North Star Grand Prix: Numainville wins stage 5

Samantha Schneider takes field sprint for second ahead of Coryn Rivera

Joëlle Numainville (Mission Health) held off a surging Samantha Schneider and Coryn Rivera (UnitedHealthcare) to take the win by a slim margin at the Mankato Road Race. The Canadian champion attacked with seven miles remaining in Stage 5 of the North Star Grand Prix.

Schneider out-sprinted Rivera to take second after 77 miles of racing around the city of Mankato, Minnesota. Ellen Noble (Mission Health) and Monika Volk (Medica Collegiate All-Stars) came across the line in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

“I just wanted to have an aggressive race and make the most of it, so I attacked twice,” said Numainville, who recently finished second at GP Gatineau. “I’m really happy with how I raced.”

In the overall competition, race leader Brianna Walle (TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank) retains her lead in the overall competition. Walle is four seconds ahead of her teammate, Lauren Stephens and 17 seconds in front of Rivera. Numainville’s efforts jumped her up to 4th place and Greg Lemond Best Young Rider Lauretta Hanson (Colavita/Bianchi) is currently in fifth place overall.

Stage 5 had three large 20-mile circuits to tackle before the course turned toward five finishing circuits, three and a half miles in length.

The action started nine miles into the stage, when previous wearer of the Surly Most Aggressive jersey, Ellen Watters (SPBRC) tried to ride clear. Aggressive racing from UHC meant that Watters small attack didn’t last long.

“We were definitely on the offensive to get TIBCO to work,” Rivera said after the stage. “The girls did a great job. We had them riding the whole day and that was the plan, to try and break them down. It was the same idea on the finishing circuits, to get TIBCO to crack. On the final climb it was my job to put as much time in between me and Bri as possible.”

Despite UHC’s accelerations, Numainville, Justine Clift (Canyon-Shimano) and Watters (SPBRC) split off the front after the second K’ul Chocolate sprint, where Sophie MacKay (Hagens Berman Supermint) collected max sprint points. Over the course of the stage, Australian criterium champion successfully won all three available intermediate sprints to take back the sprint jersey from Rivera.

The trio worked well together until the base of the second to last QOH climb. The tempo set by Numainville turned out to be too much for Clift and Watters, who dropped back into the peloton on the ascent. Numainville made it to the top still 15 seconds clear, but was caught with 34 miles remaining.

UHC continued to put the pressure on Team Tibco on the last long loop before the finishing circuits. The efforts of Katie Compton and her UHC teammates caused some panic when the field began to fracture, but the pace slowed enough for the struggling riders to rejoin the main group when they reached the circuits.

Taking advantage of a lull in the main group, Sara Poidevin (Rally Cycling) and Kate Sherwin (UHC) escaping up the road just as the race made its way on to the first of five finishing circuits. The duo gained an advantage of 50 seconds, but quickly lost a chunk of time on the draining uphill drag a few miles before the start/finish line.

With 10 miles to go, Poidevin and Sherwin were caught, and Numainville gave it another go off the front. Four miles later, the 28-year-old gained a 45 second gap on what was left of the remaining peloton, making her the virtual leader on the overall classification.

Numainville’s advantage grew before Tibco, realizing the GC threat, rallied at the front and quickly chopped her safety net down from 1 minute to less than 20 seconds. However, the chasers’ efforts weren’t enough to catch a determined Numainville, who crossed the line just 10 seconds ahead of a charging Schneider and Rivera.

“I just wanted that last climb to end as quickly as possible,” Numainville said. “I was really in a lot of pain. I wanted to give my all and know that I did my best at the end.”


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joelle Numainville (North Memorial Health Care)3:10:11 
2Samantha Schneider (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)0:00:10 
3Coryn Rivera (Team UnitedHealthcare)  
4Ellen Noble (North Memorial Health Care)  
5Monica Volk (Medica Collegiate All Stars)  
6Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)  
7Gray Patton (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)  
8Lauretta Hanson (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)  
9Kathryn Buss (Medica Collegiate All Stars)  
10Justine Clift (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)  
11Brianna Walle (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
12Sara Poidevin (Rally Cycling)  
13Elizabeth Hernandez (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)  
14Mandy Heintz (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)  
15Jessica Cutler (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)  
16Amanda Miller (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)  
17Lauren Stephens (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
18Nicolle Bruderer (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)  
19Abby Krawczyk (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)  
20Janelle Cole (Medica Collegiate All Stars)  
21Katherine Sherwin (Team UnitedHealthcare)0:00:14 
22Hannah Ross (Rally Cycling)  
23Heather Fischer (Rally Cycling)0:00:20 
24Flora Yan (Sun And Ski Women's Elite)0:00:22 
25Nicole Mertz (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)  
26Gretchen Stumhofer (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)0:00:34 
27Sara Tussey (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:00:42 
28Brenna Wrye-Simpson (SPBRC/ Grand Performance)0:00:46 
29Skylar Schneider (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)0:00:47 
30Gabrielle Pilotefortin (North Memorial Health Care)0:00:56 
31Beth Ann Orton (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:01:00 
32Whitney Allison (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)  
33Breanne Nalder (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)  
34Lindsay Bayer (Team Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling)  
35Mikayla Maier (Portland Bicycle Studio)0:01:06 
36Joanne Kiesanowski (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
37Shannon Malseed (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)0:01:27 
38Carrie Cartmill (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)0:01:39 
39Lauren Tamayo (Team UnitedHealthcare)0:02:20 
40Melissa Dahlmann (SPBRC/ Grand Performance)0:04:15 
41Katherine Shields (Medica Collegiate All Stars)  
42Katherine Compton (Team UnitedHealthcare)0:04:35 
43Kimberley Wells (Colavita/Bianchi Racing)  
44Daphne Karagianis (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)0:04:57 
45Lexie Millard (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)0:05:04 
46Vanessa Curtis (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)  
47Diana Penuela (Team UnitedHealthcare)  
48Liza Rachetto (Team Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling)  
49Gillian Ellsay (Rally Cycling)  
50Catherine Ouellette (Rally Cycling)  
51Andrea Thomas (Sun And Ski Women's Elite)  
52Payten Maness (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)  
53Lauren Hall (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
54Kendall Ryan (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
55Tess Oliver (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)  
56Jennifer Caicedo (Medica Collegiate All Stars)0:08:33 
57Jennifer Rife (North Memorial Health Care)  
58Melanie Beale (North Memorial Health Care)  
59Diedre Ribbens (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)0:09:25 
60Corey Coogan Cisek (North Memorial Health Care)  
61Anne Perry (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)  
62Sophie Mackay (Team Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling)  
63Ivy Audrain (Team Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling)  
64Judah Sencenbaugh (North Memorial Health Care)  
65Cari Higgins (Team UnitedHealthcare)  
66Cheryl Clark (Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank)  
67Josie Talbot (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI)  
68Amy Benner (Medica Collegiate All Stars)  
69Gabrielle Russell (Orion Racing p/b K'ul Chocolate)  
70Tarah Cole (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)  
71Rachel Mckinnon (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)  
72Jenna Stauffer (QCW p.b. Felt Bicycles-JLVelo)  
73Ellen Watters (SPBRC/ Grand Performance)  
74Helen Baillie_Strong (Sun And Ski Women's Elite)  
75Flory Deleon (Sun And Ski Women's Elite)  
76Natalia Franco (Jet Cycling)  
77Ana Casas (Jet Cycling)  


Back to top