European Champs: Italy dominate team pursuit qualifying as British men crash

Italy got their Track European Championships off to an excellent start, setting the fastest and second fastest times in the women’s and men’s team pursuit qualifying respectively.

The Italian women, Elisa Balsamo, Tatiana Guderzo, Letizia Paternoster and Silvia Valsecchi, out gunned the British squad of Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Eleanor Dickinson and Emily Kay by almost a second, despite a late surge from the British. Germany also rode a fast finish, but it was not enough to make up for their slow start and they finished third, with Poland, who was some five seconds slower than Italy, qualifying fourth.

Italy will face-off against Poland next, with the winner of that bout heading into the gold medal match-up against either Great Britain or Germany. Given their early performances, an Italy, Great Britain duel for Gold looks highly likely. The times of the losers and the other four teams will be ranked with the top two competing for the Bronze medal.

In the men’s team pursuit, France set the benchmark with a time of 3:58.060, which was less than a second quicker than Italy. Russia faded towards the end of their effort, but held on the take third place with Germany not too far behind in fourth place.

The British men looked like they were on course to set a time good enough to keep their medal hopes alive until Andy Tennant crashed on the last lap, leaving the team with just two riders after already dropping Kian Emadi. The team needed at least three riders to finish to set a time. Tennant later said that it was dizziness that had caused him to crash.

“I remember hearing the bell then I don’t remember anything after that,” Tennant told the British Cycling website. “I have been in the paramedic room for the last hour-and-a-half lying down. I’m alright now.”

Day 2 of competition will see the completion of the Team Pursuit, the team sprint, and the women’s elimination and men’s scratch races.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's Team Pursuit Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Thomas Denis
Benjamin Thomas
Florian Maitre
Corentin Ermenault
Liam Bertazzo0:03:58.720
Michele Scartezzini
Francesco Lamon
Filippo Ganna
Alexander Evtushenko0:03:59.434
Mamyr Stash
Dmitrii Sokolov
Sergei Shilov
Felix Gross
Domenic Weinstein
Kersten Thiele
Theo Reinhardt
Julius Johansen
Casper Von Folsach
Casper Pedersen
Niklas Larsen
Claudio Imhof
Cyrille Thiery
Loic Perizzolo
Frank Pasche
Alan Banaszek
Daniel Staniszewski
Szymon Sajnok
Szymon Krawczyk
Kenny De Ketele
Sasha Weemaes
Gerben Thijssen
Lindsay De Vylder
Yauheni Karaliok
Raman Tsishkou
Mikhail Shemetau
Siarhei Papok
Volodymyr Dzhus
Illya Klepikov
Maksym Vasyliev
Roman Gladysh
Vicente Garcia De Mateos Rubio
Illart Zuazubiskar Gallastegi
Albert Torres Barcelo
Sebastian Mora Vedri
Alexandru Niculae Ciocan
Valentin Plesea
Marius-Cristian Petrache
Daniel Crista
DNFGreat Britain
Steven Burke
Andrew Tennant
Mark Stewart
Kian Emadi
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's Team Pursuit Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
Elisa Balsamo
Silvia Valsecchi
Letizia Paternoster
Tatiana Guderzo
2Great Britain0:04:21.219
Katie Archibald
Emily Kay
Eleanor Dickinson
Elinor Barker
Charlotte Becker
Gudrun Stock
Lisa Klein
Lisa Brennauer
Justyna Kaczkowska
Nikol Plosaj
Daria Pikulik
Katarzyna Pawlowska
Laurie Berthon
Coralie Demay
Elise Delzenne
Marion Borras
Gulnaz Badykova
Anastasiia Iakovenko
Alexandra Goncharova
Aleksandra Chekina
Gilke Croket
Saartje Vandenbroucke
Lotte Kopecky
Annelies Dom
Katsiaryna Piatrouskaya
Hanna Tserah
Tatsiana Sharakova
Polina Pivovarova

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1