Huffman wins North Star Grand Prix overall

Current National Criterium Champion Brad Huff (Rally Cycling) gave good fight as he powered himself to the win atop 18% grade Chilkoot Hill. In spite being gapped after the climb for many of the 23 laps of the 1.4 mile course, Huff worked back into the front group by the last lap to launch his winning kick on the final climb to the finish.

"I was getting dropped every lap," said Huff. "I would go through this rotation where I would get dropped, and by the top of the hill I would make my way back up into the group behind Danny [Pate]. Then I'd get dropped, then I'd make it back to Danny. I would do that lap after lap to position myself for the hill, then at the end I just dug deep."

The Stillwater Criterium featured 10 turns and is marked by a fast downhill opposite the legendary climb. Riders descend sharply into two narrow right turns before the final climb.

"I don't ever get nervous on descents or turns," said Huff. "I always get nervous on uphills because I've got bones made of lead."

A break of 10 riders formed with less than four laps to go. Rally Cycling was together at the front of the field patrolling for yellow jersey Evan Huffman.

At three laps to go atop Chilkoot Hill, Joseph Schmaltz (Elevate Pro Cycling p/b Bicycle World) attacked from the small group. Huffman chased sans team to prevent sixth-placed Schmaltz from getting away.

When seventh-placed overall Nicolae Tanovitchii (Lupus Racing Team) counter-attacked, Huffman again responded.

"When Schmalz went the first time that was really really hard," said Huffman. "Then when Nicolae Tanovitchii went I had to follow that and I really suffered a lot. I had a buffer of 30-40 seconds but I didn't want to have to use it so I didn't have to panic up that finishing climb up at the end."

Behind Huffman, eventual stage-winner Huff found himself bridging to the lead group with teammate Tom Zirbel.

"I attacked out of the group and bridged to Tom Zirbel who was in no-man's land between the leaders and second group," said Huff. "Then Tom drove it and got me back into the field right at the descent. I just took a deep breath and knew that if I just hit it with all my momentum I might be able to get it."

Earlier in the race, Justin Williams (Cylance-Cannondale pro Cycling p/b Bicycle World) and Andrew Dahlheim (Team Arapahoe Resources) secured their bids for their jersey titles.

Williams won the first sprint points competition in the first lap of the race and secured his K'ul Chocolate Sprint Jersey lead. He then only had to complete at least 25% of the race to win the jersey.

"I was super excited [the sprint competition] was on the first lap!" said Williams.

Dahlheim's bid for the SportBeans King of the Hill jersey was a longer fight. He won the first KOH competition at 17 laps to go, but wasn't yet in the clear for the title.

"To be honest I was kind of nervous," explained Dahlheim. "It was pretty straightforward, I had one person to look out for. But sometimes when it's that easy you can tend to over think things and put a little bit more pressure on yourself than you really need."

Dahlheim's teammate Julio Padilla broke away and absorbed enough points in the following two King of the Hill competitions at 11 and five laps to go that Dahlheim's jersey win was secured.

Padilla was awarded the Surly Most Aggressive Jersey.

Twenty year old Ayden Toovey (Subaru NWIS & MS) won both the LeMond Best Young Rider jersey and the Penn Cycle Best Amateur jersey. The short, punchy hill profile of the course suited his strengths.

"I definitely prefer these strong-man courses," said Toovey. "I'm not a sprinter, I'm not a pure climber, I'm somewhere in between so this course suits me."
Rally Cycling won the team competition in spite of losing two riders at the Cannon Falls Road Race on Thursday.

"Danny and Zirbel are like four men apiece," said Huff. "[Evan] is so strong he can almost defend yellow by himself. We're really lucky to have those guys on our team."


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Brad Huff (Rally Cycling)1:24:45
2Orlando Garibay (Cylance-Cannondale p/b Incycle)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Steve Fisher (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Nicolae Tanovitchii (Lupus Racing Team)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Thomas Zirbel (Rally Cycling)0:00:04
6Ulises Castillo (KHS-Maxxis-JLVelo)0:00:08
7Evan Huffman (Rally Cycling)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Stefan Rothe (Elbowz Racing)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Brad Neagos (ICC Bissell-ABG-Giant)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Ayden Toovey (Subaru NSWIS & MS)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Erik Slack (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)0:00:10
12Joseph Schmalz (Elevate p/b Bicycle World)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Yannick Eckmann (North Memorial Health Care)0:00:14
14Eric Thompson (Donkey Label)0:00:30
15Danny Pate (Rally Cycling)0:00:33
16Connor Brown (Elevate p/b Bicycle World)0:00:35
17Christopher Winn (Podiumwear)0:00:39
18Gabriel Baca (Elbowz Racing)0:00:42
19Tobin Ortenblad (Donkey Label)0:00:52
20Alfredo Rodriquez (KHS-Maxxis-JLVelo)0:00:56
21Cory Lockwood (KHS-Maxxis-JLVelo)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Alejandro Padilla (Team Arapahoe Resources)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Adam Farabaugh (Support Clean Sport/SeaSucker/Guttenplan Coaching)0:01:00
24Aaron Beebe (ICC Bissell-ABG-Giant)0:01:02
25Morgan Schmitt (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Liam White (xXx Racing)0:01:07
27Peter Olejniczak (Podiumwear)0:01:11
28Jake Magee (Elbowz Racing)0:01:14
29Bryan Gomez (Gateway Harley-Davidson Trek)0:01:24
30Kaler Marshall (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)0:01:33
31Matt Mcloone (Battley H-D /Spokes Etc)0:01:47
32Taylor Warren (Team Clif Bar Cycling)0:01:52
33Matthew Zimmer (Credite Velo Trek)0:02:07
34Ricky Randall (Team Arapahoe Resources)0:02:15
35Julio Padilla (Team Arapahoe Resources)0:02:29
36George Simpson (Gateway Harley-Davidson Trek)0:02:46
37Cortlan Brown (Canyon Bicycles-Shimano-Specialized)0:02:54
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final General Classification
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Evan Huffman (Rally Cycling)


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews