European Championships: Thibau Nys wins U23 men's road race title

Thibau Nys confirmed he is far more than a talented cyclo-cross rider, adding the UEC Road European Championships to his 2020 Junior cyclo-cross world title.

Nys outsprinted Italy’s Filippo Baroncini and Spain’s Juan Ayuso after a group of seven riders went clear in the final laps of the 133km race around Trento.

The 18-year-old Belgian is in his first year in the Under 23 ranks but appears to be as talented as his father Sven, who dominated cyclo-cross between 1999 and 2014 but never emerged in road racing.

Nys had the help of Lennert van Eetvelt after he was caught on the last climb after a solo attack and the seven managed to hold off the peloton in the final kilometres.

Italy’s Filippo Zana made a strong late attack with 1.5km to go but Louis Barré of France closed him down. The others waited for the sprint and Nys held his nerve and position through the final corners and then opened up his sprint with confidence, quickly distancing Baroncini.

“I can’t believe I’m European champion. I was supposed to start my cyclo-cross season today but got the opportunity to ride the Euros and I took it with both hands,” Nys said.

“I didn’t believe it would turn out like this today. It was a hard race in the final. I almost missed the right group on the last lap and I was suffering with cramps but I managed to get up front. I knew that if I could get over the top with those guys, then I could win the race. I did that.

Nys is the rising star of Belgian cyclo-cross and is now likely to lead the Belgian team in the World Championships in Flanders. Yet his victory in Trento eased rather than increased the expectations on his young shoulders.

