World Championships: Appelt captures gold medal in junior men's time trial

Germany's Leo Appelt secured the world title in the junior men's time trial at the World Championships in Richmond, Virginia, on Tuesday. He covered the course in a smashing time of 37:45 to take the victory ahead of two US riders. Teammates Adrien Costa finished 17 seconds back for the silver medal, and Brandon McNulty finished 59 seconds back with the bronze medal.

Both Americans said they were somewhat surprised by the German rider's performance. Appelt said he was surprised as well.

"I still can't believe it," he said in the post-race press conference. "I just did my own race, and I was also surprised."

Sergey Rostovstev (Russia) was one of the first over the line, setting a time of 40:55:85. Robert Stannard (New Zealand) surpassed that time by riding 40 faster.

Ilya Gorbushin was the first rider to go under the 40-minute mark with his time of 39:37:68, but he was subsequently beaten by Appelt, who stormed around the course in a time of 37:45:01 (1:52 faster).

Appelt’s time held for the duration of the time trial, and it’s no surprise that he also posted the fastest times at all three intermediate marks on course, holding an average speed of 47.68km/h. In fact, his finishing time would have placed him fourth in the previous day’s under-23 time trial.

McNulty had the second-fastest split at the first intermediate mark and held the silver-medal seat with a time of 38:44 for much of the event until his teammate Costa cruised in with a faster time of 38:02. Costa, who had a strong final half of the race, noted that he had the second fastest times behind Appelt for the final two intermediate marks on course.

South Africa’s Keagan Girdlestone had a consistent performance throughout the intermediate checks, crossing them between seventh and fifth fastest compared to his competitors, but that wasn't good enough to secure the bronze medal.

Gino Mader (Switzerland) had the third-fastest times for the final two splits, behind Appelt and Costa, but it wasn’t enough to make up for his slower start and he ended up finishing fifth on the day.

Appelt, who will be competing in Saturday's junior men's road race, said he's hoping for a another surprise result there. 

"I hope so," he said when asked about Saturday's chance for another gold medal. "There's no pressure no. I can relax for the road race."

To subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel, please click here.

Click here to subscribe to the Cyclingnews podcast on iTunes and here for our complete World Championships coverage.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leo Appelt (Germany)0:37:45.01
2Adrien Costa (United States Of America)0:00:17.22
3Brandon Mcnulty (United States Of America)0:00:59.74
4Keagan Girdlestone (South Africa)0:01:07.73
5Gino Mader (Switzerland)0:01:11.38
6Jasper Philipsen (Belgium)0:01:22.48
7Niklas Larsen (Denmark)0:01:34.70
8Tobias Foss (Norway)0:01:35.73
9Ilya Gorbushin (Kazakhstan)0:01:52.67
10Alexys Brunel (France)0:01:52.82
11Eriks Toms Gavars (Latvia)0:01:57.81
12Matteo Sobrero (Italy)0:02:01.35
13Michael Storer (Australia)0:02:04.62
14Javier Montoya (Colombia)0:02:07.57
15Vadim Pronskiy (Kazakhstan)0:02:15.15
16Julian Cardona (Colombia)0:02:16.07
17Stan Dewulf (Belgium)0:02:16.10
18Pavel Sivakov (Russian Federation)0:02:18.68
19Szymon Wojciech Sajnok (Poland)0:02:20.32
20Torjus Sleen (Norway)0:02:29.71
21Robert Stannard (New Zealand)0:02:30.33
22Nikolay Ilichev (Russian Federation)0:02:30.72
23Pablo Alonso (Spain)0:02:35.13
24James Fouche (New Zealand)0:02:38.24
25Max Singer (Germany)0:02:45.33
26Louis Louvet (France)0:02:49.95
27Derek Gee (Canada)0:02:54.67
28Stefan Bissegger (Switzerland)0:02:57.87
29Jakub Otruba (Czech Republic)0:03:04.92
30El Mehdi Chokri (Morocco)0:03:10.58
31Sergey Rostovtsev (Russian Federation)0:03:10.84
32Anthon Charmig (Denmark)0:03:11.09
33Nicola Conci (Italy)0:03:15.33
34Felix Gall (Austria)0:03:16.75
35Patrick Gamper (Austria)0:03:21.85
36Gustav Andersson (Sweden)0:03:24.55
37Mouhcine El Kouraji (Morocco)0:03:56.79
38Michael O'Loughlin (Ireland)0:03:59.72
39Islam Mansouri (Algeria)0:04:02.51
40Antonio Barac (Bosnia Herzegovnia)0:04:09.81
41David Gabor D. Kovacs (Hungary)0:04:17.08
42Gregory De Vink (South Africa)0:04:23.28
43Simon Tuomey (Ireland)0:04:28.72
44Masahiro Ishigami (Japan)0:04:31.70
45Keitaro Sawada (Japan)0:04:36.50
46Joel Taylor (Canada)0:04:36.52
47Harry Sweeny (Australia)0:04:52.25
48Tegsh-Bayar Batsaikhan (Mongolia)0:05:12.00
49Erik Sierra (Ecuador)0:05:44.51
50Santiago Yeri Mingo (Argentina)0:06:25.22
51Bryan Portilla (Ecuador)0:06:32.91
52Pedro Monteiro Martins (Brazil)0:06:37.63
53Oussama Mansouri (Algeria)0:06:38.48
54Patompob Phonarjthan (Thailand)0:07:09.00
55Marcio Jose Pessoa De Oliveira Filho (Brazil)0:07:17.98
56Yuttana Mano (Thailand)0:08:52.07
57Merrill Jern-E Chua (Singapore)0:09:31.86


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1