Huber lets one go, Islitzer takes stage 7 of Crocodile Trophy

The domination of Urs Huber in the Crocodile Trophy was finally broken by Austrian Lukas Islitzer, who out-sprinted the Swiss rider on the longest stage of the 2015 race.

Double-Crocodile Trophy winner Ondrej Fojitik is third ahead of Soren Nissen (Denmark) and Brendan Johnston (Australia). Sarah White remains the fastest woman.

"This is a dream come true. I've been racing way above my expectations at this event and I've been working really hard every day, racing with the leaders and today's win is just brilliant! I'm very happy," he said.

Huber was not too disappointed after taking five straight stage wins. He holds a lead of 16:49 on Nissen and rode to prevent any time loss.

"Today I rode a tactical race," Huber said. "I've been dominating the lead group over the last few days and didn't want to risk anything. But the pace was very high in our lead group of five and if anyone had attacked, I would have had to react."

"Lukas Islitzer took the win in a sprint in the end and is a deserving stage winner."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lukas Islitzer (Aut) CRAFT - Rocky Mountain Team3:57:10
2Urs Huber (Sui) Team Bulls0:00:01
3Ondrej Fojtik (Cze) FORCE KCK - PROGRESS CYCLES0:00:06
4Brendan Johnston (Aus)0:00:11
5Sören Nissen (Den) Racing Team Stevens - iHUS0:00:25
6Greg Saw (Aus) Energima Abax Hr0:11:07
7Matthias Grick (Aut) KTM RAD.SPORT.SZENE AusseerlandRow 6 - Cell 2
8Nicholas Pettina (Ita) Gruppo Sportivo Forestale0:12:34
9Milton Ramos (Esp) Intense-TowCar0:12:38
10Ryan Sherlock (Irl) TR0:12:40
11Vincent Arnaud (Fra) Cycle Tyres - Addictiv0:12:50
12Manuel Pliem (Aut) KTM RAD.SPORT.SZENE Ausseerland0:13:49
13Jiri Krivanek (Cze) Prestige - EthicSport0:14:47
14Jindra Knot (Cze) SWEEP CYCLING0:27:47
15Jeroen van Eck (Ned) MPL Specialized MTB Team0:31:18
15Thomas Engelsgjerd (Nor) Energima Abax HrRow 15 - Cell 2
17Anthony Lincy (Aus) Astute Financial Racing0:31:21
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sarah White (Aus) Astute Financial Racing5:15:10
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 7
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Urs Huber (Sui)22:13:17
2Sören Nissen (Den)0:16:49
3Brendan Johnston (Aus)0:31:05
4Nicholas Pettina (Ita)0:47:15
5Lukas Islitzer (Aut)0:51:34
6Milton Ramos (Esp)1:19:14
7Greg Saw (Aus)1:21:23
8Matthias Grick (Aut)1:23:39
9Ondrej Fojtik (Cze)1:36:28
10Vincent Arnaud (Fra)1:43:02
11Ryan Sherlock (Irl)1:47:33
12Jiri Krivanek (Cze)2:37:59
13Jindra Knot (Cze)3:24:53
14Jeroen van Eck (Ned)4:16:03
15Manuel Pliem (Aut)4:16:15
16Thomas Engelsgjerd (Nor)4:37:48
17Anthony Lincy (Aus)5:23:10
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sarah White (Aus)31:11:28

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews