Belomoina seals MTB World Cup victory with Mont-Sainte-Anne win

Ferrand Prevot, Pendrel round out podium

The Ukraine's Yana Belomoina (CST Sandd American Eagle) took her third win of the season in Round 5 of the Cross-country Mountain Bike World Cup on Sunday, in Mont-Ste-Anne, Quebec, Canada. With her win, Belomoina wrapped up the overall title with one round still remaining.

The Elite women's race was missing top riders Jolanda Neff (Kross Racing) and Sabine Spitz (Wiawis Bikes), plus a late scratch from number-two ranked Maja Wloszczowska (Kross Racing), who had broken her wrist in a crash. However, Olympic champion Jenny Rissveds (Scott-SRAM) made her first appearance of the season of the World Cup - although she was caught in a crash in the first 200 metres and never figured in the race.

Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Canyon Factory), the 2015 world champion, attacked on the start loop, with only Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro Team) able to join her. World Cup leader Belomoina quickly bridged across, and the trio rode away from a chase group led by Emily Batty (Trek Factory). Pendrel was dropped on the second lap, but would solo in for third, while Belomoina dropped Ferrand Prevot on the third lap to take her third victory of the season. Batty dropped Irina Kalentyeva (Moebel Maerki) in the last lap to take fourth.

"It's crazy, I don't know what to say about this season," said Belomoina. "It's a magic season for me. This gives me great motivation for the world championships."

Belomoina has an uncatchable 1050 points with one round remaining. Linda Indergand (Focus XC) moved into second ahead of the missing Wloszczowska with a distant 655 points, with Wloszczowska at 610.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yana Belomoina (Ukr) CST Sandd American Eagle Mtb Racing Team1:17:50 
2Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Canyon Factory Racing XC0:00:44 
3Catharine Pendrel (Can) Clif Pro Team0:01:14 
4Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing XC0:01:49 
5Irina Kalentyeva (Rus) Moebel Maerki Mtb Pro Team0:02:07 
6Anne Tauber (Ned) Habitat Mountainbike Team0:02:39 
7Tanja Zakelj (Slo) Unior Tools Team0:02:46 
8Annie Last (GBr) Omx Pro Team0:02:47 
9Alessandra Keller (Swi) Radon Factory XC Team0:03:12 
10Linda Indergand (Swi) Focus Xc Team0:03:21 
11Lea Davison (USA) Clif Pro Team0:04:04 
12Corina Gantenbein (Swi) Moebel Maerki Mtb Pro Team0:04:25 
13Annika Langvad (Den) Specialized Racing0:04:38 
14Erin Huck (USA) Cannondale-3Rox Racing0:04:58 
15Helen Grobert (Ger) Cannondale Factory Racing XC0:05:09 
16Anne Terpstra (Ned) Ghost Factory Racing  
17Rebecca Henderson (Aus)0:05:50 
18Samara Sheppard (NZl)0:05:58 
19Rose Grant (USA) Stan's-Pivot Pro Team0:07:00 
20Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor) Team Merida Gunn-Rita0:07:07 
21Raiza Goulao Henrique (Bra) Primaflor Mondraker0:07:17 
22Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team XC0:07:18 
23Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Radon Factory XC Team0:08:20 
24Sandra Walter (Can)0:09:16 
25Katrin Leumann (Swi)0:10:23 
26Evelyn Dong (USA)0:10:33 
27Maghalie Rochette (Can) Clif Pro Team  
28Catherine Fleury (Can)0:11:08 
29Sabrina Enaux (Fra)0:11:21 
30Jenny Rissveds (Swe) Scott-Sram Mtb Racing Team0:11:36 
31Lisa Rabensteiner (Ita) Focus XC Team0:11:39 
32Jayne Rossworn (Can)0:14:15 
33Alexis Skarda (USA)0:15:36 
34Sofia Gomez Villafane (Arg)  
35Elyse Nieuwold (Can)  
36Pilar Andrea Corvalan Bustos (Chi)  
DNFCindy Montambault (Can)  
DNSMaja Wloszczowska (Pol) Kross Racing Team  
World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yana Belomoina (Ukr)1050 pts
2Linda Indergand (Swi)655 
3Maja Wloszczowska (Pol)610 
4Annika Langvad (Den)604 
5Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor)604 
6Annie Last (GBr)595 
7Emily Batty (Can)577 
8Irina Kalentyeva (Rus)502 
9Anne Tauber (Ned)491 
10Alessandra Keller (Swi)489 
11Catharine Pendrel (Can)471 
12Jolanda Neff (Swi)465 
13Tanja Zakelj (Slo)457 
14Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)437 
15Rebecca Henderson (Aus)436 
16Helen Grobert (Ger)431 
17Sabine Spitz (Ger)400 
18Adelheid Morath (Ger)398 
19Erin Huck (USA)372 
20Anne Terpstra (Ned)330 
21Lea Davison (USA)314 
22Raiza Goulao Henrique (Bra)312 
23Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi)274 
24Sabrina Enaux (Fra)263 
25Sandra Walter (Can)254 
26Corina Gantenbein (Swi)253 
27Barbara Benko (Hun)248 
28Katarzyna Solus-Miskowicz (Pol)240 
29Haley Smith (Can)235 
30Githa Michiels (Bel)220 
31Elisabeth Osl (Aut)208 
32Lisa Rabensteiner (Ita)189 
33Eva Lechner (Ita)184 
34Catherine Fleury (Can)142 
35Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mex)140 
36Aleksandra Podgorska (Pol)137 
37Elisabeth Sveum (Nor)119 
38Serena Calvetti (Ita)118 
39Samara Sheppard (NZl)116 
40Hanna Klein (Ger)114 
41Ramona Forchini (Swi)104 
42Alexandra Engen (Swe)102 
43Esther Suss (Swi)100 
44Jovana Crnogorac (Srb)100 
45Cindy Montambault (Can)100 
46Katrin Leumann (Swi)92 
47Karla Stepanova (Cze)92 
48Jitka Skarnitzlova (Cze)91 
49Margot Moschetti (Fra)83 
50Cherie Redecker (RSA)82 
51Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut)73 
52Perrine Clauzel (Fra)71 
53Alice Pirard (Bel)71 
54Rose Grant (USA)68 
55Mariske Strauss (RSA)66 
56Chloe Woodruff (USA)59 
57Ariane Luethi (Swi)59 
58Claudia Galicia Cotrina (Spa)58 
59Andrea Waldis (Swi)58 
60Evelyn Dong (USA)54 
61Guzel Akhmadullina (Rus)53 
62Maghalie Rochette (Can)52 
63Paula Gorycka (Pol)50 
64Marine Groccia (Swi)48 
65Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus)47 
66Jenny Rissveds (Swe)46 
67Jayne Rossworn (Can)42 
68Alexis Skarda (USA)40 
69Yosiana Fareidy Quintero Pineda (Col)39 
70Sofia Gomez Villafane (Arg)38 
71Elyse Nieuwold (Can)36 
72Pilar Andrea Corvalan Bustos (Chi)34 
73Rebecca Beaumont (Can)34 
74Amy Mcdougall (RSA)30 
75Janka Keseg Stevkova (Svk)22 
76Merce Pacios Pujado (Spa)19 
77Hana Jezkova (Cze)18 
78Ines Gutierrez (Arg)16 
79Linn Gustafzzon (Swe)16 
80Jessica Pellizzaro (Ita)15 
81Sandra Santanyes Murillo (Spa)15 
82Fabienne Schaus (Lux)14 
83Elena Lloret Llinares (Spa)14 
84Agustina Maria Apaza (Arg)14 
85Lisette Rosenbeck (Den)12 
86Eliane Muggler (Swi)11 
87Laura Terradas Ill (Spa)11 
88Kathryn Mcinerney (Aus)10 
89Kerry Macphee (GBr)9 
90Romaine Wenger (Swi)8 
91Graciela Elina Vargas (Arg)8 
92Lejla Tanovic (BiH)8 


Back to top