Virtual Tour de France: Julien Bernard wins stage 2

Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo) (Image credit: Zwift)

Julien Bernard (Trek-Segafredo) came away with a win on stage 2 of the Virtual Tour de France. The Frenchman left it late, coming around Freddy Ovett (Israel Start-Up Nation) and Michael Woods (EF). It looked as though Ovett had the win in the bag but he was caught just before the line by Bernard after the Frenchman used a late power-up.

Patrick Bevin (CCC Team) had attacked in the final 600m but he was brought back just before the sprint opened up. NTT kept their lead in the race and will wear the maillot jaune next weekend for stage 3.

NTT also maintained their lead in the points competition, with Mitchelton-Scott in second place. Israel Start-Up Nation lead the KOM competition.

Like the women’s field the men’s race took place over a 29.5km circuit with two climbs on the route. 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas (Team Ineos) blowing the race apart on the lower slopes of the climb. It was a clear tactic from Ineos as they looked to drop the sprinters as quickly as possible.

Thomas dragged a small group away with him briefly but he was soon back in the main group as Michael Woods (EF Pro Cycling) jumped clear. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos) went after the Canadian but the pair were unable to establish a significant gap on the climb. 

As the race turned left and climbed towards the radio tower both Geoghegan Hart and Woods were in contention at the front of the race and the pair joined up with Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) and James Piccoli (Israel Start-Up Nation) as the race began the descent towards the finishline.

The leaders saw their advantage reduced with Bevin and a small chase creating a 15-rider group inside the closing kilometers. Woods went again with 1.5km to go but it was Trek Segafredo with three riders at the front that made the difference. Ovett looked good for the win but he was just beaten at the line by Bernard.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo 0:41:12
2Freddy Ovett (Aus) Israel Start-Up Nation
3Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis
4Michael Woods (Can) EF Pro Cycling
5Patrick Bevin (NZl) CCC Team 0:00:01
6Stefan De Bod (Saf) NTT Pro Cycling 0:00:02
7Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
8Louis Meintjes (Saf) NTT Pro Cycling
9Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Ineos
10Gianni Veremeersch (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 2
1NTT Pro Cycling130pts
2Rally Cycling92
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1NTT Pro Cycling94pts
3CCC Team45
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Israel Start-Up Nation17pts
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1NTT Pro Cycling17pts
2Lotto Soudal15

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1