Criterium du Dauphine 2016

Latest News from the Race

Criterium du Dauphine 2016

How to watch the Criterium du Dauphine: Cyclingnews will have live text coverage from start to finish for every stage, as well as rider interviews, race reports, podcasts, video highlights and post-race analysis.

Stage 7: Froome wins overall, Cummings takes final stage

Steve Cummings (Dimension Data) enhanced his already growing reputation as a breakaway specialist with a superb victory on the final day of the Criterium du Dauphine.The British rider was part of an early break that formed inside the opening 35 kilometres but attacked and went solo with 50 kilometres remaining.

Despite another late onslaught from Alberto Contador (Tinkoff), Chris Froome marked his main rivals and did enough to retain his overall title. Dan Martin (Etixx-QuickStep) finished second on the stage with Romain Bardet (AG2R La Mondiale) in third. The result was enough to ensure that Bardet moved up to second overall with Martin in third after the pair accelerated away from a group including Froome, Contador and Richie Porte.

Read the full race report


2016 Criterium du Dauphine - Top 10 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stephen Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data4:05:06
2Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx - Quick-Step0:03:58
3Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 2 - Cell 2
4Wouter Poels (Ned) Team SkyRow 3 - Cell 2
5Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdgeRow 4 - Cell 2
6Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx - Quick-StepRow 5 - Cell 2
7Diego Rosa (Ita) Astana Pro TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre - MeridaRow 7 - Cell 2
9Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team0:04:03
10Christopher Froome (GBr) Team SkyRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification after stage 7
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky29:59:31
2Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:12
3Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:19
4Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team0:00:21
5Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff Team0:00:35
6Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:51
7Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge0:00:57
8Diego Rosa (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:01:13
9Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre - Merida0:01:30
10Pierre Rolland (Fra) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:02:43


Criterium du Dauphine 2016: stage 4 podcast

Start list

Critérium du Dauphiné 2015 | Critérium du Dauphiné 2014 | Critérium du Dauphiné 2013

Criterium du Dauphine infographic

Top News on the Race

Related Features