Ethan Hayter wins the Tour of Norway

Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) claimed the first stage race victory of his professional career taking home the overall title in the Tour of Norway after winning the first two stages.

The British rider topped Ide Schelling (Bora-Hansgrohe) by 15 seconds with Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma) in third at 25 seconds.

“This is my first GC win and it definitely wasn’t an easy one,” Hayter said after successfully defending his lead for three stages.

"The first two days I got an advantage and then defending it on stage 3 was the hardest day of all of them. It’s not been an easy race. I really enjoyed this race. The weather has been amazing, the views have been amazing and the race has been great."

Bora-Hansgrohe's Matthew Walls took the first victory of his professional career in the final sprint stage to Stavanger, beating former world champion Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) and Daniel Hoelgaard (Uno-X).

"I am super happy with my first pro victory today," Walls said. "Big thanks to the whole team and especially Nils for the perfect leadout over the last couple of kilometers. I was not quite sure how my shape is going to be after the Olympics and I did not expect anything here but I am more than happy that it worked out and I could finish it off!"

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Brief Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Matthew Walls (GBr) Bora-Hansgrohe 3:25:16
2Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
3Daniel Hoelgaard (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
4Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma
5Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
7Nils Lau Broge (Den) BHS-PL Beton Bornholm
8Markus Hoelgaard (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team
9Nick van der Lijke (Ned) Riwal Cycling Team
10Cedric Beullens (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ethan Hayter (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers 15:15:00
2Ide Schelling (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:00:15
3Mike Teunissen (Ned) Jumbo-Visma 0:00:25
4Markus Hoelgaard (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00:33
5James Shaw (GBr) Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling
6Kristian Aasvold (Nor) Team Coop
7Mattias Skjelmose (Den) Trek-Segafredo
8Lucas Eriksson (Swe) Riwal Cycling Team
9Torstein Træen (Nor) Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 0:00:35
10Sven Erik Bystrøm (Nor) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:41

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews