Clementz and Martin win Trans Provence opener

Jerome Clementz (Cannondale Overmountain/Mavic) and Anke Martin (Juliana Bicycles) won the first day of the Trans Provence enduro stage race.  In the men's category, Clementz beat Nicolas Lau (Cube Action Team) and Fabian Barel (Canyon Factory Enduro Team/Mavic).  In the women's race, Martin beat Kelli Emmet (Giant) and Emily Horridge (Transition Bikes).

In the description for Day 1 of 2013 Trans-Provence, the route is described as a "baptism of fire". While there was no brimstone or flames, like last year, this Sunday did provide riders with high mountain cols and more of that infamous biblical weather.

For 2013, the Trans-Provence Day 1 had three new special stages for riders. Spread over 50km with nearly 1800 metres of climbing, it's a reminder to riders new to the event and seasoned vets, that the event is as much about fitness as downhill technical prowess.

Morning saw the first wave of riders up for breakfast at 6:00 am and leaving base camp for the morning uplift, from the drop off, a 300m climb lead riders to the first col of the day and special stage one.

Special Stage 1 took riders away from the traditional route and dropped them into a new valley for the event. A loose exposed line of singletrack dropped riders via some very exposed right turn switchbacks in to path that traversed a broken river bed before finishing in lush meadowland and a fireroad.

After dropping 400m on trails and then another 300m on fire road, to get to Special Stage 2, riders faced an 800m climb to reach a col between two hills and the next timing station (the timing device that riders press their timing chip against at the start of each stage).

A combination of tarmac, then broken fire road and finally a carry, saw the first wave of riders reach the col at 1700m and once again like last year, the skies opened and the wind roared, and continued like that for the next few hours.

Regardless of weather, Special Stage 2 was fast, after dropping across open hillside, the trail plummetted through sparse woodland and through small rock gardens, before traversing along the river, with a now already notorious fast right hander, that despite warnings, had many riders off and over the edge of the track and having to climb back up from the hillside below to get back to the trail. After crossing the riverbed another long fast traverse finally dropped riders down the the road, and a chance to get some respite from the weather.

The final two stages saw a destination revisited - Donkey Darko - but by a new route, and with a third Special Stage added in along the way - after some steep fireroad, riders reach the traditional ridge that finally gains them access to Special Stage 4, to add a little more "spice" to the day a small trail off to one side of the ridge becomes Special Stage 3 via a wooded gully with a steep (or "physical section" as described in the route! ) climb to finish.

Special Stage 4 the classic. Donkey Darko. From high above Digne-Les-Bains, riders dropped across meadow into a rock band before finally diving down a trail that drops steeply down the sides of a ravine. The only thing that we can think of that Donkey Darko doesn't have is loam. Other than that, everything else that people love about riding is right there between the ravine walls. Switchbacks, rock gardens, fast straightways on ribbons of single tracks, open hillsides, and pine forests, all available to be taken at speed.

Tomorrow involves a slightly less gruelling day and supposedly better weather.

MAVIC® TRANS-PROVENCE 2013 /// DAY 1 (opens in new tab) from Trans-Provence (opens in new tab) on Vimeo (opens in new tab).

MAVIC® TRANS-PROVENCE 2013 /// DAY 1 (opens in new tab) from Trans-Provence (opens in new tab) on Vimeo (opens in new tab).

Day 1 and GC after Day 1Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jérôme Clementz (Cannondale Overmountain / Mavic)0:37:58
2Nicolas Lau (Cube Action Team)0:00:27
3Fabien Barel (Canyon Factory Enduro Team / MAVIC)0:00:46
4Geoff Kabush (Scott-3Rox Racing)0:01:34
5François Bailly-Maitre (BMC Trailcrew)0:01:39
6Jamie Nicoll (Santa Cruz Bicycles)0:01:51
7Florian Golay (BMC Trailcrew)0:03:17
8Mark Weir (Cannondale Overmountain / WTB)0:03:32
9Manuel Fumic (Cannondale Factory Racing)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Adam Craig (Giant Factory Off-Road Team)0:03:33
11Ben Cruz (Cannondale Overmountain / WTB)0:03:56
12Anton Cooper (Cannondale Factory Racing)0:04:09
13Alex Stock (Kona)0:04:50
14Maxi Dickerhoff (Canyon Factory Enduro Team)0:05:54
15Guillaume Farin (BMC Trailcrew)0:06:37
16Nico Prudencio (Team Giant Chile)0:08:05
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anka Martin (Juliana Bicycles)0:49:13
2Kelli Emmett (Giant Factory Off-Road Team)0:00:29
3Emily Horridge (Transition Bikes)0:01:25
4Pauline Dieffenthaler (Cannondale / MAVIC)0:05:33
5Nadine Sapin (la Roue Libre)0:09:49
6Mary-Anne Hunter (Juliana Bicycles)0:21:54
7Fay Cunningham0:30:34
8Catherine West0:31:25
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Chris Ball (Santa Cruz Bicycles)0:41:21
2Oliver Munnik0:03:41
3Tom Haukom0:04:19
4Stu Thomson (MTB Cut / Orange)0:04:36
5Nick Gibson0:04:46
6Mikko Kupiainen0:05:01
7Ole Christian Fagerli0:05:28
8Paul Smail0:05:47
9Matt Patterson0:05:50
10Tilmann Schwab0:06:14
11Gaute Reitan0:06:23
12Paul Angus0:06:43
13Joe Bowman0:07:05
14Kevin Moran0:07:49
15Afonso Ferreira0:08:25
16Øyvind Aas0:08:26
17Will Ockelton (Santa Cruz Bicycles)0:09:18
18Lester Perry0:09:39
19Simo Sohkanen0:10:10
20Jon Cancellier (SRAM)0:10:13
21Jeff Calam0:10:42
22Tim KeltonRow 21 - Cell 2
23Mickey Fan0:10:52
24Jon Stevens0:11:31
25Rodrigo Cabello0:14:24
26Vadim Savelyev0:14:28
27Andy Waterman0:14:45
28Tony Gjessvag0:16:51
29Lee Jordan0:21:54
30Guti Martin0:25:22
31Helmar Jungfer0:26:34
32Ben Macinnis0:27:05
33Paul Tiffin0:35:30
34Todd Seplavy0:36:39
35Johannes Riebl (Orbea Enduro Crew)0:41:15
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Masters 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1François Dola (la Roue Libre)0:44:45
2Sven Martin (Santa Cruz Bicycles)0:00:24
3Jonny Waghorn0:05:19
4Plons Racing0:05:30
5Othmar Kuenzli0:05:35
6Seb Ramsay0:06:06
7Raphael Imbs (TannenBike)0:06:18
8Luke Harrison0:09:12
9Björn Becker0:13:49
10Jörg Schueller0:14:47
11Tomas Ljungdahl0:17:04
12Cooper Fowler0:29:50


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews