Smet wins stage 5

Belgian veteran Guy Smet (Flanders Avia) captured Thursday's stage 5 of the Tour of Rwanda from Muhanga (Gitarama) to Huye (Butare). After a 32-kilometer solo breakaway, he succeeded in winning, 1:08 ahead Team of Rwanda's Obed Ruvogera and 2:53 ahead of Frenchman Adrien Muffat (Team Reine Blanche).

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Guy Smet (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team1:49:54
2Obed Ruvogera (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:01:08
3Adrien Muffat (Fra) Rhone Alpes0:02:53
4Weldemikael Weyo (Eth) Ethiopia National TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Jean De Dieu Uwimana (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:03:24
6Getachew Atsbha (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:03:52
7Tedros Redae (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:03:56
8Dylan Girdlestone (RSA) Team MTN QhubekaRow 7 - Cell 2
9Joseph Rosskopf (USA) Team Type 1 - SanofiRow 8 - Cell 2
10Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Team MTN QhubekaRow 9 - Cell 2
11Kbrom Giday (Eth) Ethiopia National TeamRow 10 - Cell 2
12Kiel Reijnen (USA) Team Type 1 - SanofiRow 11 - Cell 2
13Emile Bintunimana (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:04:08
14Aléxis Chenevier (Fra) Rhone Alpes0:04:13
15Nicodem Habiyambere (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 14 - Cell 2
16Abraham Ruhumuriza (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 15 - Cell 2
17Emmanuel Rudahunga (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 16 - Cell 2
18Benjamin Kogo (Ken) Kenya National TeamRow 17 - Cell 2
19Suleiman Kangangi (Ken) Kenya National TeamRow 18 - Cell 2
20Richard Laizer (Tan) Tanzania National TeamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Alem Abebe (Eth) Ethiopia National TeamRow 20 - Cell 2
22Gasore Hategeka (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 21 - Cell 2
23Nderi Zakayo Mwai (Ken) Kenya National TeamRow 22 - Cell 2
24Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda KarisimbiRow 23 - Cell 2
25Paul Agorir (Ken) Kenya National TeamRow 24 - Cell 2
26Samwel Ekiru (Ken) Kenya National Team0:04:36
27Stanley Namanyana (RSA) Team MTN QhubekaRow 26 - Cell 2
28Samwel Mwangi (Ken) Kenya National TeamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Damien Fol (Fra) Rhone AlpesRow 28 - Cell 2
30Bram Delie (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling TeamRow 29 - Cell 2
31Msgena Kindeya (Eth) Ethiopia National TeamRow 30 - Cell 2
32Hamisi Mkoma (Tan) Tanzania National TeamRow 31 - Cell 2
33Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda AkageraRow 32 - Cell 2
34Diego Van Looy (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling TeamRow 33 - Cell 2
35John Kitivei (Tan) Tanzania National TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36David Nkurunziza (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:04:48
37Janvier Hadi (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:04:52
38Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:04:53
39Alex Bowden (USA) Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:05:19
40Jérémy Burton (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling TeamRow 39 - Cell 2
41Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka0:05:27
42James Tennent (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka0:05:43
43Antonin Azam (Fra) Rhone AlpesRow 42 - Cell 2
44Innocent Uwamungu (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:08:29
DNSLoto Petrus (Nam) Team MTN QhubekaRow 44 - Cell 2
DNSWilliam Dugan (USA) Team Type 1 - SanofiRow 45 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Mountain 1 - Entrée de Huye, 71.1km
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Guy Smet (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team7pts
2Obed Ruvogera (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera5Row 1 - Cell 3
3Weldemikael Weyo (Eth) Ethiopia National Team3Row 2 - Cell 3
4Adrien Muffat (Fra) Rhone Alpes1Row 3 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rwanda Akagera5:38:22
2Flanders Avia Cycling Team0:00:32
3Ethiopie National Team0:02:01
4Rhone Alpes0:03:02
5Team MTN Qhubeka0:03:48
6Rwanda Karisimbi0:03:59
7Kenya National TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:04:05
9Tanzanie National Team0:04:45
Swipe to scroll horizontally
General classification after stage 5
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joseph Rosskopf (USA) Team Type 1 - Sanofi13:39:21
2Kiel Reijnen (USA) Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:00:04
3Dylan Girdlestone (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka0:00:28
4Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:01:19
5Gasore Hategeka (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:01:22
6Abraham Ruhumuriza (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:02:06
7Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Team MTN Qhubeka0:03:04
8Nicodem Habiyambere (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:03:43
9Aléxis Chenevier (Fra) Rhone Alpes0:03:44
10Benjamin Kogo (Ken) Kenya National Team0:03:54
11Emmanuel Rudahunga (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:04:03
12Tedros Redae (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:04:35
13Suleiman Kangangi (Ken) Kenya National Team0:05:47
14Samwel Ekiru (Ken) Kenya National Team0:06:21
15Janvier Hadi (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi0:08:55
16Kbrom Giday (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:09:37
17Nderi Zakayo Mwai (Ken) Kenya National Team0:10:45
18Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka0:12:27
19Weldemikael Weyo (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:14:55
20Samwel Mwangi (Ken) Kenya National Team0:16:12
21Alem Abebe (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:17:53
22Getachew Atsbha (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:18:35
23Joseph Biziyaremye (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:20:45
24Guy Smet (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team0:20:54
25Antonin Azam (Fra) Rhone Alpes0:21:30
26Obed Ruvogera (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:21:35
27Paul Agorir (Ken) Kenya National Team0:22:10
28Richard Laizer (Tan) Tanzania National Team0:28:02
29Bram Delie (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team0:28:45
30Jean De Dieu Uwimana (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:31:31
31Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:33:12
32Msgena Kindeya (Eth) Ethiopia National Team0:34:24
33Adrien Muffat (Fra) Rhone Alpes0:35:09
34James Tennent (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka0:37:17
35Emile Bintunimana (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:38:23
36Innocent Uwamungu (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:38:57
37David Nkurunziza (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera0:52:01
38Hamisi Mkoma (Tan) Tanzania National Team0:56:53
39Jérémy Burton (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team0:58:37
40Diego Van Looy (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team1:00:02
41Stanley Namanyana (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka1:02:16
42Alex Bowden (USA) Team Type 1 - Sanofi1:02:19
43Damien Fol (Fra) Rhone Alpes1:06:15
44John Kitivei (Tan) Tanzania National Team1:45:50
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Mountains classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Team MTN Qhubeka76pts
2Gasore Hategeka (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi62Row 1 - Cell 3
3Dylan Girdlestone (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka52Row 2 - Cell 3
4Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Team MTN Qhubeka43Row 3 - Cell 3
5Kiel Reijnen (USA) Team Type 1 - Sanofi36Row 4 - Cell 3
6Kbrom Giday (Eth) Ethiopia National Team31Row 5 - Cell 3
7Emmanuel Rudahunga (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi29Row 6 - Cell 3
8Weldemikael Weyo (Eth) Ethiopia National Team26Row 7 - Cell 3
9Alem Abebe (Eth) Ethiopia National Team21Row 8 - Cell 3
10Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi17Row 9 - Cell 3
11Richard Laizer (Tan) Tanzania National Team17Row 10 - Cell 3
12Nicodem Habiyambere (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi15Row 11 - Cell 3
13Abraham Ruhumuriza (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi14Row 12 - Cell 3
14Guy Smet (Bel) Flanders Avia Cycling Team7Row 13 - Cell 3
15Getachew Atsbha (Eth) Ethiopia National Team7Row 14 - Cell 3
16Obed Ruvogera (Rwa) Rwanda Akagera5Row 15 - Cell 3
17Msgena Kindeya (Eth) Ethiopia National Team5Row 16 - Cell 3
18Aléxis Chenevier (Fra) Rhone Alpes4Row 17 - Cell 3
19Janvier Hadi (Rwa) Rwanda Karisimbi1Row 18 - Cell 3
20Paul Agorir (Ken) Kenya National Team1Row 19 - Cell 3
21Adrien Muffat (Fra) Rhone Alpes1Row 20 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Teams classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rwanda Karisimbi41:02:00
2Team Type 1 - Sanofi0:02:34
3Kenya National Team0:08:15
4Team MTN Qhubeka0:11:03
5Ethiopie National Team0:16:39
6Rhone Alpes0:55:11
7Rwanda Akagera1:01:37
8Flanders Avia Cycling Team1:38:07
9Tanzanie National Team3:05:58

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews