Joe Martin Stage Race: Skylar Schneider wins stage 1

Skylar Schneider wins stage 1 of the Joe Martin Stage Race
Skylar Schneider wins stage 1 of the Joe Martin Stage Race (Image credit: Tom Ewart/

Skylar Schneider (L39ION of Los Angeles) won the hilly opening day of the Joe Martin Stage Race, outkicking Heidi Franz (Rally Cycling) and Veronica Evers (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) at the line in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The trio finished the 60-mile route in 2:51:22. 

Two seconds back were Clara Honsinger (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) and Anet Barrera Esparaz (3T/ Q+M Cycling), who finished two seconds back. The next groups of riders would cross the finish more three minutes later.

“TIBCO was setting the pace so I stayed behind them. We were nine riders coming into the QOM, and I countered after the QOM points, which took us to five riders going to the line,” Schneider said. 

“I was patient and waited until about 200 metres to start my sprint, and in the end it worked out. Looking forward to the next three days, it only gets harder so we will have a big job to do but we will try our best." 

The women’s route for the Mount Gaylor Road Race included 3,700 feet of climbing, starting in Cedarville, Arkansas. After a one-year hiatus because of COVID-19 pandemic, the Joe Martin Stage Race returns as the first of two UCI stage races for men and women in the US this year, having moved from a spring time slot to August 26-29. 

Franz earned honours as the mountains classification leader, while Maggie Coles-Lyster (DNA Pro Cycling), sixth on the stage, took the lead in the best young rider classification. Ewers will wear the points classification jersey on stage 2, as race leader Schneider is on top of that competition.

Once across the finish line in Fayetteville, Schneider enjoyed her first UCI win in four years.

“It's been a long time, with a lot of ups and downs since then,” Schneider said. “I came here confident, I’ve been training really hard and using the crits to gain fitness. I  conserved energy as long as possible until we got to the main climb.”

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Skylar Schneider (L39ION of Los Angeles) 2:51:22
2Heidi Franz (Rally Cycling)
3Veronica Evers (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
4Clara Honsinger (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:00:02
5Anet Barrera Esparza (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:00:03
6Maggie Coles-Lyster (DNA Pro Cycling Team) 0:03:13
7Rachel Langdon (InstaFund Racing) 0:03:14
8Olivia Ray (Rally Cycling) 0:03:16
9Samantha Runnels (3T/ Q+M Cycling)
10Florence Howden (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line)
11Emma White (Rally Cycling)
12Erica Clevenger (DNA Pro Cycling Team)
13Kaitlyn Rauwerda (Team-Desjardins Ford) 0:03:17
14Allison Mrugal (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line)
15Julyn Hernandez Aguila (L39ION of Los Angeles)
16Sara Poidevin (Rally Cycling)
17Sommers Creed (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line) 0:03:18
18Lauren Stephens (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
19Nicole Shields (DNA Pro Cycling Team)
20Maddy Ward (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:03:19
21Emma Delisle (Team-Desjardins Ford) 0:03:20
22Isabella Bertold (InstaFund Racing) 0:03:21
23Yael Klein (Automatic Racing)
24Kira Payer (LUX/Sideshow p/b Specialized) 0:03:22
25Madeline Bemis (Rally Cycling) 0:03:23
26Emma Langley (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:03:25
27Margot Clyne (DNA Pro Cycling Team) 0:03:26
28Holly Henry (InstaFund Racing) 0:03:28
29Kathryn Aman (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:03:31
30Gillian Ellsay (InstaFund Racing) 0:03:41
31Emily Marcolini (3T/ Q+M Cycling)
32Christie Tracy (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:03:43
33Holly Breck (Rally Cycling 0:04:01
34Elizabeth Gin (InstaFund Racing) 0:08:33
35Noemie Fortin (Team-Desjardins Ford) 0:11:15
36Kimberly Lucie (DNA Pro Cycling Team)
37Camille Primeau (Team-Desjardins Ford)
38Brenna Wrye-Simpson (DNA Pro Cycling Team) 0:11:16
39Claire Windsor (LUX/Sideshow p/b Specialized)
40Iris Gabelier (Team-Desjardins Ford) 0:11:17
41Casandra Cardoza (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line) 0:11:20
42Kaitlin Keough (L39ION of Los Angeles) 0:11:26
43Caitlin Conyers (LUX/Sideshow p/b Specialized) 0:11:35
44Nicole Frain (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:13:51
45Jane Tullis (ROXO Racing) 0:13:52
46Jaime Larmer (ROXO Racing)
47Kara Lilly (Automatic Racing)
48Merrill Thierman (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line) 0:15:54
49Hannah Dalsing (ROXO Racing) 0:17:31
50Whitney Surgenor (Automatic Racing)
51Staci McCudden (LUX/Sideshow p/b Specialized)
52Maeghan Easler (LUX/Sideshow p/b Specialized)
53Rachel Jordan (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:17:37
54Alison Merner (Automatic Racing) 0:19:27
55Leah Thorvilson (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:27:24
56Amber Smolik (ROXO Racing) 0:29:06
57Lucy Hempstead (Team-Desjardins Ford) 0:31:10
58Katy Sorrell (Classic Cycling p/b B-Line)
59Tracy Carrington (ROXO Racing) 0:42:26
DNFHeather Fischer (DNA Pro Cycling Team)
DNFKendall Ryan (L39ION of Los Angeles)
DNFAmber Joseph (L39ION of Los Angeles)
DNSCara O'Neill (Automatic Racing)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification - top 10 after stage 1
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Skylar Schneider (L39ION of Los Angeles) 2:51:11
2Heidi Franz (Rally Cycling) 0:00:04
3Veronica Evers (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:00:06
4Clara Honsinger (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:00:12
5Anet Barrera Esparza (3T/ Q+M Cycling)
6Maggie Coles-Lyster (DNA Pro Cycling Team) 0:03:21
7Rachel Langdon (InstaFund Racing) 0:03:23
8Olivia Ray (Rally Cycling)
9Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) 0:03:25
10Samantha Runnels (3T/ Q+M Cycling) 0:03:26

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1