Paris-Roubaix 2023

Latest News from the Race

Paris-Roubaix overview

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Paris-Roubaix 2023
CategoryUCI WorldTour
DateApril 9, 2023
FinishRoubaix velodrome
Last edition2022 Paris-Roubaix

Paris-Roubaix: Mathieu van der Poel conquers the greatest cobbled Classic

As it happened: Paris-Roubaix 2023

Mathieu van der Poel wins 2023 Paris-Roubaix

Mathieu van der Poel wins 2023 Paris-Roubaix (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck) secured a solo victory in a thrilling edition of the men's Paris-Roubaix to claim the fourth Monument title of his career. 

The Dutchman was part of a decisive move in the closing of the race, and when Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) attacked over the five-star sector of Carrefour de l'Arbre, he jumped across, and it appeared the race was going to be between the two dominant riders.

An untimely puncture saw Van Aert distanced off the back of Van der Poel's wheel as the Dutchman rode alone into the Vélodrome André-Pétrieux to claim the solo win after his third attempt at Paris-Roubaix - which was the fastest recorded Paris-Roubaix in history.

Van Aert managed to distance Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segaferdo), Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers), and Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ), but not Van der Poel's teammate Jasper Philipsen, with the sprinter sprinting to second place, and leaving Van Aert to settle for third.

Paris-Roubaix history

Often described as the Queen of the Classics or the Hell of the North, Paris-Roubaix is the third Monument of the cycling season and arguably the most recognisable event in the sport after the Tour de France. The race dates back to 1896 and has taken place 117 times since then, with the last edition in 2019.

Compiègne – around 80km outside of Paris – has hosted the race start since 1977, while Paris played host from the very start up to 1967.

Belgians have dominated the cobbled Classic, with 57 winners over the years.

Two Belgians share the accolade of taking the most wins at the race, with Roger De Vlaeminck winning four times in the 1970s and Tom Boonen completing his quadruple between 2005 and 2012.

As you'd expect, the honour roll is replete with huge names from cycling history, from Eddy Merckx and Sean Kelly to Johan Museeuw and Fausto Coppi. Of the current peloton, no rider has won the race more than once.

Check out our how to watch Paris-Roubaix streaming guide in order to find out when and where you can catch all the action live on Sunday.

Paris-Roubaix route

On Sunday, April 9, 2023, riders will take on the Hell of the North – Paris-Roubaix on a route that is 256.6 kilometres long with 29 sections of cobblestone roads totalling 54.5 kilometres of suffering.

Paris-Roubaix starts as it has since 1977 in Compiègne, 80km northeast of Paris. Riders have almost 100 kilometres to cover before the first section of cobbles in Troisvilles.

Famous and brutal cobbled sectors headlining the race route include the Trouée d'Arenberg, the Carrefour de l'Arbre, and the Mons-en-Pévèle.

There have only been a few changes to the Paris-Roubaix route for 2023, which you can check out at our comprehensive guide.

Paris-Roubaix start list

Data powered by FirstCycling

Paris-Roubaix contenders

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck) and Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) headline the list of contenders for glory at Sunday's cobbled Classics closer.

The big two aren't the only riders in with a shot of glory in the Roubaix velodrome, however. Kasper Asgreen (Soudal-QuickStep), Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers), and Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) are among the other major names lining up to compete.

We've compiled a list of the five top contenders for Sunday and five outsiders in our Paris-Roubaix favourites analysis. 

Paris-Roubaix teams

  • AG2R Citroën Team (FRA)
  • Alpecin Deceuninck (BEL)
  • Astana QazaQstan Team (KAZ)
  • Bora-Hansgrohe (GER)
  • EF Education-Easypost (USA)
  • Groupama-FDJ (FRA)
  • Ineos Grenadiers (GBR)
  • Intermarché-Circus-Wanty (BEL)
  • Jumbo-Visma (NED)
  • Movistar Team (ESP)
  • Soudal Quick-Step (BEl)
  • Team Arkea-Samsic (FRA)
  • Team Bahrain Victorious (BRN)
  • Team Cofidis (FRA)
  • Team DSM (NED)
  • Team Jayco AlUla (AUS)
  • Trek-Segafredo (USA)
  • UAE Team Emirates (UAE)
  • TotalEnergies (FRA)
  • Lotto Dstny (BEL)
  • Israel Premier Tech (ISR)
  • Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB (BEL)
  • Q36.5 Pro Cycling Team (SUI)
  • Team Flanders-Baloise (BEL)
  • Uno-X Pro Cycling Team (NOR)

Top News on the Race

Related Features