TechPowered By

More tech

Swiss Road Championships 2011

Date range:
June 23-26, 2011

June 26, Elite Men Road Race: Kirchdorf 193.6km

Cancellara beats BMC to take the title

Cycling News
June 26, 2011, 15:38 BST,
June 26, 2011, 18:51 BST

Lepard Trek rider betters Morabito and Kohler

It's another win for Fabian Cancellara of Leopard Trek

It's another win for Fabian Cancellara of Leopard Trek

view thumbnail gallery

Fabian Cancellara (Leopard Trek) took his second Swiss national road title on Sunday. The 30-year-old out-sprinted Steve Morabito, of the BMC Racing Team. Third place went to BMC's Martin Kohler, who won the time trial title earlier.

It was an exceptionally hot day in Switzerland, and a group of 15, including most of the big names, got away on the the second of 20 laps, never to be caught.

The race was reduced by two laps to only 176 km, but still only 31 riders, out of 82 starters, ended the race.

On the third-to-last lap, a number of riders were dropped from the group. Cancellara pulled away on the penultimate climb, and only Morabito could go with him. They opened up a comfortable gap and Cancellara had no problem out-sprinting the BMC climber for the victory.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard Trek 4:08:56  
2 Steve Morabito (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
3 Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:01:29  
4 Oliver Zaugg (Swi) Leopard Trek    
5 Martin Elmiger (Swi) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:32  
6 Laurent Beuret (Swi) Atlas Personal 0:01:34  
7 Michael Albasini (Swi) HTC-Highroad 0:01:42  
8 Grégory Rast (Swi) Team RadioShack    
9 Mirco Saggiorato (Swi) Atlas Personal    
10 Ralph Näf (Swi) multivan merida biking team    
11 Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:01:46  
12 Simon Zahner (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:07:45  
13 Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
14 Reto Hollenstein (Swi) Team Vorarlberg 0:13:24  
15 Jan Keller (Swi) Price Your Bike 0:13:31  
16 Noè Gianetti (Swi) Geox-TMC 0:14:47  
17 Mario Birrer (Swi) GS Tanyx Consulting 0:06:10  
18 Andreas Anderegg (Swi) Charvieu Chavanieux Isère Cyclisme 0:06:17  
19 Elias Schmaeh (Swi) Price Your Bike    
20 Bernhard Oberholzer (Swi) Price Your Bike 0:06:27  
21 Roger Devittori (Swi) VC Mendrisio-PL Valli    
22 Guillaume Bourgeois (Swi) Champion System    
23 Sven Schelling (Swi) VC Mendrisio-PL Valli 0:06:30  
24 Andreas Moser (Swi) VC Bützberg/Zaunteam Mittelland 0:06:33  
25 Michael Hofstetter (Swi) Team Hörmann 0:06:47  
26 Guillaume Dessibourg (Swi) Atlas Personal 0:06:57  
27 Yves Mercier (Swi) SCO Dijon Team-Lapierre 0:07:34  
28 Nico Brüngger (Swi) EKZ Racing Team 0:07:45  
29 Romain Beney (Swi) VC Mendrisio-PL Valli    
30 Daniel Henggeler (Swi) Price Your Bike    
31 Patric Kottmann (Swi) GS RUFALEX Rollladen 0:14:03  
DNF Bernhard Furger (Swi) GS RUFALEX Rollladen    
DNF Tristan Marguet (Swi) Marco Polo Cycling Team    
DNF Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team Netapp    
DNF Pirmin Lang (Swi) Atlas Personal    
DNF David Loosli (Swi) Lampre - ISD    
DNF Florian Bolt (Swi) Raiffeisen Bikeshop Studer Raceteam    
DNF Christian Rutschmann (Swi) VMC    
DNF Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing Team    
DNF Bastien Lapaire (Swi) BMC-Hottinger Cycling Team    
DNF Luca Conrad (Swi) EKZ Racing Team    
DNF Joël Frey (Swi) Team Hörmann    
DNF Fabian Herold (Swi) BMC-Hottinger Cycling Team    
DNF Michel Luginbühl (Swi) GS RUFALEX Rollladen    
DNF Lionel Varé (Swi) GS RUFALEX Rollladen    
DNF Roman Müller (Swi) EKZ Racing Team    
DNF Roman Andres (Swi) GS RUFALEX Rollladen    
DNF Andreas Rutishauser (Swi) Price Your Bike    
DNF Damien Corthésy (Swi) VC Orbe    
DNF Roger Nachbur (Swi) VMC Liestal Wirz    
DNF Rolf Kobelt (Swi) VC Mendrisio-PL Valli    
DNF Reto Schwitter (Swi) g.d. cycling sports    
DNF Jörg Peter (Swi) VC Steinmaur/Champion System    
DNF Damiano Barloggio (Swi) VC Arbedo Castione    
DNF Marco Sterchi (Swi) BMC-Hottinger Cycling Team    
DNF Florian Egger (Swi) RMV Hochdorf    
DNF Michaël Baer (Swi) Team Netapp    
DNF Marcel Wyss (Swi) Geox-TMC    
DNF Roger Beuchat (Swi) Champion System    
DNF Kilian Moser (Swi) EKZ Racing Team    
DNF Joris Boillat (Swi) Champion System    
DNF Dominique Stark (Swi) RV Uster / Elektro Zürichsee AG    
DNF Jonathan Fumeaux (Swi) Atlas Personal    
DNF Remo Baumgartner (Swi) VC Pfaffnau - Pneuhaus Frank    
DNF Raymond Künzli (Swi) EKZ Racing Team    
DNF Marco Lippuner (Swi) Team Hörmann    
DNF Lukas Kalt (Swi) Price Your Bike    
DNF Severin Gilg (Swi) BMC-Hottinger Cycling Team    
DNF Michael Alborn (Swi) g.d. cycling sports    
DNF Peter Lüdi (Swi) VC Pfaffnau - Pneuhaus Frank    
DNF Loic Perizzolo (Swi) VC Mendrisio-PL Valli    
DNF Martin Müller (Swi) g.d. cycling sports    
DNF Enea Cambianica (Swi) U.C Valle Seriana A.S.D    
DNF Moreno Angst (Swi) EKZ Racing Team    
DNF Romain Aubert (Swi) GS Ajoie