Zamora wins stage 3 in Mongolia

Stage three of the 2012 Mongolia Bike Challenge proved to be another exciting day of racing. The sun shone brightly on the long line of riders making their way through the semi-arid grasslands and pre-desert landscape.

Riders faced four significant climbs over the 112-kilometer course starting in the Undur Sant Uul Mountains and finishing near the Sharlinggiin Gol River. There were familiar faces at the front of the pack today although there were a few new challengers early on.

At the first GPM at 60 kilometers, the top eight riders had established a substantial lead. Barry Wicks, Kris Sneddon, and Cory Wallace of Team Kona broke away with Pau Zamora of Team Buff, as Carter Hovey of Team MBC Racing p/b Orbea-SMP chased. Hovey caught the lead group and rode with them until the last 20 kilometers when he dropped off the back up the last climb.

At the finish line it was Zamora winning stage three, followed by Sneddon and Wallace. After three stages, Wallace of Kona is leading in the overall cassification.

Full Results (stage only, GC not available)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pau Zamora Perez (Spa)4:13:05
2Kris Sneddon (Can)0:00:01
3Cory Wallace (Can)0:00:02
4Barry Wicks (USA)0:00:03
5Carter Hovey (Can)0:04:21
6Peter Paelinck (Bel)0:09:01
7Tuguldur Tuulkhangai (Mon)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Marcel Hagener (NZl)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Francesc Julia Pascual (Spa)0:16:40
10David Rovira Roqueta (Spa)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Altansukh Altanzul (Mon)0:29:06
12Davide Ghedini (Ita)0:34:19
13Mohamad Razif Bin Mohamad Salleh (Mal)0:34:20
14Sumya Baterdene (Mon)0:39:00
15Batmunkh Batsaikhan (Mon)0:39:32
16Lorenzo Milesi (Swi)0:40:22
17Marcel Farres Dasquens (Spa)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Delgerbayar Sonomtseren (Mon)0:46:27
19Ulziibaatar Jamsran (Mon)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Batmunkh Mijid (Mon)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Liesbeth Hessens (Bel)0:47:05
22Fabio Elmer (Ger)0:51:12
23Steven Pauwels (Bel)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Thomas Wettemann (Ger)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Solongo Tserenlham (Mon)0:52:55
26Ray Giddins (Aus)0:55:38
27Jennifer Crake (Can)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Robert Bleeker (Aus)0:56:30
29Aloyse Albert Schartz (Lux)0:59:49
30Jack Anderson (USA)1:05:15
31Jep Gonzalez Farres (Spa)1:05:56
32Elisabeth Adamson (Aus)1:07:10
33Uwe Geiger (Ger)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Batbayar Lkham-yanjin (Mon)1:09:51
35Thomas Borst (Ger)1:15:35
36Nuo Zhang (Chn)1:19:53
37Ivan Cabanas Gonzalez (Spa)1:21:46
38Edmund Tan (Sin)1:22:00
39Max Richner (Swi)1:22:03
40Alex Ramsey (Aus)1:22:14
41Greg Mckennis (USA)1:22:51
42Marcos Barrio Robles (Spa)1:32:05
43Angel Lopez Santos (Spa)1:32:35
44Iwona Szmyd (Pol)1:32:52
45Johan Walraven (Ned)1:42:23
46Jesus Martin Del Nogal (Spa)1:47:26
47Otgontuya Batbaatar (Mon)2:01:09
48Thierry Lilian Claude Carayol (Fra)2:02:50
49Birgit Richner (Swi)2:18:13
50Kristof/Griet Nootens/Peeters (Bel)2:38:12
51Frances Galache Rejòn (Spa)2:44:27
52Wouter Rijnaerts (Ned)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Jos Van Dijk (Ned)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Marcel Besemer (Ned)4:06:41
55Tommy Tumendemberel (Mon)Row 54 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1