Biziyaremye wins stage 5 in Nyanza

Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwanda Karisimbi) won the fifth stage of the Tour of Rwanda ahead the winners of the last two stages, Eritrean Dawit Haile (Eritrea) and Moroccan Salaheddin Mraouni (Maroc).

In 2011, he was the first Rwandan to win a stage of the Tour of Rwanda. He is now the only one of his country to win two stages. With intelligence, he waited until the last turn to produce his effort and surprise the other riders in the peloton.

The yellow jersey Valens Ndayisenga (Rwanda Karisimbi) was not endangered of losing any time during the 182.4-km stage, which was the longest in the history of the Tour of Rwanda.

Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi5:09:49
2Haile Dawit (Eri) EritreaRow 1 - Cell 2
3Salaeddine Mraouni (Mar) MarocRow 2 - Cell 2
4Temesgen Buru (Eth) EthiopiaRow 3 - Cell 2
5Valens Ndayisenga (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 4 - Cell 2
6Elyas Afewerki (Eri) EritreaRow 5 - Cell 2
7Solomon Habte (Eri) EritreaRow 6 - Cell 2
8Aron Debretsion (Eri) As.Be.Co Cycling TeamRow 7 - Cell 2
9Million Amanuel (Eri) EritreaRow 8 - Cell 2
10Thulasizwe Mxenge (RSA) South AfricaRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 5
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Valens Ndayisenga (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi18:59:05
2Jean-Bosco Nsengimana (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:00:56
3Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:01:15
4Aron Debretsion (Eri) As.Be.Co Cycling Team0:01:18
5Patrick Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:01:46
6Salaeddine Mraouni (Mar) Maroc0:02:03
7Lahcen Saber (Mar) Maroc0:02:05
8Temesgen Buru (Eth) Ethiopia0:02:06
9Million Amanuel (Eri) Eritrea0:02:10
10Thomas Terrettaz (Swi) Team Meubles Decarte0:02:12


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews