TechPowered By

More tech

101. Berliner 6 Tage Rennen 2012 2012

Date range:
January 26-31, 2012

January 31, Day 6: Berlin

Meyer and Howard clinch victory on final evening

Cycling News
January 31, 2012, 23:50 GMT,
February 01, 2012, 0:03 GMT

Cracking final night sees Australian duo take back a lap, dominate points

World Madison champions Leigh Howard and Cameron Meyer race in Berlin

World Madison champions Leigh Howard and Cameron Meyer race in Berlin

view thumbnail gallery

Cameron Meyer and Leigh Howard have taken out their first Berlin Six Day, the madison world champions showing just why they're the best in the discipline on an exciting final day of racing.

Iljo Keisse and Kenny de Ketele went into the final night with a handy points lead, but showed fatigue from an intense five night previous, and fell away to third. Franco Marvulli meanwhile continues to impress at 33, showing age is no barrier to finish runner up with partner Silvan Dillier.

The final standings were extremely tight with four teams within 24 points of eachother after the six nights of racing.

Full results
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Leigh Howard (Aus) & Cameron Meyer (Aus) Axel Lange 263  pts
2 Franco Marvulli (Swi) & Silvan Dillier (Swi) Wolfram 254  
3 Iljo Keisse (Bel) & Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Techem 254  
4 Leif Lampater (Ger) & Roger Kluge (Ger) Schultheiss 239  
5 plus 1 lap Robert Bengsch (Ger) & Marcel Kalz (Ger) LCW 234  
6 plus 11 laps Marcel Barth (Ger) & Erik Mohs (Ger) Oßwald 77  
7 plus 12 laps Henning Bommel (Ger) & Tim Mertens (Bel) Veaxo 116  
8 plus 13 laps Andreas Graf (Aut) & Andreas Müller (Aut) Preuss Münchenhagen 49  
9 plus 14 laps Ralf Matzka (Ger) & Theo Reinhardt (Ger) Berlin Recycling 111  
10 plus 16 laps Rafal Ratajczyk (Pol) & Alexander Aeschbach (Swi) Nokia 132  
11 plus 17 laps Danny Stam (Ned) & Peter Schep (Ned) KIA Motors 57  
12 plus 21 laps Fabio Masotti (Ita) & Angelo Ciccone (Ita) Rosti 55  
13 plus 22 laps Björn Schröder (Ger) & Tino Thömel (Ger) Radio Berlin 56  
14 plus 23 laps Brad Huff (USA) & Jackie Simes (USA) Win Office Network 43  
15 plus 32 laps Waleri Kaikow (Rus) & Leonid Krasnow (Rus) 19