Towards Zero Race Melbourne: Edmondson wins women's race

Wiggle High5 rider takes victory in photo finish over Bronzini

Annette Edmondson has won the women's Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race - Towards Zero Race Melbourne in a sprint photo finish. Georgia Bronzini (Cylance) was second with Kendal Ryan (Tibco) rounding out the podium in third place following a close and hard fought battle for victory

The victory continues the good form of Edmondson after she won the opening stage of the Santos Women's Tour in her home town of Adelaide earlier in the month.

Mitchelton-Scott led the sprint to the line with Sarah Roy and Gracie Elvin as the sprinters bided their time, protected by the wind. Inside the few final hundred meters, Wiggle High5 made its move with Edmondson on the right-hand side of the road. On her inside line, Hosking, Bronzini and Ryan were making their move.

Closing in on the finish line, the sprinters fanned across the line but it was Edmondson who kept her straight line and through her bike to take a narrow win. Riders unaware for several minutes who would be delivered the win.

With temperatures almost perfect for racing and on a very fast Formula 1 track, the peloton set out for the first of 12 laps of the 5.3km circuit. Sydney Uni - Staminade and Bepink were active in sending riders up the road for the early break. However, nothing truly stuck and as the laps counted down, it was clear a sprint finish would be inevitable but it would take a photo finish to decide the winner.

With Friday to rest, the peloton heads down the highway for the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race Saturday and then the Women's Herald Sun Tour from Tuesday to close out a busy start to the 2018 season.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle High51:34:54 
2Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
3Kendall Ryan (USA) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
4Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale - Cipollini  
5Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Team Virtu Cycling  
6Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
7Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale - Cipollini  
8Sarah Roy (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
9Maria Vittoria Sperotto (Ita) Bepink  
10Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Drops  
11Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling  
12Alison Jackson (Can) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
13Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
14Brodie Chapman (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
15Rachele Barbieri (Ita) Wiggle High5  
16Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cub) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
17Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton-Scott  
18Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia  
19Lydia Rippon (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
20Sharlotte Lucas (NZl) Specialized Women’s Racing  
21Katia Ragusa (Ita) Bepink  
22Kendelle Hodges (Aus) Specialized Women’s Racing  
23Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale - Cipollini  
24Shayna Powless (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
25Lucy Bechtel (Aus) Specialized Women’s Racing  
26Scotti Lechuga (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
27Molly Weaver (GBr) Trek-Drops  
28Georgia Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
29Abby Sneddon (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
30Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia  
31Kate Smith (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
32Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia  
33Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Team Virtu Cycling  
34Eva Buurman (Ned) Trek-Drops  
35Linda Villumsen (NZl) Team Virtu Cycling  
36Erica Clevenger (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
37Mikayla Harvey (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
38Grace Brown (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
39Ella Harris (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
40Amy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5  
41Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale - Cipollini  
42Shannon Malseed (Aus) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
43Riejanne Markus (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
44Annasley Park (GBr) Trek-Drops  
45Anouska Koster (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
46Danielle Morshead (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air T20  
47Eri Yonamine (Jpn) Wiggle High5  
48Erica Magnaldi (Ita) Bepink  
49Matilda Reynolds (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
50Trine Schmidt (Den) Team Virtu Cycling  
51Kate Mcilroy (NZl) Specialized Women’s Racing  
52Alice Cobb (GBr) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
53Ella Bloor (Aus) Specialized Women’s Racing  
54Francesca Pattaro (Ita) Bepink  
55Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
56Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Ale - Cipollini  
57Holly Breck (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling  
58Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
59Amy Vesty (NZl) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
60Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling  
61Liza Rachetto (Aus) Holden Team Gusto  
62Jade Colligan (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
63Rylee McMullen (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
64Grace Anderson (NZl) New Zealand National Team  
65Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Ale - Cipollini  
66Jelena Eric (Srb) Cylance Pro Cycling  
67Lisa Morzenti (Ita) Bepink  
68Emma Grant (GBr) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank  
69Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
70Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr) Waowdeals Pro Cycling  
71Sarah Gigante (Aus) Holden Team Gusto0:00:25 
72Kathryn Buss (USA) Team Tibco–Silicon Valley Bank0:00:28 
73Katrin Garfoot Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia  
74Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Trek-Drops  
75Angela Smith (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade  
76Louise Norman Hansen (Den) Team Virtu Cycling  
77Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink  
78Rachel Neylan (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia0:00:31 
79Peta Mullens (Aus) Kordamentha Real Estate - Australia  
80Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek-Drops0:00:40 
81Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott0:00:45 
82Jenelle Crooks (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott  
83Georgia Williams (NZl) Mitchelton-Scott0:01:00 
84Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5  
85Megan Scott (Aus) Sydney Uni - Staminade0:01:04 
86Kate Perry (Aus) Specialized Women’s Racing0:01:07 


Back to top