Chi Ieong (Macao, China)0:07:41
78Benneng Yu (People's Republic of China)0:08:02
79Tamaz Tsereteli (Georgia)0:09:21
80Jair Kelly (Aruba)0:09:24
81Abdullah Alrashdi (Saudi Arabia)0:09:48
82Noofal Al Habsi (Oman)0:10:03
83Tomas Contte (Argentina)0:10:13
DNSFarhan Farizi (Qatar)Row 83 - Cell 2
DNSGassem Hassan (Qatar)Row 84 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1