Skip to main content

Il Lombardia 2020

Latest News from the Race

Il Lombardia is traditionally the fifth and final Monument Classic of the year and see many of the world's biggest names – Grand tour riders and Classics specialists - go against each other during the hilly Italian one-day Classic.

While many riders will see Il Lombardia as an opportunity to grab the big win that has perhaps eluded them this season, there are at least as many who are looking forward to a well-deserved rest before recommencing their winter training. It makes for a smaller, elite group that battles it out for the honours in Como or Bergamo, with the likes of Nibali, Roglič, Bernal, Gilbert, Valverde and Dan Martin amongst recent contenders and winners.

Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) soloed to the biggest win of his career and his first Monument, with victory in Il Lombardia in 2019.

The 32-year-old attacked on the penultimate climb of the Civiglio with 18km to go after a brief lull in the lead group, and despite a late chase from a group that contained the winners of this year's Tour de France, the Trek-Segafredo rider hung on to win ahead of Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Egan Bernal (Team Ineos).


  • Il Lombardia 2020
    10 October 2020 | Como | WorldTour
    • Elite Men

Top News on the Race

Related Features