Armitstead wins Commonwealth Games road race title

Lizzie Armitstead (England) claimed gold in the women's road race at the Commonwealth Games after an attack on the final lap of the 98.14 kilometre race. Emma Pooley made it an England one-two to take silver, with Ashleigh Pasio (South Africa) taking bronze.

Armitstead came into the event as the pre-race favourite and she lived up to expectations when she jumped clear of the race-winning break inside the final ten kilometres. She swooped past her teammate Pooley, who had orchestrated the move, with the Australian team unable to find an answer. Pooley hung on to take silver.

Gold and silver capped an excellent team performance for England after they were forced to withstand a number of early attacks from Australia. However Armitstead and Pooley took the race by the scruff of the neck in the final 50 kilometres with Pooley providing the perfect foil in her final road race before retirement.

It was Pooley who attacked on the climb up St. Vincent Street with three laps to go and drew out the critical break that included Armitstead, Tiffany Cromwell (Australia), Gracie Elvin (Australia), Ashleigh Pasio (South Africa), Linda Villumsen (New Zealand) and Katie Archibald (Scotland). The move may have lacked Australia's best sprint options but England were determined to make the move stick as Pooley drove them on. Only Canada attempted to close the gap but with a lack of firepower they stood no chance.

England had the initiative but they still had work to do. Pooley harried and bustled with energy on the front as Cromwell and Elvin waited for the gap to the main field to grow before peppering the English sails with a volley of attacks.

On each of the power-sapping ascents Pooley upped the pace, clearly determined to leave the sport with one final flourish, and each of her accelerations saw time trial gold medallist Villumsen and Scotland's Archibold begin to suffer.

Every Australian attack – and there were several – from Cromwell and Elvin was matched by an English jersey but with 30 kilometres to go a winner would come from the seven clear with Pasio starting to take her first turns as the two main nations appeared to cancel each other out.

As the leader rode through Glasgow Green with one lap to go, Pooley wound up for her second significant attack of the race. Australia, who looked more comfortable as the race went on, were forced to chase as first Archibald and then Elvin dropped out of contention.

Pooley's lead tantalisingly hovered at just a handful of seconds and as she powered up University Avenue, Cromwell still led the chase. However Armitstead sensed the moment was right – on the next ascent and with Cromwell running out of gas, she laid down a vicious attack. Within seconds she was over the top of Pooley as Villumsen, Pasio and Cromwell scrambled to organise a chase.

Australia's fear as they headed into the race was finishing in a group that contained Armitstead and her lethal sprint, but there would be such scenario as the English rider powered clear. Pooley, overcome with emotion at the line, was able to hang on for silver before Pasio unleashed a valiant sprint to see off Cromwell and Villumsen to seal bronze for South Africa.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lizzie Armitstead (England)2:38:43
2Emma Pooley (England)0:00:25
3Ashleigh Pasio (South Africa)0:01:11
4Tiffany Cromwell (Australia)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Linda Villumsen (New Zealand)0:01:14
6Gracie Elvin (Australia)0:02:19
7Katie Archibald (Scotland)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Leah Kirchmann (Canada)0:05:29
9Joanne Kiesanowski (New Zealand)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Melissa Hoskins (Australia)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Dani King (England)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Hannah Barnes (England)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Amy Roberts (Wales)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Rushlee Buchanan (New Zealand)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Reta Trotman (New Zealand)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Jaime Nielsen (New Zealand)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Shara Gillow (Australia)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Anna Christian (Isle of Man)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Lucy Garner (England)Row 18 - Cell 2
10Laura Trott (England)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Lydia Boylan (Northern Ireland)0:12:12
22An-Li Kachelhoffer (South Africa)0:12:17
23Gemma Neill (Scotland)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Tamiko Butler (Antigua and Barbuda)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Jasmin Glaesser (Canada)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Chloe Hosking (Australia)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Anne Ewing (Scotland)Row 26 - Cell 2
DNFEileen Roe (Scotland)Row 27 - Cell 2
DNFCharlene Joiner (Scotland)Row 28 - Cell 2
DNFLaura Brown (Canada)Row 29 - Cell 2
DNFStephanie Roorda (Canada)Row 30 - Cell 2
DNFAntri Christoforou (Cyprus)Row 31 - Cell 2
DNFAnn Bowditch (Guernsey)Row 32 - Cell 2
DNFHeidi Dalton (South Africa)Row 33 - Cell 2
DNFLise Olivier (South Africa)Row 34 - Cell 2
DNFElinor Barker (Wales)Row 35 - Cell 2
DNFKarina Bowie (Guernsey)Row 36 - Cell 2
DNFJoanna Watts (Guernsey)Row 37 - Cell 2
DNFAurelie Halbwach (Mauritius)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFAnriette Schoeman (South Africa)Row 39 - Cell 2
DNFClaire Thomas (Scotland)Row 40 - Cell 2
DNFCherise Stander (South Africa)Row 41 - Cell 2
DNFNicole Mitchell (Bermuda)Row 42 - Cell 2
DNFVera Adrian (Namibia)Row 43 - Cell 2
DNFLaura Wasley (Isle of Man)Row 44 - Cell 2
DNFClaire Oakley (Northern Ireland)Row 45 - Cell 2
DNFJoyce Nyaruri Matara (Kenya)Row 46 - Cell 2
DNFClaire Fraser-Green (Guyana)Row 47 - Cell 2
DNFSriyalatha Wickramasingha (Sri Lanka)Row 48 - Cell 2
DNFKatrin Garfoot (Australia)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFKatie Curtis (Wales)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFLinda Loffler (Swaziland)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNFCarol Du-Pont (Swaziland)Row 52 - Cell 2
DNFBianca Hernould (Jamaica)Row 53 - Cell 2
DNFAdikari Mudiyansel (Sri Lanka)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNFDinize Wilsch (Swaziland)Row 55 - Cell 2
DNFJane Njeri Mwangi (Kenya)Row 56 - Cell 2
DNFHayley Jones (Wales)Row 57 - Cell 2
DNFMarina Bleasdale (Guernsey)Row 58 - Cell 2
DNFJoyce Muthoni Mwangi (Kenya)Row 59 - Cell 2
DNFDoreen Musoliza Lwimbuli (Kenya)Row 60 - Cell 2
DNFIrene Steyn (Namibia)Row 61 - Cell 2
DSQEmily Collins (New Zealand)Row 62 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.

Latest on Cyclingnews