Gillow claims back-to-back Australian Time Trial gold

Heather, O'Donnell over a minute behind for minor medals

Shara Gillow (GreenEdge-AIS) successfully defended her Australian Time Trial crown, blasting her way around the 27.1 kilometre Learmonth course in a time of 37:04.35 claiming gold in the elite women's category over a minute ahead of her nearest rivals.

Taryn Heather claimed the silver medal in a time of 38:17.54 while 2008 champion Bridie O'Donnell 38:18.78 took home the bronze.

The result meant that the new GreenEdge-AIS outfit claimed a clean sweep of the elite women's titles at the 2012 Australian Road Championships, with Alexis Rhodes winning her fourth criterium championship, and Amanda Spratt the road race.

Sinead Noonan (Jayco-AIS), who won the under 23 road championship on Saturday, earned her second gold medal for the 2012 titles, in a time of 39:54.85 placing her ninth overall.

Gillow put in a far less conservative performance on Tuesday than usual, leaving nothing on the road in the blustery, cold conditions. Last out of the start house as defending champion, Gillow only had one aim for the day – to ride as fast as possible.

"I'm learning so much as I go, but when it comes down to it it's all about trying to go quick and I think I did that," Gillow, 24, said having ridden her race against the clock in an average time of 43.87 km/h

"There's always some things you can change, but I'm pretty happy with how it went," she continued. "I just feel like I'm getting better and better at the moment– hopefully I can continue that when we go back to Europe."


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shara Gillow (Qld)  
2Taryn Heather (Vic)  
3Bridie O'Donnell (Vic)  
4Amanda Spratt (NSW)  
5Alexis Rhodes (SA)  
6Grace Sulzberger (Tas)  
7Rachel Neylan (SA)  
8Rebecca Wiasak (ACT)  
9Sinead Noonan (SA) U23  
10Lauren Kitchen (NSW) U23  
11Sarah Kent (WA) U23  
12Emma Lawson (Tas) U23  
13Ailie McDonald (ACT) U23  
14Carla Ryan (Vic)  
15Jessica Allen (WA) U23  
16Carlee Taylor (SA)  
17Stephanie Frawley (Vic)  
18Nicole Whitburn (Vic)  
19Miranda Griffiths (Vic)  
20Gracie Elvin (ACT)  
21Samantha De Riter (Vic)  
22Megan Bagworth (ACT)  
23Lucy Coldwell (Vic)  
24Elizabeth Hall (Vic)  
25Stephanie Ives (Vic)  
26Kellie Mathers (Vic)  
27Alice Wallett (ACT) U23  
DNSKendelle Hodges (Vic)  
DNSDelphine Astier (Vic) U23  
DNSRowena Fry (Tas)  
DNSTiffany Cromwell (SA)  
DNSAlexandra Carle (ACT)  
DNSLoren Rowney (Qld) U23  


Related Articles

Back to top