European Championships: Van Vleuten wins elite women's road race title

Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) took a thrilling victory in the elite women's road race at the UEC European Championships in Plouay. The road race world champion started a long-range sprint on the uphill drag to the finish line to take the win ahead of breakaway companion Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy). Kasia Niewiadoma (Poland) and Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (Netherlands), who were distanced from the decisive breakaway on the final climb, finished third and fourth, respectively.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Provisional Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands) 2:50:46
2Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy)
3Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Poland) 0:00:05
4Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (Netherlands)
5Audrey Cordon-Ragot (France) 0:02:29
6Lisa Brennauer (Germany) 0:03:27
7Lotte Kopecky (Belgium)
8Marianne Vos (Netherlands)
9Elena Cecchini (Italy)
10Amy Pieters (Netherlands)
11Emilia Fahlin (Sweden)
12Christine Majerus (Luxembourg)
13Marta Lach (Poland)
14Elise Chabbey (Switzerland)
15Marlen Reusser (Switzerland)
16Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Denmark)
17Ellen van Dijk (Netherlands)
18Marta Cavalli (Italy)
19Demi Vollering (Netherlands)
20Hannah Barnes (Great Britain)
21Anna van der Breggen (Netherlands) 0:03:32
22Soraya Paladin (Italy) 0:03:36
23Eugenia Bujak (Slovenia) 0:07:34
24Ane Santesteban (Spain)
25Aude Biannic (France) 0:07:39
26Valeriya Kononenko (Ukraine) 0:09:14
27Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Italy) 0:11:49
28Alicia González (Spain)
29Susanne Andersen (Norway)
30Jesse Vandenbulcke (Belgium)
31Amalie Dideriksen (Denmark)
32Monika Brzezna (Poland)
33Rasa Leleivytė (Lithuania)
34Olena Sharga (Ukraine)
35Valerie Demey (Belgium)
36Julie Leth (Denmark)
37Hanna Nilsson (Sweden)
38Eugénie Duval (France)
39Katia Ragusa (Italy)
40Nikola Nosková (Czech Republic)
41Mavi García (Spain)
42Jasinska Małgorzata (Poland)
43Vita Heine (Norway)
44Alice Barnes (Great Britain)
45Melanie Maurer (Switzerland)
46Gladys Verhulst (France)
47Birgitte Krogsgaard (Denmark)
48Clara Koppenburg (Germany)
49Katrine Aalerud (Norway)
50Tatiana Guderzo (Italy) 0:11:53
51Ingrid Lorvik (Norway) 0:13:29

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Kirsten Frattini
Deputy Editor

Kirsten Frattini is the Deputy Editor of Cyclingnews, overseeing the global racing content plan.

Kirsten has a background in Kinesiology and Health Science. She has been involved in cycling from the community and grassroots level to professional cycling's biggest races, reporting on the WorldTour, Spring Classics, Tours de France, World Championships and Olympic Games.

She began her sports journalism career with Cyclingnews as a North American Correspondent in 2006. In 2018, Kirsten became Women's Editor – overseeing the content strategy, race coverage and growth of women's professional cycling – before becoming Deputy Editor in 2023.