Jesse Kerrison sprints to U23 national criterium title

12-months from claiming bronze at the Australia national U23 criterium on Sturt St, Ballarat, Jesse Kerrison is the 2016 champion. Kerrison's State of Matter/Maap team controlled affairs for the 33km race with all six riders on the front of the race for final laps.

Coming into the final corner, Fitter and Kerrison surged clear of the reduced peloton only for disaster to strike as he dropped a a chain with 100 metres to race. Kerrison, observing his teammate's misfortune, sprinted clear to ensure a debut national title for the Australian Continental team.

"Last year it was bittersweet," Kerrison said of his 2015 result, "but you're never happy unless you're on first. Dan today can contest to that, two teammates on the podium is great, but he was the man for today and we were leading him out. Unfortunately a mechanical ruined his day but I am ecstatic.

"Going into today we said that if we don't win and get another medal, we've done something wrong. The boy's handled it so well...when it come to the crunch we brought it back and there were a few things we could work on as always, but it was a great way to start the season."

Fitter was audibly upset as he crossed the line with the emotion flowing into the podium ceremony as he could only watch his teammate pull on the green and gold jersey. Kerrison acknowledged that as the team were committed to seeing Fitter hit the line first, he felt for his teammate who has been in rare form in recent months.

"You couldn't have two different ranges of emotion, he was in a bad way and I was ecstatic. I guess that's racing though and we were just lucky as a team to pull it off with first and third."

The first event of the 2016 Australian national championships started under grey skies with blustery wind that persisted throughout. Cyrus Monk was the first rider to attack and would feature throughout the race in numerous breakaways. State of Matter/Maap sent Fitter and Dylan Sunderland into the early break with Jason Lowndes (Drapac) also chancing his arm.

A breakaway of eight riders established itself a third of way through the 30 laps although its advantage would hover around the 12 second mark. The riders in the break was changing by the lap but as the raced approached the business end, State of Matter/Maap came to the front to boss affairs. Nicholas Katsonis did the lions share of work for the final laps with the team all over the front looking to set it up for Fitter. It looked to be plan a coming into fruition only for a slipped chain but up stepped Kerrison for the victory.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jesse Kerrison (Qld)0:45:50
2Sam Welsford (Wa)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Daniel Fitter (Qld)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Lachlan Holliday (Vic)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Chris Hamilton (Vic)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Darcy Pirotta (Wa)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Ryan Thomas (Nsw)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Michael Hale (Vic)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Evan Hull (Vic)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Timothy Sellar (Wa)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Mathew Ross (Vic)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Ben Carman (Qld)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Jordan Stannus (Vic)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Zane Hunter (Vic)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Scott Bowden (Tas)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Reece Robinson (Nsw)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Caiden Hull (Vic)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Harrison Bailey (Nsw)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Nicholas White (Vic)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Samuel Hill (Nsw)0:00:07
21Liam White (Vic)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Jacob Langham (Tas)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Jason Lowndes (Vic)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Bradley Linfield (Wa)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Riley Terrens (Vic)0:00:12
26Patrick Burt (Vic)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Jayden Cooper (Vic)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Reece Tucknott (Wa)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Tasman Nankervis (Vic)0:00:14
30Cyrus Monk (Vic)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Jake Klajnblat (Vic)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Tom Chapman (Sa)0:00:19
33Jason Lea (Vic)0:00:22
34Dylan Sunderland (Nsw)0:00:24
35Ryan Cavanagh (Qld)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Tim Lennon (Sa)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Michael Storer (Wa)0:00:27
38Rohan Wight (Sa)Row 37 - Cell 2
39David Fumpson (Sa)0:00:30
40Justin Ghosh (Wa)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Samuel Lane (Vic)0:00:32
42Michael Potter (Nsw)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Patrick Sharpe (Nsw)0:00:34
44Jonathon Noble (Qld)0:00:37
45Alexander Porter (Sa)0:00:41
46Ayden Toovey (Nsw)0:00:54
47Kyle Thompson (Vic)0:00:58
48Carsten Chapman (Nsw)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Karl Michelin-Beard (Act)0:01:04
50Oliver Martin (Tas)0:01:11
51Benjamin Andrews (Vic)0:01:34
52Jonathan Butler (Tas)0:01:40
53Sean Whitfield (Act)0:01:53
54Nicholas Katsonis (Vic)0:02:04
DNFMichael Astell (Tas)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNFSamual Toft (Vic)Row 55 - Cell 2
DNFStefan Bos (Vic)Row 56 - Cell 2
DNFChris Harper (Sa)Row 57 - Cell 2
DNFTristan Ward (Nsw)Row 58 - Cell 2
DNFNathan Bradshaw (Nsw)Row 59 - Cell 2
DNFMichael Rice (Act)Row 60 - Cell 2
DNFDavid Randall (Vic)Row 61 - Cell 2
DNFToby Orchard (Nsw)Row 62 - Cell 2
DNFWilliam Key (Vic)Row 63 - Cell 2
DNFPaddy Corcoran (Nsw)Row 64 - Cell 2
DNFLiam Magennis (Nsw)Row 65 - Cell 2
DNFMatthew Osborne (Nsw)Row 66 - Cell 2
DNSJack Hogan (Sa)Row 67 - Cell 2
DNSThomas Allford (Sa)Row 68 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1