Plaxton wins short track with last lap surge

Trailing by as much as one hundred feet with one lap to go, Max Plaxton (Specialized) fired the afterburners to hunt down Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek), who finished second. Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing), one of the race aggressors, had to settle for third place. USA Champion Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek) finished a strong fourth, while Barry Wicks (Kona) raced at a new level to finish fifth.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Max Plaxton (Can) Specialized Racing
2Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru Trek
3Geoff Kabush (Can) Scott-3Rox Racing
4Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru Trek
5Barry Wicks (USA) Kona
6Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Racing
7Russell Finsterwald (USA) Subaru Trek
8Sid Taberlay (Aus) Kenda/H20 Overdrive
9Burry Stander (RSA) Specialized Racing
10Colin Cares (USA)
11Stephen Ettinger (USA) BMC MTN Bike Racing
12Howard Grotts (USA) Specialized Racing
13Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona
14Thomas Turner (USA) Jamis
-1lapAlex Grant (USA) Cannondale Factory
-4lapsCarl Decker (USA) Giant Factory Off Road
-4lapsTroy Wells (USA)
-4lapsAndrew Watson (Can) Norco Factory Team
-4lapsAdam Morka (Can) Trek Canada
-4lapsNeal Kindree (Can) Specialized
-4lapsKerry Werner (USA) BMC MTN Bike Racing
-4lapsKris Sneddon (Can) Kona
-4lapsMitchell Hoke (USA) Clif Bar
-5lapsCory Wallace (Can) Kona Factory Team
-5lapsJason Sager (USA) Jamis
-5lapsCameron Jette (Can) Scott - 3 Rox Racing
-6lapsDrew Edsall (USA) Kenda-Felt
-6lapsPeter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada
-6lapsAndrew L'esperance (Can) Norco Factory Team
-6lapsJosh Carlson (Aus) Giant Factory Off Road
-6lapsMiguel Valadez (USA) Ellsworth
-6lapsMacky Franklin (USA)
-6lapsCody Kaiser (USA) California Giant
-6lapsZach Valdez (USA) Whole Athlete-Specialized
-6lapsOnodera Ken (Jpn) Team Specialized
-6lapsKevin Smallman (USA)
-6lapsThomas Bundgaard (Den) Racing 29Ers
-6lapsBrendon Davids (USA) Sho-Air
-6lapsJason Moeschler (USA)
-7lapsYuki Ikeda (Jpn) Topeak Ergon Racing
-7lapsBrennan Wodtli (USA) All Access Racing/Gia
-7lapsBrady Kappius (USA) Clif Bar
-7lapsScott Tietzel (USA)
-7lapsRobert Marion (USA)
-7lapsTyson Wagler (Can) Scott-3 Rox Racing
-7lapsJason Siegle (USA) SDG Felt
-7lapsAlex Wild (USA)
-7lapsTanner Hurst (USA) American Classic
-8lapsClint Claassen (USA)
-8lapsJordan Kahlenberg (USA) Giant Midatlantic
-8lapsNick Truitt (USA) Yeti/Pactimo Pro XC
-8lapsRoss Holbrook (USA)
-8lapsSheng Shan Chiang (Tpe) Specialized Racing
-8lapsTravis Glysson (USA) AZ Devo
-9lapsCraig Wohlschlaeger (USA) The Hub/Giant
-9lapsStephen Dempsey (USA) Freehub Magazine
-9lapsChris Thibodeau (USA) Specialized/Curve
DNFDerek Zandstra (Can) Scott-3 Rox Racing

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews