Skip to main content

Mavi García completes the double at Spanish nationals

Mavi Garcia on the attack at Strade Bianche Women 2020
Mavi Garcia on the attack at Strade Bianche Women 2020 (Image credit: Strade Bianche)

Mavi García (Alé BTC Liubliana) pulled off the double at the Spanish national championships, triumphing in the road race 24 hours after winning the time trial title. 

The 36-year-old crossed the line solo for her second national road race title after a previous victory in 2016. 

Ane Santesteban (Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling de Alemania) settled for silver after being dispatched by García in the finale, while Eider Merino (Movistar) took bronze, nearly four minutes back. 

García broke away with Santesteban with 40km to go on the 104km course in Andalucía, putting Movistar, the strongest collective on paper, on the back foot. The pair had a lead of three minutes with 25km to go and the group behind lacked cohesion, with multiple attacks coming and going. 

WIth 6km to go, García made use of a short late climb to attack Santesteban, and dispatched her with ease. She went on to raise her arms aloft, alone, some 2:10 ahead, while Merino came home for bronze at 3:50. 

"I liked the course a lot, it was very very hard in the end. My power meter failed, so I had no idea of my watts, and didn't have good time references, so I just gave it everything. I reached the line more tired than ever but very happy."

In the U23 event, which was taking place within the same race, there was another double, as Sara Martín similarly backed up a Friday time trial title with road race victory in a sprint.

Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Margarita Victoria Garcia Cañellas (Spa) Ale' BTC Ljubljana 2:53:21
2Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) Ceratizit-WNT Pro 0:02:11
3Eider Merino Cortazar (Spa) Movistar Team Women 0:03:50
4Irene Mendez (Spa) Rio Miera-meruelo-canta 0:04:10
5Lydia Iglesias (Spa) Cronos-casa Dorada w.C. 0:07:21
6Alicia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Movistar Team Women 0:08:30
7Almudena Montalvo (Spa) Fitstudio Cde 0:08:49
8Lucia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:11:58
9Mireia Benito Pellicer (Spa) Massi Tactic Women Team 0:12:03
10Aida Nuño Palacio (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte 0:12:08
11Elena Perez Muñoz (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte 0:12:29
12Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Movistar Team Women 0:12:49
13Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez (Spa) Movistar Team Women 0:17:52
14Patricia Ortega Ruiz (Spa) Massi Tactic Women Team 0:18:22
15Enara Lopez (Spa) Cronos-casa Dorada w.C. 0:19:26
16Laura Marti (Spa) Baix ter Club Ciclista
17Annabel Marti (Spa) Baix ter Club Ciclista 0:22:18
18Paula Diaz Lopez (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte 0:26:07
19Cristina Pujol (Spa) Farto-aguas do Paraño 0:26:21

U23 Women
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sara Martin Martin (Spa) Sopela Women's Team 2:59:58
2Mireia Trias Jordan (Spa) Massi Tactic Women Team
3Paula Suarez (Spa) Laboral Kutxa-f. Euskadi 0:00:34
4Sandra Alonso (Spa) Cronos-casa Dorada W.C. 0:04:46
5Susana Perez Conejero (Spa) Rio Miera-Cantabria Deporte
6Martina Moreno (Spa) Baix ter, Club Ciclista 0:04:51
7Isabel Martin Martin (Spa) Massi Tactic Women Team 0:05:21
8Emma Ortiz Bonilla (Spa) Sopela Women's Team 0:16:30
9Paula Soler (Spa) Eneicat - rbh Global 0:19:30
10Ariana Gilabert Vilaplana (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:19:44
11Iurani Blanco Calbet (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango
12Eukene Larrarte (Spa) Eneicat - RBH Global

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1


Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews