Santos Tour Down Under 2016

Latest News from the Race

Tour Down Under 2016 race overview

Tour Down Under 2016

Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) safely negotiated the final stage of the Tour Down Under to claim an unprecedented fourth overall title while his team also celebrated the stage victory with Caleb Ewan.

Ewan powered away from Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) at the end of the final lap of the city-centre circuit, making it six wins from six stages for Australian riders, and four for the Orica-GreenEdge team. Gerrans' overall victory, 10 years on from his first, propels the 35-year-old to the top of the WorldTour standings.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tour Down Under stage 6
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge1:55:02
2Mark Renshaw (Aus) Team Dimension DataRow 1 - Cell 2
3Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek–SegafredoRow 2 - Cell 2
4Adam Blythe (GBr) TinkoffRow 3 - Cell 2
5Alexey Tsatevitch (Rus) Team KatushaRow 4 - Cell 2
6Ben Swift (GBr) Team SkyRow 5 - Cell 2
7Marko Kump (Slo) Lampre–MeridaRow 6 - Cell 2
8Davide Martinelli (Ita) Etixx–Quick-StepRow 7 - Cell 2
9Leigh Howard (Aus) IAM CyclingRow 8 - Cell 2
10Wouter Wippert (Ned) CannondaleRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge19:11:33
2Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team0:00:09
3Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky0:00:11
4Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff0:00:20
5Michael Woods (Can) CannondaleRow 4 - Cell 2
6Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Team Movistar0:00:28
7Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La MondialeRow 6 - Cell 2
8Rafael Valls Ferri (Esp) Lotto Soudal0:00:36
9Steve Morabito (Sui) FDJ0:00:49
10Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale0:00:50

Tour Down Under 2016 start list

The complete, official start list is available here.

Tour Down Under 2016 race tech

The Tour Down Under will be the first WorldTour event of the season in which teams can freely use disc brakes. There is uncertainty over the safety and benefits of disc brakes of which you can read more by clicking here. As the first big race of the season, the Tour Down Under is a great opportunity to have a look at new tech on offer and by clicking here you can find out what to expect from the 2016 edition of the race.

Tour Down Under 2016 stages:

Down Under Classic (Adelaide) – 51 km – Sunday, January 17

Tour Down Under Stage 1 – Prospect to Lyndoch – 130.8 km – Tuesday, January 19

Tour Down Under Stage 4 – Norwood to Victor Harbor – 138 km – Friday, January 22

Tour Down Under Stage 5 – McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill – 151.5 km – Saturday, January 23

 Tour Down Under 2016 Route Map

Tour Down Under race history: 2015 Tour Down Under | 2014 Tour Down Under | 2013 Tour Down Under | Tour Down Under Past winners


Top News on the Race

Related Features