Lauren Tamayo wins US criterium championship

Lauren Tamayo (UnitedHealthcare) took the USA Cycling Pro Criterium Championship Sunday in Greenville, South Carolina, by jumping away from a break group of three with two corners to go and then holding off Rally Cycling’s Elle Anderson and Visit Dallas-DNA Pro Cycling's Sara Tussey for the win.

"It's kind of surreal," Tamayo said in the finishing straight after the race. "Our plan coming into the race obviously wasn't for me to win. Coming into the last few laps I was off the front, and I saw that we had such a big gap, I thought, 'OK, this might come down to me and I better start thinking about how to win.' It's been such a long time since I've won a race for myself, so I had to change my thinking quite a bit."  

A late-race breakaway of six riders put the pressure on the bunch, with Visit Dallas-DNA Pro Cycling's riders Anna Sanders, Beth Ann Orton and Tussey going off the front with Jessica Prinner (Rally Cycling), Coryn Rivera (UnitedHealthcare) and Christina Gokey-Smith (Happy Tooth Dental).

The peloton pulled the group back with 10 laps to go, and the race reshuffled for what looked to be a bunch sprint, but with three laps to go, Tamayo, Anderson and Tussey slipped away. Tamayo jumped away with two corners to go and opened the winning gap.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lauren Tamayo (UnitedHealthcare)1:26:54
2Elle Anderson (Rally Cycling)0:00:01
3Sara Tussey (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:00:03
4Coryn Rivera (UnitedHealthcare)0:00:04
5Tina Pic (Happy Tooth Dental Professional)0:00:06
6Christina Gokey-Smith (Happy Tooth Dental Professional)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Starla Teddergreen (KindHuman Pro Cycling Project)0:00:07
8Samantha Schneider (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Tiffany Pezzulo (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:00:08
10Debbie Milne (Stradalli Cycles/Papa Johns)0:00:09
11Heather Fischer (Rally Cycling)0:00:12
12Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Nicole Mertz (Hollander Cycling p/b ISCorp)0:00:13
14Mia Manganello (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Mandy Heintz (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:00:15
16Madison Kelly (Stradalli Cycles/Papa Johns)0:00:16
17Anna Sanders (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Emma White (Rally Cycling)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Sarah Fader0:00:17
20Anna Christiansen (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Beth Ann Orton (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Daphne Karagianis (Chicago Cuttin Crew)0:00:23
23Laura Jorgensen (Happy Tooth Dental Professional)0:00:24
24Alexandra Burton (Portland Bicycle Studio)0:00:31
25Nina Laughlin (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)0:00:52
26Jessica Prinner (Rally Cycling)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Skylar Schneider (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Amanda Miller (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Cari Higgins (UnitedHealthcare)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Amy Cutler (Fearless Femme Racing)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Katharine Hall (UnitedHealthcare)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Ashlyn Woods (Happy Tooth Dental Professional)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Stephanie Nave (Finish Strong Elite Cycling Tea)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Payten Maness (ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Hannah Arensman (TWENTY16 Pro Cycling)0:00:54
36Julie Hunter (Haymarket/Starlight Custom Appa)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Cinthia Lehner (OrthoCarolina Winston Women)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Katherine Shields (OrthoCarolina Winston Women)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Arden Stelly (OrthoCarolina Winston Women)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Julia Fresne (Stradalli Cycles/Papa Johns)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Zoe Mullins (OrthoCarolina Winston Women)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Tess Oliver (QCW Cycling)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Victoria Kanizer (OrthoCarolina Winston Women)Row 42 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews