Van Aert takes emotional World Championship victory

In what must’ve been the most entertaining cyclo-cross race of the season Wout Van Aert (Belgium) fought back from mid-race mishap to capture the rainbow jersey on home soil in Heusden-Zolder, Belgium. Van Aert was able to shake off Lars van der Haar (Netherlands) at the final climb and finish solo on the former F1 car racing circuit in front of thousands of fans. Defending World champion Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands) sat up just before the finish while riding in third place and he was passed by Kevin Pauwels (Belgium) and veteran Sven Nys (Belgium). Nys rode his final World championships race.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Belgium)1:05:52
2Lars Van Der Haar (Netherlands)0:00:05
3Kevin Pauwels (Belgium)0:00:35
4Sven Nys (Belgium)0:00:39
5Mathieu Van Der Poel (Netherlands)0:00:47
6David Van Der Poel (Netherlands)0:01:03
7Laurens Sweeck (Belgium)0:01:11
8Tom Meeusen (Belgium)0:01:23
9Radomir Simunek (Czech Republic)0:01:37
10Marcel Meisen (Germany)0:01:43
11Clement Venturini (France)0:02:01
12Michael Vanthourenhout (Belgium)0:02:15
13Stan Godrie (Netherlands)0:02:28
14Lars Boom (Netherlands)0:02:37
15Francis Mourey (France)0:02:43
16Michael Boros (Czech Republic)0:02:46
17Thijs Van Amerongen (Netherlands)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Corne Van Kessel (Netherlands)0:02:50
19Philipp Walsleben (Germany)0:03:00
20Steve Chainel (France)0:03:08
21Sascha Weber (Germany)0:03:15
22Julien Taramarcaz (Switzerland)0:03:21
23Stephen Hyde (United States Of America)0:03:31
24Simon Zahner (Switzerland)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Niels Wubben (Netherlands)0:03:40
26Tim Merlier (Belgium)0:03:43
27Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spain)0:03:56
28Ian Field (Great Britain)0:04:04
29Martin Haring (Slovakia)0:04:26
30Lukas Winterberg (Switzerland)0:04:29
31Lars Forster (Switzerland)0:04:46
32Ismael Esteban Aguando (Spain)0:05:10
33Severin Saegesser (Switzerland)0:05:28
34Jeremy Powers (United States Of America)0:05:29
35Yannick Eckmann (United States Of America)0:06:45
36Chris Jongewaard (Australia)0:07:00
37Liam Killeen (Great Britain)0:07:04
38Garry Millburn (Australia)0:07:13
39Travis Livermon (United States Of America)0:07:14
40Aaron Schooler (Canada)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Allen Krughoff (United States Of America)0:07:39
42Jeremy Martin (Canada)-1 Lap
43Anthony Clark (United States Of America)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Christian Helmig (Luxembourg)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Michael Van Den Ham (Canada)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Gusty Bausch (Luxembourg)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Kenneth Hansen (Denmark)-2 Laps
48Mariusz Gil (Poland)Row 47 - Cell 2
49David Fletcher (Great Britain)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Angus Edmond (New Zealand)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Cameron Jette (Canada)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Martin Eriksson (Sweden)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Fredrik Haraldseth (Norway)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Hikaru Kosaka (Japan)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Yu Takenouchi (Japan)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Jeremy Durrin (United States Of America)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Mark McConnell (Canada)-3 Laps
58Karl Heinz Gollinger (Austria)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Philipp Heigl (Austria)Row 58 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1