Corset too strong to wrap up dominant performance on the border

Ruth Corset's triumphant return to cycling continued today with the Queenslander claiming the second event of the 2012 Subaru Women's National Road Series (NRS), the Velo Battle on the Border on the Gold Coast.

Corset (Pensar-Hawk Racing) wrapped up dominant Tour performance with a win in the final stage criterium held around Salt Park in Kingscliff. Racing her first NRS event since 2009, the thirty-four-year-old claimed two stage victories and a second across the four-stage event.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ruth Corset (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:34:43
2Sue Forsyth (Northern Sydney Cycling Club)0:00:04
3Kimberley Wells (Specialized Women SA)0:00:06
4Samantha Hemsley (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:00:10
5Jessica Mundy (Pure Tasmania Cycling Team)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Lisa Jacobs (Jayco/Apollo VIS)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Amber Jenkins (Sydney Cycling Club)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Chloe Mcconville (Jayco/Apollo VIS)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Amy Bradley (Total Rush)0:00:12
10Alexandra O'dea (Rockhampton Cycle Club)0:00:15
11Georgia Baker (Pure Tasmania Cycling Team)0:00:17
12Megan Bagworth (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Kristy Glover (Holden Cycling)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Katrin Garfoot (Pensar Hawk Racing)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Brittany Lindores (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Hayley Jones (Balmoral Cycle Club)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Emily Roper (Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Sarah Roy (Randwick Botany CC)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Jodie Willett (Pensar Hawk Racing)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Maddison Vit (Tableland Cycle Sports)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Ellen Skerritt (Lifecycle Cycling Team)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Rebecca Wiasak (Suzuki/Trek)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Miranda Griffiths (Holden Cycling)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Elizabeth Phillipou (Specialized Women SA)0:00:21
25Taylah Jennings (Rockhampton Cycle Club)0:00:23
26Allison Rice (Suzuki/Trek)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Nicola Hogan (Hunter Valley Masters Cycling Club)0:02:54
28Felicity Wardlaw (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Clare Dallat (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Claire Trembath (Wynnum Redlands Cycling Club)0:02:56
31Nicole Moerig (Balmoral Cycle Club)0:02:58
2Zoe Watters (Pensar Hawk Racing)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Victoria Luxton-Bain (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Chloe Mcintosh (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Jane Walker (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Amy Schramm (Ffast Cycle Club)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Lisa Barry (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Laura Meadley (Suzuki/Trek)0:00:10
39Toni Abbisogni (Jayco/Apollo VIS)0:01:18
40Vanessa Mcdonald (Coffs Harbour Cycle Club)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Carly Williams (Total Rush)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Emma Viotto (Canberra Cycle Club)0:01:58
43Cassandra Dodd (Lifecycle Cycling Team)0:02:00
44Madeline Marshall (Suzuki/Trek)0:02:01
45Stacey Riedel (Specialized Women SA)0:02:27
46Justyna Lubkowski (SKCC/Giant)0:02:49
47Madeleine Pape (SKCC/Giant)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Lisa Keeling (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Stephanie Ives (Holden Cycling)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Carla Franson (Specialized Women SA)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Carley Mckay (Holden Cycling)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Ashlee Ankudinoff (Team Boss Constructions/Nutrixxion)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Susan Mcalister (Townsville Cycle Club)0:03:17
54Marlena Klaic (SKCC/Giant)0:03:43
55Hannah Geelan (Specialized Women SA)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Alexandria Nicholls (Vikings Cycling Club)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Angela Mcclure (Norwood Cycling Club)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Narelle Hards (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)Row 57 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ruth Corset (Pensar Hawk Racing)5:49:46
2Rebecca Wiasak (Suzuki/Trek)0:01:09
3Chloe Mcconville (Jayco/Apollo VIS)0:01:16
4Lisa Jacobs (Jayco/Apollo VIS)0:01:24
5Emily Roper (Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club)0:01:26
6Katrin Garfoot (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:01:36
7Sue Forsyth (Northern Sydney Cycling Club)0:01:40
8Jessica Mundy (Pure Tasmania Cycling Team)0:01:43
9Allison Rice (Suzuki/Trek)0:01:55
10Taylah Jennings (Rockhampton Cycle Club)0:01:56
11Jodie Willett (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:01:57
12Amber Jenkins (Sydney Cycling Club)0:01:58
13Miranda Griffiths (Holden Cycling)0:02:00
14Amy Bradley (Total Rush)0:02:15
15Elizabeth Phillipou (Specialized Women SA)0:02:20
16Kristy Glover (Holden Cycling)0:02:46
17Samantha Hemsley (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:04:00
18Felicity Wardlaw (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)0:04:26
19Ellen Skerritt (Lifecycle Cycling Team)0:04:30
20Zoe Watters (Pensar Hawk Racing)0:04:31
21Claire Trembath (Wynnum Redlands Cycling Club)0:05:00
22Jane Walker (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)0:05:13
23Lisa Barry (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)0:05:34
24Nicola Hogan (Hunter Valley Masters Cycling Club)0:05:55
25Laura Meadley (Suzuki/Trek)0:06:03
26Megan Bagworth (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)0:06:09
27Vanessa Mcdonald (Coffs Harbour Cycle Club)0:06:37
28Cassandra Dodd (Lifecycle Cycling Team)0:07:03
29Madeline Marshall (Suzuki/Trek)0:07:06
30Ashlee Ankudinoff (Team Boss Constructions/Nutrixxion)0:07:19
31Stephanie Ives (Holden Cycling)0:07:36
32Lisa Keeling (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)0:07:51
33Nicole Moerig (Balmoral Cycle Club)0:08:01
34Madeleine Pape (SKCC/Giant)0:08:29
35Chloe Mcintosh (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)0:08:45
36Narelle Hards (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)0:08:56
37Amy Schramm (Ffast Cycle Club)0:10:29
38Georgia Baker (Pure Tasmania Cycling Team)0:10:46
39Clare Dallat (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)0:11:23
40Alexandra O'dea (Rockhampton Cycle Club)0:14:12
41Sarah Roy (Randwick Botany CC)0:14:45
42Toni Abbisogni (Jayco/Apollo VIS)0:15:08
43Hannah Geelan (Specialized Women SA)0:15:23
44Victoria Luxton-Bain (Torq/ Bicycle Superstore)0:19:56
45Stacey Riedel (Specialized Women SA)0:20:51
46Susan Mcalister (Townsville Cycle Club)0:21:03
47Kimberley Wells (Specialized Women SA)0:22:22
48Brittany Lindores (Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion)0:23:21
49Hayley Jones (Balmoral Cycle Club)0:25:17
50Angela Mcclure (Norwood Cycling Club)0:26:55
51Emma Viotto (Canberra Cycle Club)0:27:47
52Alexandria Nicholls (Vikings Cycling Club)0:35:38
53Maddison Vit (Tableland Cycle Sports)0:36:19
54Marlena Klaic (SKCC/Giant)0:39:33
55Carley Mckay (Holden Cycling)0:55:12
56Carly Williams (Total Rush)0:56:36
57Justyna Lubkowski (SKCC/Giant)0:56:55
58Carla Franson (Specialized Women SA)0:59:44
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Teams classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Pensar Hawk Racing17:32:50
3Holden Cycling0:08:50
4Jayco/Apollo VIS0:14:15
5Torq/ Bicycle Superstore0:15:13
6Team Boss Constructions / Nutrixxion0:19:25
7Specialized Women SA0:35:02

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews