Track Worlds Day 4: Ganna wins individual pursuit after tight battle with Bigham

Italy’s Filippo Ganna celebrates winning the elite men’s Individual Pursuit
Italy’s Filippo Ganna celebrates winning the elite men’s Individual Pursuit (Image credit: Getty Images)

Men's Individual Pursuit

Italy’s Filippo Ganna won the elite men’s individual pursuit on day 4 of the UCI World Track Championships at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow. The current world record holder, set at last year’s Track Worlds, celebrated his second consecutive rainbow jersey in the discipline, and his sixth title since 2016.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's Individual Pursuit results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Filippo Ganna (Italy)4:01.976
2Daniel Bigham (Great Britain)4:02.030
3Jonathan Milan (Italy) 4:05.868
4Ivo Manuel Alves Oliveira (Portugal) 4:08.469
5Tobias Buck-Gramcko (Germany)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Conor Leahy (Australia)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Oliver Bleddyn (Australia)
8Felix Gross (Germany)
9Chris Ernst (Canada)
10Manlio Moro (Italy)
11Thomas Sexton (New Zealand)
12Corentin Ermenault (France)
13Claudio Imhof (Switzerland)
14Kacper Majewski (Poland)
15Kazushige Kuboki (Japan)
16Niccolo Galli (Italy)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Michael Foley (Canada)Row 16 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's elimination race results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lotte Kopecky (Belgium)Row 0 - Cell 2
2Valentine Fortin (France)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Jennifer Valente (United States)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Rachele Barbieri (Italy)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Elinor Barker (Great Britain)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Olivija Baleisyte (Lithuania)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Sarah van Dam (Canada)
8Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Norway)
9Lea Lin Teutenberg (Germany)
10Yareli Acevedo Mendoza (Mexico)
11Ebtissam Zayed Ahmed (Egypt)
12Patrycja Lorkowska (Poland)
13Maho Kakita (Japan)
14Gabriela Bartova (Czech Republic)
15Argyro Milaki (Greece)
16Marit Raaijmakers (Netherlands)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Alžbeta Bacikova (Slovakia)Row 16 - Cell 2
18 Nafosat Kozieva (Uzbekistan)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Chloe Moran (Australia)Row 18 - Cell 2
20 Emily Shearman (New Zealand)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Lena Mettraux (Switzerland)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Emily Kay (Ireland)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Laura Rodriguez Cordero (Spain)Row 22 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Women's keirin results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ellesse Andrews (New Zealand)Row 0 - Cell 2
2Martha Bayona (Colombia)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Lea Sophie Friedrich (Germany)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Hetty van der Wouw (Netherlands)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Nicky Degrendele (Belgium)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Mathilde Gros (France)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Kristina Clonan (Australia)
8Steffie van der Peet (Netherlands)
9Kelsey Mitchell (Canada)
10Alessa-Catriona Propster (Germany)
11Riyu Ohta (Japan)
12Emma Hinze (Germany)
13Lauriane Genest (Canada)
13Luz Daniela Gaxiola Gonzalez (Mexico)
13Mina Sato (Japan)
16Katy Marchant (Great Britain)Row 15 - Cell 2
16Miriam Vece (Italy)Row 16 - Cell 2
16Emma Finucane (Great Britain)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Veronika Jabornikova (Czech Republic)Row 18 - Cell 2
19 Helena Casas Roige (Spain)Row 19 - Cell 2
19Cho Yiu Yeung (Hong Kong)Row 20 - Cell 2
19Marlena Karwacka (Poland)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Taky Marie Divine Kouame (France)Row 22 - Cell 2
23Fuko Umekawa (Japan)Row 23 - Cell 2
23Nurul Izzah Izzati Mohd Asri (Malaysia)Row 24 - Cell 2
23Urszula Los (Poland)Row 25 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
1LEITAO Iuri40
2Oliver Wood (Great Britain)38
3Tim Torn Teutenberg (Germany)36
4Vincent Hoppezak (Netherlands)34
5Dylan Bibic (Canada)32
6Niklas Larsen (Denmark)30
7Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)28
8Shunsuke Imamura (Japan)26
9Benjamin Thomas (France)24
10Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spain)22
11Elia Viviani (Italy)20
12Kelland O'Brien (Australia)18
13Tim Wafler (Austria)16
14Daniel Crista (Romania)14
15Alan Banaszek (Poland)12
16Artyom Zakharov (Kazakhstan)10
17Fabio van den Bossche (Belgium)8
18Valere Thiebaud (Switzerland)8
19Gavin Hoover (United States of America)8
20Ricardo Pena Salas (Mexico)2
21Ka yu Leung (Hong Kong)DNF
22Bernard Benyamin van Aert (Indonesia)DNF
23Akil Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago)DNF
24Ahmed Almansoori (United Arab Emirates)DNF
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Tempo Race
RankRider (Country)Points
1Iuri Leitao (Portugal)40
2Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spain)38
3Shunsuke Imamura (Japan)36
4Niklas Larsen (Denmark)34
5Benjamin Thomas (France)32
6Fabio van den Bossche (Belgium)30
7Dylan Bibic (Canada)28
8Vincent Hoppezak (Netherlands)26
9Elia Viviani (Italy)24
10Alan Banaszek (Poland)22
11Oliver Wood (Great Britain)20
12Tim Torn Teutenberg (Germany)18
13Tim Wafler (Austria)16
14Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)14
15Valere Thiebaud (Switzerland)12
16Gavin Hoover (United States of America)10
17Ricardo Pena Salas (Mexico)8
18Daniel Crista (Romania)6
19Ahmed Almansoori (United Arab Emirates)4
20Akil Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago)2
21Kelland o Brien (Australia)1
22Artyom Zakharov (Kazakhstan)1
23Ka yu Leung (Hong Kong)1
24Bernard Benyamin van Aert (Indonesia)1
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elimination Race
1Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)40
2Iuri Leitao (Portugal)38
3Kelland o Brien (Australia)36
4Dylan Bibic (Canada)34
5Vincent Hoppezak (Netherlands)32
6Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spain)30
7Tim Torn Teutenberg (Germany)28
8Oliver Wood (Great Britain)26
9Benjamin Thomas (France)24
10Elia Viviani (Italy)22
11Shunsuke Imamura (Japan)20
12Tim Wafler (Austria)18
31Fabio van den Bossche (Belgium)16
14Artyom Zakharov (Kazakhstan)14
15Akil Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago)12
16Bernard Benyamin van Aert (Indonesia)10
17Gavin Hoover (United States of America)8
18Valere Thiebaud (Switzerland)6
19Ricardo Pena Salas (Mexico)4
20Daniel Crista (Romania)2
21Ahmed Almansoori (United Arab Emirates)1
22Niklas Larsen (Denmark)1
23Ka yu Leung (Hong Kong)1
24Alan Banaszek (Poland)1
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final standings
1Iuri Leitao (Portugal)187
2Benjamin Thomas (France)185
3Shunsuke Imamura (Japan)173
4Niklas Larsen (Denmark)170
5Vincent Hoppezak (Netherlands)160
6Elia Viviani (Italy)158
7Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spain)157
8Fabio van den Bossche (Belgium)155
9Oliver Wood (Great Britain)144
10Tim Torn Teutenberg (Germany)128
11Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)125
12Alan Banaszek (Poland)117
13Dylan Bibic (Canada)115
14Tim Wafler (Austria)92
15Kelland o Brien (Australia)75
16Gavin Hoover (United States of America)71
17Valere Thiebaud (Switzerland)47
18Daniel Crista (Romania)42
19Artyom Zakharov (Kazakhstan)25
20Ricardo Pena Salas (Mexico)14
21Bernard Benyamin van Aert (Indonesia)-25
22Akil Campbell (Trinidad & Tobago)-25
23Ka yu Leung (Hong Kong)DNF
24Ahmed Almansoori (United Arab Emirates)DNF

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Lyne Lamoureux

Lyne has been involved in professional cycling for more than 15 years in both news reporting and sports marketing. She founded Podium Insight in 2008, quickly becoming a trusted source for news of the North American professional cycling world. She was the first to successfully use social media to consistently provide timely and live race updates for all fans. She is proud to have covered men's and women's news equally during her tenure at the helm of the site. Her writing has appeared on Cyclingnews and other news sites.