Van Vleuten wins on the Izoard to take La Course title

Deignan second and Longo Borghini third

Annemiek van Vleuten (Orica Scott) claimed the Women's WorldTour offering of La Course by Tour de France with a dominant performance on the Izoard. The Orica rider made use of some botched tactics from Boels Dolmans on the final climb before jumping clear with around four kilometres to go. Lizzie Deignan, who set the pace for the majority of the climb in a bit to set-up her teammate Megan Guarnier, was unable to follow Van Vleuten's attack and was forced to settle for second. Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5) finished third.

"To finish here at the Tour de France with so many people is amazing," Van Vleuten said after the race. "Especially when before I wasn't a climber but since the Rio Olympic Games when I was able to climb with everyone uphill that inspired me to focus more on the climbing. To organise this uphill finish for the girls on the Tour de France is great.

"To be honest, I regretted that I went so early. I had double tactics in mind because we have the pursuit on Saturday and I wanted to have some time in front also. I knew that everybody was hurting and I thought that it was better to go. If you wait to long then it makes it easier for the others. If have the legs then it's good to go early."

As expected the stage came down to showdown on the Izoard. Only Linda Villumsen was able to break free and the former world time trial champion built up a 30-second lead on the lower slopes of the climb.

Boels Dolmans - mainly through Deignan – set the pace in pursuit and whittled down the lead group to under a dozen riders. However's Deignan's pace was too much for the rest of her team and she was briefly forced to ease up as Guarnier battled back into contention.

Orica, meanwhile, allowed Boels to set the pace and then made use of the confusion before Van Vleuten attacked.

The top riders will now go into a pursuit style time trial on Saturday, with the time gaps decided by the gaps at the finish on the Izoard. 

