Groenewegen sprints to Dutch national road title

23-year-old beats Wouter Wippert in sprint

Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) continued his rich vein of form in his first season at WorldTour level by sprinting to victory at the Dutch national championships on Saturday. 

After a breakaway was caught late on, Groenewegen, who had won six times already in 2016, showed the greatest finishing speed, getting the better of Cannondale's Wouter Wippert. Wim Stroetinga of Continental team Parkhotel Valkenburg opened up the sprint from range but faded to a more distant third. 

The victory means Groenewegen will wear the Dutch national champion's jersey at his debut Tour de France, which gets underway next weekend. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo4:31:20 
2Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
3Wim Stroetinga (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
4Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Team Sky  
5Barry Markus (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
6Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
7Jeroen Meijers (Ned) Rabobank Development Team  
8Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
9Jetse Bol (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
10Johim Ariesen (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
11Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
12Taco Van Der Hoorn (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
13Tim Kerkhof (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
14Maarten Van Trijp (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
15Timo Roosen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
16Twan Brusselman (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
17Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
18Elmar Reinders (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
19Kobus Hereijgers (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
20Jasper Bovenhuis (Ned) An Post-Chainreaction  
21Huub Duyn (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
22Tom Vermeer (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
23Bob Schoonbroodt (Ned) Team 3M0:00:06 
24Michel Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
25Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
26Jaap De Man (Ned) Team 3M  
27Nick Van Der Lijke (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
28Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
29Pim Ligthart (Ned) Lotto Soudal  
30Robbert De Greef (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
31Berden De Vries (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
32Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:00:11 
33Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP - Corendon  
34Pieter Weening (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton0:00:13 
35Remco Te Brake (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
36Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
37Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo  
38Wesley Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
39Lars Boom (Ned) Astana Pro Team0:00:18 
40Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:00:25 
41Dion Beukeboom (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team0:00:30 
42Brian Van Goethem (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton0:00:39 
43Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:41 
44Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:00:59 
45Bram Tankink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
46Albert Timmer (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:01:36 
47Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
48Thomas Leezer (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
49Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:02:13 
50Steven Lammertink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:02:24 
51Dennis Van Winden (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:03:57 
52Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
53Bertjan Lindeman (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:04:14 
54Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
55Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels0:05:11 
56Arno Van Der Zwet (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel0:05:23 
57Rick Van Breda (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
58Dennis Bakker (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
59Martijn Keizer (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
60Wayne Stijns (Ned) Team Differdange - Losch  
61Sven Van Luijk (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
62Luuc Bugter (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
63Yannick Janssen (Ned) Bliz - Merida Pro Cycling  
64Roy Curvers (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin  
65Jarno Gmelich (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
66Thijs Zonneveld (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
67Marinus Cornelis Minnaard (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
68Jens Mouris (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling  
69Harry Sweering (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
70Twan Castelijns (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo  
71Rick Ottema (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
72Reinier Honig (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
73Lars Van De Vall (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
74Michael Vingerling (Ned) Team 3M  
75Tristan Timmermans (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
76Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
77Ivar Slik (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
78Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabobank Development Team  
79Wouter Mol (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
80Peter Schulting (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
81David Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP - Corendon  
82Martijn Tusveld (Ned) Rabobank Development Team  
83Jasper Ockeloen (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
84Jochem Hoekstra (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
85Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
86Rens Te Stroet (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
87Tijmen Eising (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
88Peter Koning (Ned) Drapac Professional Cycling  
89Ike Groen (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
90Thijs Van Beusichem (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
91Joris Blokker (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
92Jim Van Den Berg (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
93Koos Jeroen Kers (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
94Koen Bouwman (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:06:29 
95Daan Meijers (Ned) Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke  
96André Looij (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
97Derk Abel Beckeringh (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
DNFRené Hooghiemster (Ned) Baby-Dump Cyclingteam  
DNFPatrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
DNFJeff Vermeulen (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
DNFJasper Hamelink (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
DNFSjoerd Kouwenhoven (Ned) Metec TKH Continental Cycling Team p/b Mantel  
DNFBram Nolten (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team  
DNFMartijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk  
DNFEtienne Van Empel (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
DNFSjoerd Van Ginneken (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
DNFJohnny Hoogerland (Ned) Roompot - Oranje Peloton  
DNFJacob Buijk (Ned) SIC  
DNFLex Nederlof (Ned) Black Inc Cycling Team  
DNFRien Schuurhuis (Ned) Black Inc Cycling Team  
DNFTim Veldt (Ned)  

Related Articles

Back to top