Pinotti takes sixth Italian time trial title

BMC rider blasts to win ahead of PIrazzi, Malori

Marco Pinotti took his sixth Italian time trial title, using his experience and aptitude against the clock to complete a dominant weekend for his BMC team that secured the road race title on Saturday with Ivan Santaromita.

Pinotti has fought back from a nasty broken collarbone injury and was overlooked for a place in the BMC line-up for the Tour de France but dominated the hilly 39km time trial, beating Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani Valvole-Csf Inox) and Adriano Malori Lampre-Merida), 2012 winner Dario Cataldo (Team Sky) was fourth after being stung on the ear by a wasp during his ride.

Pinotti set a time of 49:04, with Pirazzi finishing in 50:15, Malori in 50:32 and Cataldo in a time of 50:47. He was fastest by 40- seconds at the time split and continued to gain time on his rivals all the way to the finish.

"It was a nice course, tough but fast," Pinotti said.

"I thought about retiring when I had my accident but after the initial tough moment, I put a circle around the date of June 23 on the calendar. Here I am!"

Pinotti spent last week with the Italian national team and his victory in the tricolore time trial should seal him a place in the Italian team for the world road race championships in Florence in September.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marco Pinotti (Ita) BMC Racing Team0:49:04 
2Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:01:11 
3Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre - Merida0:01:28 
4Dario Cataldo (Ita) Sky Procycling0:01:42 
5Manuele Boaro (Ita) Saxo Bank Tinkoff0:01:50 
6Marco Coledan (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:01:52 
7Alan Marangoni (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:02:08 
8Gianluca Leonardi (Ita) Zalf Euromobil Desiree Fior0:02:36 
9Angelo Pagani (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:02:41 
10Nicola Da Santo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia - Fondriest0:03:02 
11Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowicw0:03:04 
12Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:03:45 
13Leonardo Pinizzotto (Ita) Team Nippo0:03:47 
14Moreno Moser (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:04:24 
15Omar Bertazzo (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela0:04:31 
16Patrick Facchini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela0:04:36 
17Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela0:05:15 
18Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Nippo0:05:55 
19Donato De Ieso (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:05:57 
20Christian Delle Stelle (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:07:24 
21Filippo Fortin (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox0:08:12 
22Andrea Di Corrado (Ita) Bardiani Valvole - CSF Inox  

Related Articles

Back to top