Giro d'Italia 2018

Latest News from the Race

2018 Giro d'Italia

Chris Froome (Team Sky) won the 2018 Giro d'Italia in Rome, after the finale stage 21. The stage was neutralised for the GC as riders and teams complained that the roads were too dangerous in the finishing city.

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won the stage, his third bunch-sprint victory of this Giro d'Italia, beating points classification winner Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors) and Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC).

Froome sealed the overall title by 46 seconds ahead of last year's winner Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb), and 4:57 ahead of third placed and best young rider Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana).

Froome had many ups and downs on the way to his title victory, including two crashes and a victory atop Monte Zoncolan. But when it looked as though he was out of contention for the GC, he took a dramatic solo victory during stage 19, attacking 80km from the finish line and stealing the maglia rosa from Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), who cracked on the mountainous parcours to Bardonecchia.

Cyclingnews Films' second production CRESCENDO is available to buy or rent on Vimeo.

CRESCENDO from Cyclingnews Films on Vimeo.


2018 Giro d'Italia stage 21 - Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe2:50:49
2Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step FloorsRow 1 - Cell 2
3Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-AlpecinRow 3 - Cell 2
5Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-SidermecRow 4 - Cell 2
6Sacha Modolo (Ita) EF Education First-Drapac p/b CannondaleRow 5 - Cell 2
7Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Bahrain-MeridaRow 6 - Cell 2
8Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 7 - Cell 2
9Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani CSFRow 8 - Cell 2
10Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step FloorsRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification after stage 21
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky89:02:39
2Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb0:00:46
3Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team0:04:57
4Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar Team0:05:44
5Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Bahrain-Merida0:08:03
6Pello Bilbao (Spa) Astana Pro Team0:11:50
7Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe0:13:01
8George Bennett (NZl) LottoNL-Jumbo0:13:17
9Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb0:14:18
10Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe0:15:16





The 2018 Giro d'Italia travelled outside of Europe for the Grande Partenza for the first time in its 101-year history when it started in Jerusalem's Old City. The Italian Grand Tour started with a 9.7km individual time trial, followed by stage finishes in Tel Aviv and Eilat.

The Giro will take a rest day to travel to Italy with Catania in Siciliy the likely host for the start of stage 4. RCS Sports, the race organizers, have embraced foreign starts in recent decades with the Giro starting in Denmark, Netherlands, Belgium, and Greece.

Reigning Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana champion Chris Froome has confirmed his appearance at the Giro. The route, with 44.2km of time trials and eight mountain finishes, suits the Briton's characteristics but the balanced course also provides opportunities for his rivals.

Of the mountainous finale, Stage 14 features the iconic and testing Monte Zoncolan climb. Although it is stage 19, with Colle delle Finestre and Sestriere climbs, before the Jafferau finish that is arguably the Giro's queen stage. However, there are several more key stages which are tipped to decide the maglia rosa for 2018.

Celebrating the 70th anniversary of the establishment of the state of Israel, the Giro will finish in Rome.

Click here to subscribe to the Cyclingnews podcast.

Official start list

2018 Giro d'Italia Countdown

2018 Giro d'Italia route announcement and reaction

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final 2017 Giro d'Italia general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb90:34:54
2Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team0:00:31
3Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida0:00:40
4Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ0:01:17
5Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin0:01:56
6Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:11
7Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo0:03:41
8Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors0:07:04
9Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott0:08:10
10Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac0:15:17



Top News on the Race

Related Features