Challenge Mallorca: Tim Wellens wins Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana

Buchmann second, Valverde third

Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) took his first win of the 2019 season with victory over Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) and world champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) in the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana - the third race in the Challenge Mallorca series. Wellens, 27, had finished fifth and second in the first two races but came out on top in Deia after a tough day in the saddle that included hail, rain, crosswinds and climbing. Wellens won the corresponding race in 2018.

The Belgian rider had linked up with Buchmann - who won Friday's race - with around 10km to go before dropping the German with around 5km to go.

The early stages of the race had seen several breaks go clear but with the pace remaining high it would take time before the race settled. With around 100km to go a three-man group of Nicola Conci (Trek-Segafredo), Mauricio Moreira (Caja Rural) and Mario Gonzalez (Euskadi Murias) held a lead of just over two minutes on the pursuing peloton. Within 30km the break had been nullified as Lotto Soudal and several other teams controlled the peloton, and with the final set of climbs ahead the bunch were reduced to less than 30 riders.

Buchmann had won with a solo break on Friday, and the young German all-rounder was at it again, attacking with just under 25km to go, and less than 24 hours after his win. Wellens gave chase, alongside Sergio Higuita (Fundacion Euskadi), and with 12km to go Wellens and his companion made contact with the lone leader, while the remnants of the peloton continued to lose ground at 40 seconds.

With the final climb to the line, Wellens showed his freshness with a strong attack to take the victory.


Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal4:50:40 
2Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:14 
3Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:02 
4Sergio Andres Higuita Garcia (Col) Equipo Euskadi0:01:19 
5Simon Špilak (Slo) Team Katusha Alpecin0:01:33 
6Nelson Oliveira (Por) Movistar Team0:01:46 
7Guillaume Martin (Fra) Wanty-Gobert Cycling Team  
8Pieter Weening (Ned) Roompot-Charles  
9José Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team0:01:49 
10Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo  
11Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe0:01:58 
12Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe  
13Jose Herrada (Spa) Cofidis Solutions Credits0:02:11 
14Simone Petilli (Ita) UAE Team Emirates0:02:12 
15Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates  
16Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin  
17Jesper Hansen (Den) Cofidis Solutions Credits0:02:19 
18Ben Hermans (Bel) Israel Cycling Academy  
19Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:02:26 
20Gonzalo Serrano Rodriguez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:02:45 
21Oscar Rodriguez Garaicoechea (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias0:03:47 
22Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:05:09 
23Fernando Barcelo Aragon (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias  
24Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise0:06:09 
25Aaron Van Poucke (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
26Nick van der Lijke (Ned) Roompot-Charles  
27Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
28Bjorg Lambrecht (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
29Sander Armee (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
30Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
31Gotzon Martin Sanz (Spa) Equipo Euskadi0:07:18 
32Pim Ligthart (Ned) Direct Energie0:07:51 
33Aaron Verwilst (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise0:09:01 
34Kevin Van Melsen (Bel) Wanty-Gobert Cycling Team0:09:48 
35Michael Gogl (Aut) Trek-Segafredo0:09:58 
36Sergio Samitier Samitier (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias0:10:13 
37Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe0:10:50 
38Pavel Kochetkov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin  
39Toms Skujins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo0:10:56 
40Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis Solutions Credits0:11:14 
41Hector Saez Benito (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias  
42Robert Britton (Can) Rally UHC Cycling0:11:41 
43Brandon Mcnulty (USA) Rally UHC Cycling  
44Daire Feeley (Irl) Evopro Racing0:12:03 
45Nicola Conci (Ita) Trek-Segafredo0:12:23 
46Alex Colman (Bel) Canyon Dhb p/b Bloor Homes0:12:38 
47Marc Buades Ferriol (Spa) Spain  
48Alvaro Cuadros Morata (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA0:12:56 
49Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis Solutions Credits0:14:32 
50Thomas Stewart (GBr) Canyon Dhb p/b Bloor Homes0:15:29 
51Ian Boswell (USA) Katusha-Alpecin  
52Niklas Eg (Den) Trek-Segafredo  
53Kevin Deltombe (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise  
54Viesturs Luksevics (Lat) Amore & Vita - Prodir  
55Gavin Mannion (USA) Rally UHC Cycling  
56Jesper Asselman (Ned) Roompot-Charles0:17:20 
57Edward Ravasi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates  
58Hernan Ricardo Aguirre Caipa (Col) Interpro Cycling Academy  
59Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis Solutions Credits0:17:33 
60Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) Direct Energie  
61Ibai Azurmendi Sagastibeltza (Spa) Equipo Euskadi  
62Sebastian Mora Vedri (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
63Marco Bernardinetti (Ita) Amore & Vita - Prodir  
64Gotzon Udondo Santamaria (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias0:17:38 
65Mathieu Burgaudeau (Fra) Direct Energie0:18:05 
66Ruben Plaza (Spa) Israel Cycling Academy  
67Unai Cuadrado Ruiz De Gauna (Spa) Equipo Euskadi0:19:47 
68Romain Sicard (Fra) Direct Energie0:19:56 
69Juan Antonio Lopez-Cozar Jaimez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country-Murias0:22:46 
70Diego Lopez Fuentes (Spa) Equipo Euskadi  
71Sjoerd van Ginneken (Ned) Roompot-Charles0:22:47 
72Boy van Poppel (Ned) Roompot-Charles  
73Unai Iribar Jauregi (Spa) Spain0:24:07 
74Bryan Nauleau (Fra) Direct Energie0:27:07 
75Awet Andemeskel (Eri) Israel Cycling Academy0:31:29 

Related Articles

Back to top