Cant wins fourth consecutive Scheldecross

Sanne Cant on her way to winning Zeven World Cup

Sanne Cant on her way to winning Zeven World Cup (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Sanne Cant (Beobank-Corendon), the world champion, won her fourth consecutive DVV verzekeringen trofee - Scheldecross in Antwerp on Saturday. She broke free from rival Katie Compton (Trek), who continues to lead the overall series, on the final lap to take the win. Helen Wyman (Kona) placed third.

Marianne Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling) returned to cyclo-cross in Antwerp and placed eighth.

Cant led the opening laps with a strong group that included Compton, Katerina Nash (Clif), Wyman and Nikki Brammeier (Boels-Dolmans). Brammeier was the first to lose contact, after several mishaps, followed by Nash.

Cant and Compton were the final two out front and started the final lap side-by-side. Cant put forth several attacks but Compton was able to respond, until the final mud section, where she too lost contact.

Though she had to settle for second in Scheldecross, Compton maintained her lead in the series' general classification. She leads Brammeier by 3:37 and Wyman by 4:11.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Beobank-Corendon0:48:46
2Katherine Compton (USA) Trek0:00:04
3Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:00:10
4Katerina Nash (Cze) Clif Pro Team0:00:29
5Nikki Brammeier (GBr) Boels Dolmans0:00:34
6Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:00:58
7Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex0:01:21
8Marianne Vos (Ned) WM3 Pro Cycling0:02:10
9Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:28
10Denise Betsema (Ned)0:02:40
11Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:03:03
12Geerte Hoeke (Ned)0:03:21
13Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned)0:04:11
14Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:43
15Maaike De Heij (Ned)0:04:53
16Axelle Bellaert (Bel)0:04:55
17Lizzy Witlox (Ned)0:05:26
18Marthe Truyen (Bel)0:05:32
19Jinse Peeters (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:05:34
20Veerle Goossens (Ned)0:05:51
21Aniek Van Alphen (Ned)0:05:54
22Susanne Meistrok (Ned)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Ffion James (GBr)0:06:08
24Shana Maes (Bel)-1 Lap
25Meg De Bruyne (Bel)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Natalie Redmond (Aus)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Lise Van Wunsel (Bel)-2 Laps
28Corey Coogan Cisek (USA)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Aurelie Vermeir (Bel)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Kim Van De Putte (Bel)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Kristien Nelen (Bel)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Emily Wadsworth (GBr)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Giovanna Michieletto (Ita)-3 Laps
34Laure Michels (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Caren Commissaris (Bel)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Maaike Meistrok (Ned)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Jana Dobbelaere (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Evy Kuijpers (Ned)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Tess Van Loy (Bel)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Klára Vernerová (Cze)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Kiona Crabbé (Bel)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Océane Allart (Fra)-4 Laps
43Amaia Lartitegi Ormazabal (Spa)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Esther Van Der Burg (Ned)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Sara Beeckmans (Bel)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Nele De Vos (Bel)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Jo Blanchaert (Bel)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Lisette Schoon (Ned)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Olga Kuzmina (Rus)-5 Laps
DNFTine Rombouts (Bel)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFAnke Van Rompay (Bel)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFAndere Basterra Aspe (Spa)Row 51 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews