Gilbert wins world championship in Valkenburg

Philippe Gilbert (Belgium) pulled on cycling's rainbow jersey with a perfectly-timed attack to win the 2012 world championships in Valkenburg, Holland. The Belgian attacked on the final ascent of the Cauberg, distancing a select group of pre-race favourites. Edvald Boasson Hagan (Norway) and Alejandro Valverde (Spain) rounded out the medals, while defending champion Mark Cavendish (Great Britain) abandoned after working for his team in the first half of the race.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Philippe Gilbert (Belgium)6:10:41
2Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)0:00:04
3Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spain)0:00:05
4John Degenkolb (Germany)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Lars Boom (Netherlands)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Allan Davis (Australia)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Thomas Voeckler (France)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Ramunas Navardauskas (Lithuania)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Colombia)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Oscar Freire Gomez (Spain)