“I think I can go relaxed into the next few weeks, all that comes now is a bonus,” he said.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Thibau Nys (Belgium) 3:06:57
2Filippo Baroncini (Italy)
3Juan Ayuso Pesquera (Spain)
4Erik Fetter (Hungary)
5Lennert van Eetvelt (Belgium)
6Filippo Zana (Italy)
7Louis Barre (France) 0:00:04
8Marijn van den Berg (Netherlands) 0:00:19
9Jakub Oupalík (Czech Republic)
10Tobias Bayer (Austria)
11Gal Glivar (Slovenia)
12Tom Paquet (Luxembourg)
13Raul Garcia Pierna (Spain)
14Egor Igoshev (Russian Federation)
15Jacob Eriksson (Sweden)
16Martin Bugge Urianstad (Norway)
17Kasper Andersen (Denmark)
18Savva Novikov (Russian Federation)
19Alex Molenaar (Netherlands)
20Michel Heßmann (Germany) 0:00:23
21Alexandre Balmer (Switzerland)
22Viacheslav Ivanov (Russian Federation)
23Felix Engelhardt (Germany)
24Arthur Kluckers (Luxembourg)
25Pedro Lopes (Portugal)
26Stan van Tricht (Belgium) 0:01:31
27Paul Penhoet (France)
28Petr Kelemen (Czech Republic)
29Dillon Corkery (Ireland)
30Edoardo Zambanini (Italy)
31Antti-jussi Juntunen (Finland)
32Lev Gonov (Russian Federation) 0:01:35
33Kristjan Hoevar (Slovenia)
34Karel Camrda (Czech Republic) 0:01:37
35Alexander Tarlton (Germany)
36Leon Heinschke (Germany)
37Hugo Page (France) 0:02:00
38Gianmarco Garofoli (Italy) 0:02:39
39Rick Pluimers (Netherlands) 0:02:47
40Nils Brun (Switzerland) 0:02:51
41Henri Vandenabeele (Belgium) 0:04:09
42Idar Andersen (Norway) 0:05:33
43Fran Miholjevi (Croatia) 0:05:38
44Pavel Bittner (Czech Republic) 0:05:54
45Tim van Dijke (Netherlands) 0:06:00
46Lukáš Kubiš
47Viktor Potoki (Croatia)
48Aivaras Mikutis (Lithuania)
49Daan Hoole (Netherlands)
50Jenno Berckmoes (Belgium)
51Cédric Pries (Luxembourg)
52Anže Skok (Slovenia)
53Adam Ward (Ireland)
54Asbjørn Hellemose (Denmark)
55Nik Emažar (Slovenia)
56Aljaž Jarc (Slovenia)
57Mats Wenzel (Luxembourg)
58Carlos Salgueiro (Portugal)
59Luca Colnaghi (Italy)
60Maksym Bilyi (Ukraine)
61Toon Clynhens (Belgium)
62Joonas Kurits (Estonia)
63Johannes Staune-mittet (Norway)
64Loïc Bettendorff (Luxembourg)
65Pedro Andrade (Portugal)
66Ådne Holter (Norway)
67Marcus Sander Hansen (Denmark) 0:07:56
DNFGabriele Benedetti (Italy)
DNFEnzo Leijnse (Netherlands)
DNFAnders Halland Johannessen (Norway)
DNFTobias Halland Johannessen (Norway)
DNFPaul Lapeira (France)
DNFAxel Laurance (France)
DNFValentin Retailleau (France)
DNFMaurice Ballerstedt (Germany)
DNFJakob Geßner (Germany)
DNFIgor Arrieta Lizarraga (Spain)
DNFXabier Mikel Azparren Irurzun (Spain)
DNFMarc Brustenga Masague (Spain)
DNFPau Miquel Delgado (Spain)
DNFFlorian Gamper (Austria)
DNFMario Gamper (Austria)
DNFValentin Götzinger (Austria)
DNFMaximilian Kabas (Austria)
DNFMartin Messner (Austria)
DNFDamian Bieniek (Poland)
DNFMateusz Kostanski (Poland)
DNFAdam Kus (Poland)
DNFFilip Maciejuk (Poland)
DNFDamian Papierski (Poland)
DNFBartlomiej Proc (Poland)
DNFMatevž Govekar (Slovenia)
DNFWilliam Levy (Denmark)
DNFJacob Madsen (Denmark)
DNFRobin Skivild (Denmark)
DNFFabio Christen (Switzerland)
DNFFelix Stehli (Switzerland)
DNFArnaud Tendon (Switzerland)
DNFValère Thiébaud (Switzerland)
DNFRaphaël Kockelmann (Luxembourg)
DNFAndrei Stepanov (Russian Federation)
DNFGleb Syritsa (Russian Federation)
DNFRait Ärm (Estonia)
DNFGleb Karpenko (Estonia)
DNFArtjom Mirzojev (Estonia)
DNFJoosep Sankmann (Estonia)
DNFAdam Foltán (Slovakia)
DNFFilip Lohinský (Slovakia)
DNFPavol Rovder (Slovakia)
DNFMatúš Štoek (Slovakia)
DNFTobias Vano (Slovakia)
DNFMikel Demiri (Albania)
DNFGjergj Zefi (Albania)
DNFShahin Eyvazov (Azerbaijan)
DNFMark Grinkevich (Belarus)
DNFPreslav Balabanov (Bulgaria)
DNFPetar Dimitrov (Bulgaria)
DNFMartin Papanov (Bulgaria)
DNFAlexandros Matsangos (Cyprus)
DNFKonstantinos Pavlides (Cyprus)
DNFJaakko Sillankorva (Finland)
DNFVeeti Vainio (Finland)
DNFAdam Karl (Hungary)
DNFJóhann Bjarnason (Iceland)
DNFEyþór Eiríksson (Iceland)
DNFKristinn Jonsson (Iceland)
DNFMatthew Devins (Ireland)
DNFKevin Mccambridge (Ireland)
DNFDevin Patric Shortt (Ireland)
DNFAaron Wade (Ireland)
DNFRodzers Petaks (Latvia)
DNFMantas Bitinas (Lithuania)
DNFMantas Januškevicius (Lithuania)
DNFRokas Kmieliauskas (Lithuania)
DNFDenas Masiulis (Lithuania)
DNFŽygimantas Matuzeviius (Lithuania)
DNFKristijan Vanchevski (North Macedonia)
DNFViktor Vanchevski (North Macedonia)
DNFFábio Fernandes (Portugal)
DNFSerban Luncan (Romania)
DNFVeljko Stojni (Serbia)
DNFJonathan Ahlsson (Sweden)
DNFErik Bergström Frisk (Sweden)
DNFHugo Forssell (Sweden)
DNFDenys Khotulov (Ukraine)
DNFDaniil Nikulin (Ukraine)
DNFYaroslav Parashchak (Ukraine)
DNFOleksandr Shevchenko (Ukraine)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1