Skip to main content

Beppu takes his second title

Team RadioShack's Fumiyuki Beppu is the new Japanese professional road champion.

Beppu beat three other riders in the sprint in Hachimantai. Team Europcar's Yukiya Arashiro was second and Miyataka Shimizu (Bridgestone-Anchor) was third.

It's Beppu's second victory in the national road race championship and his second national championship double. He also won this year’s time trial and so repeated his achievement of 2006 when he won both titles.

Beppu became the first Japanese rider to complete the Tour de France along with in 2009, along with Yukiya Arashiro. He completed the Giro d’Italia this year and arrived in Japan in great shape. Beppu will now return and wear his distinctive Japanese champion’s jersey for the first time at the Tour of Austria that starts on Sunday July 3.

Full Results

Japan men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Team RadioShack5:13:05
2Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Team Europcar
3Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
4Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
5Nariyuki Masuda (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen0:00:03
6Yuzuru Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:00:06
7Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:00:13
8Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Terengganu Cycling Team0:00:17
9Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor0:00:23
10Takeaki Ayabe (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:00:25
11Yusuke Hatanaka (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:00:29
12Nara Motoi (Jpn) Terengganu Cycling Team
13Tomohiro Hayakawa (Jpn)0:00:39
14Masaru Fukuhara (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor0:00:47
15Shinri Suzuki (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team0:00:55
16Kazuyuki Manabe (Jpn) Matrix Powertag0:00:59
17Hayato Yoshida (Jpn)0:01:03
18Akihiro Takaoka (Jpn)0:01:04
19Yoshiyuki Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor0:01:06
20Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:01:41
21Junya Sano (Jpn) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo0:01:50
22Tomoya Kano (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
23Makoto Nakamura (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen0:02:57
24Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team0:04:49
25Takahiro Yamashita (Jpn) Matrix Powertag0:05:15
26Kazuki Aoyanagi (Jpn) Shimano Racing Team
27Takayuki Abe (Jpn)0:08:06
28Seitaro Nakano (Jpn)0:08:14
29Sho Hatsuyama (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen0:09:27
30Masakazu Ito (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team
31Taichi Togao (Jpn)0:09:44
32Tomohiro Kinoshita (Jpn)
33Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka (Jpn)0:09:59
34Akira Kakinuma (Jpn) Utsunomiya Blitzen
35Kensuke Ohara (Jpn)0:10:05
36Keita Iwashima (Jpn)0:10:28
37Igarashi Takeshi (Jpn) Fuji - Cyclingtime.com0:11:38
38Kaoru Obata (Jpn)0:13:20
39Kenji Itami (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor0:13:33
40Kyosuke Takei (Jpn)0:15:02

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews