Skip to main content

Leandre Bouchard wins 2017 Crocodile Trophy

Canadian Leandre Bouchard sealed his first Crocodile Trophy victory while Andrew L'Esperance won his third straight stage win to close out the Australian stage race.

"I'm really happy that I was able to take most of my lead across the finish line," said Bouchard who was 15 seconds slower than L'Esperance in the 30km time trial.

"Andrew [L'Esperance] got really strong over the last few days and I really wanted to claim today's stage myself, but am content with the overall victory, of course. It's been a real adventure and I really enjoyed this week."

Bouchard claimed the overall title by 1:16 minutes over L'Esperance with third place going to Ben May who was 2:28:05 in arrears.

Haley Smith (Norco Factory Team) successfully completed the race and sealed the elite women's title as the sole rider in the classification.

The race will move back to its traditional latter spot on the calendar in 2018, taking place 13-20 October 2018.

Full Elite Results

Elite Men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andrew L'Esperance (Can) Forward Racing-Norco0:54:49
2Leandre Bouchard (Can) BH SR Suntour KMC0:00:15
3Ben May (Aus) Bicycle Riders/Specialized/Infinit Nutrition0:07:54
4Mike Blewitt (Aus) Subaru-Marathonmtb.com0:08:17
5Hiroyuki Okamoto (Jpn) Inpulse0:57:08

Elite Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
12Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team1:07:56

Elite men general classification after stage 7
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leandre Bouchard (Can) BH SR Suntour KMC27:16:00
2Andrew L'Esperance (Can) Forward Racing-Norco0:01:16
3Ben May (Aus) Bicycle Riders/Specialized/Infinit Nutrition2:48:05
4Hiroyuki Okamoto (Jpn) Inpulse3:27:42
5Mike Blewitt (Aus) Subaru-Marathonmtb.com4:56:03

Elite women general classification after stage 7
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team32:13:29

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews