Thomas Pidcock seals U23 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships

Thomas Pidcock (Great Britain) captured the rainbow stripes at the 2019 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Bogense, Denmark. He won solo ahead of Eli Iserbyt (Belgium) and Antoine Benoîts (France) and took the second British gold medal at the Bogense World championships. The 19-year-old elite British champion destroyed the opposition in what was anticipated to become a duel with defending world champion Eli Iserbyt (Belgium).

"I think I was going pretty good. I wasn't nervous but excited yesterday. Today I was so nervous. [...] This is the last jersey available for the season. It feels good. Now I can get the rainbow stripes back on," Pidcock said in the post-race flash interview.

During the opening laps, Iserbyt tried to make the difference as he kept the pace high up front. Behind him, Pidcock was tucked in the wheels in a large group of thirteen riders. The race blew apart when Pidcock suddenly entered the first pit area and switched bikes at the beginning of the third lap. It cost him his spot in front of the group. Iserbyt didn't hesitate and accelerated once more. Kevin Kuhn (Switzerland) and others were unable to hold Iserbyt's wheel and for the first time in the 50-minutes race there was a sole leader.

When hitting the fourth of eight laps, Pidcock hit the front in the chase group that trailed leader Iserbyt by six seconds. The decisive moment came when the riders hammered through a long crosswind section along the seafront.

Pidcock stood on the pedals and blew a struggling Jakob Dorigoni (Italy) off his wheel. He continued his efforts and went up and over a baffled Iserbyt.

In the following technical section with power climbs, Pidcock opened up the gap. A few minutes later, Pidcock hit the fifth lap while enjoying a lead of twenty seconds over a chase group with Iserbyt, Dorigoni, Benoîts and Loris Rouiller (Switzerland). The world title seemed in the pocket for Pidcock and in the closing laps he controlled his lead and cruised to his first world title in the Under-23 category.

"I had a bit problems with my gears so I changed bikes. But all was going well and it all went alright. I figured out from the races that when in the wheels I just make mistakes so I'd better be in the front so I thought to go to the front now. I really like this course actually. We came here expecting it to be cold and snowy. It was muddy. It was still good cross. I like it," Pidcock said.

In the battle for the remaining podium spots, Iserbyt repeatedly accelerated but mistakes often cost him his bonus. During the penultimate lap, Iserbyt was finally alone and headed for silver. A little later Antoine Benoîts managed to drop Dorigoni and last year's runner-up Tomas Kopecky (Czech Republic) to grab the final podium spot.


Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Thomas Pidcock (Great Britain)0:47:42
2Eli Iserbyt (Belgium)0:00:15
3Antoine Benoist (France)0:00:23
4Tomas Kopecký (Czech Republic)0:00:31
5Jakob Dorigoni (Italy)0:00:35
6Ben Turner (Great Britain)0:00:38
7Ryan Kamp (Netherlands)0:00:46
8Loris Rouiller (Switzerland)0:00:56
9Thomas Mein (Great Britian)0:01:07
10Niels Vandeputte (Belgium)0:01:22
11Lander Loockx (Belgium)0:01:32
12Gage Hecht (United States of America)0:01:36
13Maik Van Der Heijden (Netherlands)0:01:51
14Kevin Kuhn (Switzerand)0:01:57
15Andreas Goeman (Belgium)0:01:59
16Spencer Petrov (United States of America)0:02:01
17Tim Van Dijke (Netherlands)0:02:16
18Ivan Feijoo Alberte (Spain)0:02:19
19Daniel Tulett (Great Britain)0:02:23
20Sandy Dujardin (France)0:02:35
21Roel Van Der Stegen (Netherlands)0:02:38
22Lance Haidet (United States of America)0:02:46
23Cooper Willsey (United States of America)0:02:50
24Brannan Fix (United States of America)0:02:53
25Mees Hendrikx (Netherlands)0:03:02
26Josef Jelínek (Czech Republic)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Matthieu Legrand (France)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Gunnar Holmgren (Canada)0:03:13
29Timo Kielich (Belgium)0:03:14
30Cameron Mason (Great Britain)0:03:16
31Nicolas Kess (Luxembourg)0:03:25
32Matej Ulik (Slovakia)0:03:26
33Daniel Mayer (Czech Republic)0:03:27
34Antonio Folcarelli (Italy)0:03:28
35Jofre Cullell Estape (Spain)0:03:33
36Eddy Fine (France)0:03:46
37Niels Derveaux (Belgium)0:03:50
38Félix Schreiber (Luxembourg)0:03:51
39Sam Noel (United States of America)0:04:00
40Stefano Sala (Italy)0:04:04
41David Conroy (Ireland)0:04:24
42Andreas Lund Andresen (Denmark)0:04:30
43Tyler Orschel (Canada)0:04:33
44Balázs Vas (Hungary)0:04:34
45Maximilian Möbis (Germany)0:04:35
46Hijiri Oda (Japan)0:04:47
47Jakub Říman (Czech Republic)0:04:50
48Mickaël Crispin (France)0:04:57
49Christian Duus Storgaard (Denmark)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Xabier Murias Garcia (Spain)0:05:21
51Emil Lindgren (Sweden)0:05:23
52Nicholas Smith (Australia)0:05:24
53Rasmus Wulff Nørholm Gøtke (Denmark)0:05:27
54Pascal Tömke (Germany)0:05:30
55Loïs Dufaux (Switzerland)0:05:39
56Simon Bak (Denmark)0:06:17
57Alfred Thoft Christiansen (Denmark)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Mikuya Egoshi (Japan)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Koutarou Murakami (Japan)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Jonatan Östlund (Sweden)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Adam Blazevic (Australia)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Declan Prosser (Australia)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Gustaf Darrasson (Iceland)Row 62 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1