Cycling Australia Road National Championships 2016

Latest News from the Race

The Cycling Australia Road National Championships once again calls Ballarat home in 2016 with Wednesday evening criteriums on the city's main street kicking off proceedings on what should be a balmy summer evening. There has been little change to the criterium, time trial and road race courses for 2016 with the biggest change for the championships seeing the women's race moved from the Saturday to the Sunday before the men's race which will see the final hour of racing televised live.


Having missed the 2015 championships with a broken collarbone, Simon Gerrans will start the men's road race as one of the main favourites as he chases a third green and gold jersey. Orica-GreenEdge missed out as Heinrich Haussler won the title ahead of Caleb Ewan and the Australian team will be hungry to regain the jersey. Challenges will come from Pro-Continental team Drapac who are likely to field the largest team, while several WorldTour riders are yet to confirm their appearances.


Orica-AIS also missed out on the win in 2015 with Peta Mullens (Wiggle Honda) claiming gold but in two-time champion Gracie Elvin and Rachel Neylan, will start confident of reclaiming the jersey.


In the time trials, it will all about who can stop Shara Gillow from adding a fourth title to her palmares while BMC duo Rohan Dennis and Richie Porte will start the men's race as the two favourites.


The contenders will first have the opportunity to test their form at the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic from new year's day while the newly crowned champions can show off their green and gold jerseys at the Tour Down Under and Santos Women's Tour in the week following the championships. The Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race and Jayco Herald Sun Tour close out the Australian summer of cycling with further opportunity to show off newly won national jerseys.


Click here for the elite criterium start lists, here for the time trial start list. For the U23 men start list, click here and for the elite men and women's start lists, click here.



2015 Championships | 2014 Championships | 2013 Championships | 2012 Championships | Past winners  



Top News on the Race

Related Features