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica - Scott2:07:18 
2Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:00:43 
3Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:01:23 
4Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:01:28 
5Shara Gillow (Aus) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:01:33 
6Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica - Scott0:01:41 
7Lauren Stephens (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank0:01:51 
8Ana Christina Sanabria Sanchez (Col) Servetto Giusta0:02:24 
9Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) WM3 Procycling0:02:52 
10Hanna Nilsson (Swe) BTC City Ljubljana0:03:04 
11Eri Yonamine (Jpn) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:03:12 
12Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:03:16 
13Janneke Ensing (Ned) Ale Cipollini0:03:38 
14Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Team Sunweb0:04:25 
15Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb0:04:34 
16Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Canyon SRAM Racing  
17Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
18Ursa Pintar (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana  
19Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:04:50 
20Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling0:05:08 
21Nikola Noskova (Cze) Bepink Cogeas  
22Linda Villumsen (NZl) Team Veloconcept Women0:05:15 
23Olena Pavlukhina (Aze) Astana Women's Team0:05:19 
24Katrine Aalerud (Nor) Hitec Products0:05:35 
25Ingrid Drexel (Mex) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank0:05:51 
26Tetiana Riabchenko (Ukr) Lensworld - Kuota0:06:00 
27Juliette Labous (Fra) Team Sunweb0:06:48 
28Ane Santesteban Gonzales (Spa) Ale Cipollini0:06:58 
29Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Lensworld - Kuota0:07:25 
30Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger) Wiggle High5  
31Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita) Astana Women's Team  
32Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High50:07:29 
33Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana0:07:32 
34Antri Christoforou (Cyp) Servetto Giusta0:07:46 
35Alexandra Manly (Aus) Orica - Scott0:08:12 
36Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana0:08:22 
37Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Cylance Pro Cycling0:08:28 
38Carlee Taylor (Aus) Ale Cipollini0:08:37 
39Severine Eraud (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope0:08:55 
40Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank0:09:09 
41Camilla Pedersen (Den) Team Veloconcept Women0:09:14 
42Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam0:09:29 
43Lara Vieceli (Ita) Astana Women's Team0:09:34 
44Rachel Neylan (Aus) Orica - Scott0:09:49 
45Clara Koppenburg (Ger) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:10:04 
46Alison Jackson (Can) Bepink Cogeas0:10:12 
OTLAlice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Lensworld - Kuota  
OTLMarianne Vos (Ned) WM3 Procycling  
OTLJenelle Crooks (Aus) Orica Scott  
OTLSofia Beggin (Ita) Astana Women's Team  
OTLChristine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  
OTLCharlotte Becker (Ger) Hitec Products  
OTLAmelie Rivat (Fra) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
OTLMarion Sicot (Fra) France  
OTLLisa Klein (Ger) Cervelo - Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
OTLGeorgia Williams (NZl) Orica Scott  
OTLSheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Cylance Pro Cycling  
OTLJulia Soek (Ned) Team Sunweb  
OTLAnouska Koster (Ned) WM3 Procycling  
OTLLeah Thorvilson (USA) Canyon SRAM Racing  
OTLAmber Leone Neben (USA) Team Veloconcept Women  
OTLAude Biannic (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope  
OTLLex Albrecht (Can) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
OTLShani Bloch-Davidov (Isr) Team Veloconcept Women  
OTLElena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing  
OTLNathalie Verschelden (Bel) Lensworld - Kuota  
OTLLaura Camila Lozano Ramirez (Col) Servetto Giusta  
OTLCharlotte Bravard (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope  
OTLVictorie Guilman (Fra) FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope  
OTLNikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam  
OTLCyriane Muller (Fra) France  
OTLNatalya Saifutdinova (Kaz) Astana Women's Team  
OTLDaniela Reis (Por) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
OTLAmiliya Iskakova (Kaz) Astana Women's Team  
OTLTatiana Shamanova (Rus) Bepink Cogeas  
OTLJessie Daams (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
OTLJulie Van De Velde (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
OTLIngvild Gåskjenn (Nor) Hitec Products  
OTLNicole Hanselmann (Swi) Cervelo - Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
OTLSilvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink Cogeas  
OTLAnna Potokina (Rus) Servetto Giusta  
OTLLauren Kitchen (Aus) WM3 Procycling  
OTLFanny Leleu (Fra) France  
OTLRozanne Slik (Ned) Team Sunweb  
OTLAlexis Ryan (USA) Canyon SRAM Racing  
OTLValentina Scandolara (Ita) WM3 Procycling  
OTLLucie Lahaye (Fra) France  
OTLClaudia Koster (Ned) Team Veloconcept Women  
OTLKatia Ragusa (Ita) Bepink Cogeas  
OTLTiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon SRAM Racing  
OTLDaiva Tuslaite (Ltu) Ale Cipollini  
OTLSarah Inghelbrecht (Bel) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
OTLChristina Perchtold (Aut) Cervelo - Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
OTLBrianna Walle (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
OTLMarjolaine Bazin (Fra) France  
OTLKseniia Dobrynina (Rus) Servetto Giusta  
OTLAmy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5  
OTLSoraya Paladin (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
OTLMia Radotic (Cro) BTC City Ljubljana  
OTLClemilda Fernandes Silva (Bra) Servetto Giusta  
OTLTereza Medvedova (Svk) Bepink Cogeas  
OTLSara Penton (Swe) Team Veloconcept Women  
OTLUrška Žigart (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana  
OTLBarbara Guarischi (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing  
OTLLaura Asencio (Fra) France  
OTLCecilie Gotaas Johnsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
OTLMarta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
OTLPuck Moonen (Ned) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
OTLWilleke Knol (Ned) Cylance Pro Cycling  
OTLAmy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle High5  
OTLMieke Docx (Bel) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
OTLIsabelle Beckers (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
DNFLucy Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5  
DNFAnna Plichta (Pol) WM3 Procycling  
DNFNicolle Bruderer (Gua) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank  
DNFMolly Weaver (GBr) Team Sunweb  
DNFMartina Stefani (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
DNFAlice Cobb (GBr) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling Team  
DNSKaat Hannes (Bel) Lensworld - Kuota  

Related Articles

Back to top